Transformation…Hair we go (Part 1)

A few weeks ago I had posted that I would be changing hair color real soon.  Well, last night was the night.  It didn't turn out as dramatic as I thought it would, which in the end turned out to be a good thing as I was starting to panic midway through.

This goofy picture to the left I will consider the 'Before' picture (couldn't find anything else).

Thursday night I hemmed and hawed whether I should still do this.  I'm not used to spending any more than $6 on hair care.  Ruben and I sat in the livingroom (where we only sit if we are having a serious conversation or we have company) and discussed this.  He told me to go for it.  I actually had a sick feeling in the pit of my stomach.  I was actually scared!

                                 Before (above)

 

I forgot to bring the picture of the girl whose hair I loved and posted to my blog a few weeks ago.  Rats!  As it turned out though, where my hair is so dark, the stylist, Chris, decided that she would start by lightening the roots and weaving in some darker colors to make it all blend in.  She will be lightening and blending in the roots for quite some time.  Apparently this whole process will take about a year.  I will probably document these changes here. 

She did warn me that within the next couple of months I may need to wear my hair up until enough has grown out.  We'll see.

The picture to the right is the 'After.'  My hair is still a little wet but there are actually blond hair extensions in place to give it some highlights.

 

                               After

<—–Here is the back.  Picture compliments of Ruben.  Taken on location in the Man-Cave.

The whole experience was really fun.  It has been absolute ages since a professional has touched my hair.  There's something to be said for having your scalp massaged by someone who knows what they're doing and also for having a product used on your hair that you most likely can't buy in a grocery store for under $5 like I'm used to. 

Chris was wonderful.  She is really passionate about hair and it shows in everything she does. 

I think I will like this although the change has been scary.  After being a brunette for all of my adult life, it feels like an end of an era.  It's not a huge change yet but little by little my whole head will be the color of those blonde extensions.  Wow.  Turning 40 has been interesting to say the least.  Stay tuned…. 

Read and post comments

9 thoughts on “Transformation…Hair we go (Part 1)

  1. That's human nature, I guess. We all need to learn to be more thankful with what we are and what we have. I know I do 🙂

  2. We all want what we can't have, eh, Connie? My daughter keeps saying she really wants "Chinese hair", ie, straight and shiny like some of her friends. (She has very thick wavy hair like I do).

  3. Some of my mother's siblings were born with straight hair as well, but their hair got curly as they grow older. It's interesting.My hair is very thin, I wish I had so much hair like you, Monsoon 🙂

  4. Thanks so much Catharine. 🙂

  5. Thank you Connie. What's funny is I always thought I'd grow up and have straight blonde hair, like my Barbie doll. I remember actually thinking this would happen some time in the future. LOL.

  6. You have beautiful hair, Monsoon.

  7. I wish I had that natural curly hair you have, Monsoon! But I guess people are people, we aren't always satisfied with what we have and what we are. I have some friends who have curly hair and they wish it's straight LOLYou have very beautiful hair, Monsoon. May I borrow it someday? 🙂

  8. Beauty, thank you so much! 🙂 I've had curly hair my entire life and it has been both a blessing and a curse.

  9. I like the colour of the extensions and your hair texture is so cool. Wavy ; )

Leave a Reply

