Summer Literary Gems

Yesterday I spent the afternoon at the library.  It was nice to escape the 115 degree day and bury myself behind many a book.  I came home with an arm load of the following gems:

The House of Mirth, by Edith Wharton

Aphrodite; A Memoir of the Senses, by Isabel Allende

Enlightenment for Idiots, by Anne Cushman

With Billie, by Julia Blackburn

The Gift of Rain, by Tan Twang Eng

Eat, Love, Pray, by Elizabeth Gilbert

I read recently that Edith Wharton's book was a great summer read.  I actually got to visit her home last September while visiting Boston.  I saw the room where she wrote.  The house is reported to be haunted as well.  So far I am 100 pages into The House of Mirth.  I read her book The Age of Innocence about 15 years ago.  There is something to be said for the classics.

I also enjoy any of Elizabeth George's books.  They are murder mysteries and I have read them all.  I am currently awaiting her next installment.

Reading to me is a luxury.  It is to me like wine is to the wino.  In fact, I'm going to leave off here and spend the rest of the evening with Edith!

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

Leave a Reply

