Thoughts on a Wednesday…

 

 

 

Last night was the first night of dance classes at The Goddess Garden. 

I struggled a bit as it has been at least a few weeks since I last danced – or exercised for that matter.

Over the weekend I purchased a new sports bra and workout shorts to replace the set that was in my luggage.  Don't ask me why I purchased extra-large shorts.  They kept falling down and I had them hiked up to my rib cage.  It felt like an episode of Urkel Does The Turkish Fusion.  I felt so silly.   Anyhow, this class was much harder than the ones I have taken in the past.  It felt great though, once I got the steps down and could move in unison with Demi, my instructor, and one other advanced student. 

My new role was announced to the company today.  I will also be meeting with the new team.  This role has been my goal since I started here almost 3 years ago.  My whole body feels like it has breathed a sigh of relief.  I will take June and July off from my college classes so that I may focus on getting this new job down, and then I will be right back at it come August. 

I have come to the conclusion that I have to stop worrying about if and when I'll get my suitcase back.  I don't know at this point.  I have made phone calls and I have written letters.  Right now I am procrastinating filling out the claim form for the airline.  It's like I'm still in denial.  I have to do it though, and just be done with it.  Like ripping off a band-aid, right?  I associate the items in my suitcase with how I acquired them.  Like the brown boots I bought with my sister on a trip back to Boston, or the cute teeshirt my stepmother sent me for my birthday.  I think about the hiking boots that have climbed all over Arizona.  And lastly, the cute blue bathing suit I bought years ago for a trip to Mexico with new girlfriends I had made when first moving here.  Memories will remain, but the material things are obviously gone.  And 'material' is the key word here. 

I have some great girlfriends both in and outside of work.  The picture here is of a t-shirt a friend

made before attending the Sex In The City movie premiere a few weeks ago.  Apparently a whole group went and they all wore similar shirts.  They are such a fun group.  Lately I've had the itch for a girl's camping trip.  I put it out there and next thing I know another email comes back for us to meet at 2pm for frozen yogurt to discuss the details of this trip.  I love it!   

I've toyed with the idea for awhile to change my hair color.  It used to be dark brown/black but now has turned completely gray.  I color it but I always feel like a skunk once it starts growing back.  I got the name of a colorist whom I left a message for yesterday.  I knew I wanted a change once I turned 40.  I'm hoping to set up a consultation soon.  I'd like to lighten it which would probably mean I would have to lighten my eyebrows as well.  I hope I don't look ridiculous.  I dreamed of growing up and looking like Barbie.  The reality is that I look more like Barbie's nerdy exchange student friend that she only hangs with when the cool kids like Skipper and Ken aren't around.  Regardless, I wouldn't have it any other way.  Since when have you seen Barbie in a belly dancing costume?  And Barbie didn't get to marry a cool cowboy like I did. 

But I digress.  It will be interesting to see what the stylist has to say.  Gosh, I haven't visited a stylist in years!  This could be interesting.

 

 

Read and post comments

2 thoughts on “Thoughts on a Wednesday…

  1. I'm glad you enjoyed it. đŸ™‚ Summertime just brings out that need to hang with the girls more often it seems.

  2. The Urkel description made me snort my coffee! And this whole post was full of fun – belly dancing and girls camping trips. It's making me want to round up my girlfriends and do something fun.

Leave a Reply

