Tales from the Scale – Take 1

After much deliberation I decided to commit myself to a weightloss program.  My sister is getting married on the 4th of July so that gives me approximately a little less than three months to lose 20 lbs.  I think this is a realistic goal.  Also, a few weeks back I had my cholesterol checked.  Although it was down 32 points, it is still well over 200.  Yikes!  I suppose its like getting a D- on a test after getting a series of F's.  It's better but not great.

My weightloss program of choice is Weight Watchers.  I was not thrilled about joining them in all honesty.  A few years back I lost 32 lbs on that program and truth be told I am so darn sick of counting points! However, I have a husband that likes to cook and Weight Watchers still allows me to eat what he makes –but in moderation.  I believe their tag line included 'there are no forbidden foods.'  I do like that.  So I'm sucking it up and making the effort.  And no, I don't work for them or anything of the sort.  They just happen to be the easiest and cheapest.  I started Monday.  So far so good.  I tried on a pair of jeans this morning that were growing a bit snug after my weekend visit to Boston a few weeks ago, and they are definitely a bit looser.  Can't complain there!

Today I also started a new group on Vox called 'Losin' It'.  I noticed how few groups there were on the subject and thought, what the heck.  I'll start my own.  I hope in time that it will filled with contributing members.  I'm sure we'd all have a lot to learn from each other.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

4 thoughts on “Tales from the Scale – Take 1

  1. Thanks Bess, I hope so too! I've seen pics of you and you don't look like you need to lose any weight. I would die for your young metabolism. Trust me, things slow down in time. šŸ™‚

  2. Hi Amy, I'm so happy that you've decided to join! I think this will be a great way to support each other. šŸ™‚

  3. well done Jenn, hope it goes well for you, I've tried to lose some weight over these holidays but it hasn't exactly worked, perhaps even the opposite! never mind eh…eek haha

  4. Good for you Jennifer! Bill's recent stay in the hospital not only scared me for his well-being, but also scared me into doing something about my own health. I saw how my healthy, strong, no medications & clean bill of health from the doctor in the last 6 months husband was completed wiped out from his illness. Thank God he WAS so healthy so he could fight the infection. I realized two things throughout this ordeal. 1) If something were to happen to him, I'd be the parent left to take care of my family; and 2) if something serious were to happen to me, would I be as healthy as he is to fight whatever off? So, for the last 13 days I've been on a calorie restriction diet. I guess it's similar to Weight Watchers, in that I count calories & try to limit myself to 1500 a day. I will join your group…sounds like a fun & encouraging way to share our goals! So, if you don't mind…I'm going to copy part of this note & post it as my first post in your group! šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

