A Day At The Pottery Studio

Yesterday I had my second lesson in pottery.  It was a cloudy gray day and perfect for creating pottery.  I also got to paint the pieces I had created last week.

 

There is something to be said about creating something new from the earth with nothing but a wheel and your own two hands.  I'm really enjoying this.  It's very therapeutic.  And on a cloudy day with Kate Bush music playing in the background, not much could get better.

 

The bowl shape on the left will actually become a coffee cup.  The other item was a coffee cup gone awry.  My instructor said it looked like modern art.  I don't know.  I kind of like it.  We'll see what it looks like when painted and glazed.

 

It's not perfect but it's a start.  I'm always complaining when camping that I don't have a heavy duty mug to use.  This may be it. 

 

Isn't this beautiful?  I hope to make things this nice in the future.  This plate was created by a Navajo Indian and then painted by a teenage student.  Yesterday a group of teenagers from Canada had come down to study their Navajo ancestry.  Part of this is pottery. 

 

This is the outdoor brick kiln; one of many at the studio.  There are still some pieces inside left to cool.  Temperatures range from 1900 degrees F (low fire) to 2400 degrees F (high fire).  Yesterday I painted the pieces I created last week.  Even though the paints look nothing like what one would think (what will eventually be blue had a milky color), after these pieces are fired, the minerals in them will turn colors from the intense heat.  Much the same way gemstones do while heated in the earth.

 

Above are the pieces the Canadian students had made.  They are being fired over charcoal and dried cow manure. (I hope my pieces make it into the brick kiln instead!)

Next week I'll get to see the finished product of my pieces.  I'll be very curious to see what they look like.  And by the way, I'm still trying to find a home for that spitoon.  Any takers?  😉

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

2 thoughts on “A Day At The Pottery Studio

  1. Thanks Amy. I was at a craft fair over the weekend and someone had their pottery displayed. They were amazing pieces. I hope to be able to create things just as nice some day.
    Yes, that temp is hot. And I thought Phoenix was hot! LOL

  2. Fabulous job! The coffee cup looks like it would be perfect for your campouts! Can't wait to see them when they're painted. 2400 degrees!! Now that's hot. 🙂

Leave a Reply

