Tales From The Scale – Week 3

Yesterday was Monday so I went up to get weighed in and was pleasantly surprised to be down another few pounds.  So far this hasn't been as hard as I thought it would be to stay on a weightloss plan.  I was in Tucson over the weekend and still splurged on a tamale and a steaming bowl of menudo served with a bolillo roll.  Here are my stats for the week:

Lost: 2.8 lbs

Total Lost: 5.4 lbs

To go: 14.6 lbs

One of my goals from last week was to increase the exercise.  Well, over Saturday and Sunday I walked over 10 miles.  A girlfriend and I were going to sign up for a race in Sabino Canyon late Saturday afternoon.  Although we didn't actually sign up for it, we just showed and walked it.  It was quite hilly in areas, especially at the end.  I was completely out of breath and didn't think I'd be able to make it.  However I kept pushing forward.  It really is mind over matter.  Sabino Canyon was 3.5 miles in and 3.5 miles out.  We did a smaller hike on Sunday on flat ground and that was a little over three miles. 

Clothes are starting to feel looser already.  I love that!  In addition to having clothes just fit better, I want my cholesterol to be at a normal level.  I get these emails from the hungrygirl.com website that feature recipes and other little tips.  Someone had sent in a question regarding high cholesterol.  The response was that the person had used an item called Benecol to lower their cholesterol.  I guess it contains plant sterols.  I figured, what the heck, I'll give it a try.  I don't have medical insurance and I'm not fond of placing chemicals in my body to control things so this may work.  I ordered it online because the local CVS didn't carry it.  I'll post how it works in a few months.  They are caramel flavored so maybe I'll feel like I'm getting a treat.  Hope they're not nasty.  Has anybody ever tried these before?  I'd be interested in hearing.

 

I haven't thought up a goal for this week yet but I'm sure I'll think of one.  Hope everyone is having a great week!

*Disclaimer: I don't endorse the product in the picture.  I've never tried it.  I apologize if this came off like an infomercial or worse yet, spam (ick!).

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

2 thoughts on “Tales From The Scale – Week 3

  1. Thanks Amy! I'm getting there. I felt like this morning was the first day I noticed a difference in how I look. I will say though that I had to keep hiking my jeans up over the weekend. LOL. Haven't had to do that in awhile!

    You keep up the good work as well!

  2. I'm proud of you Jennifer! Isn't it great to feel more comfortable in our clothes! I'm thinking just the way I walk has a little lift…more confidence in how I feel & look. 🙂 Keep up the great work! 🙂

Leave a Reply

