The Basket List & Other Ramblings On Friday

I've decided to entitle this 'The Basket List' because I think it sounds better than 'The Bucket List' which brings to mind a big boring plastic bucket.  –To me it does anyways.

Last Fall I started keeping a list of things I wanted to try in a wire-bound notebook.  My best friend turned me onto this idea when she suggested that we meet in Chicago and see a taping of a final episode of Oprah.  While I'm not a big fan of Oprah, the thought of spending a weekend in Chicago with my best friend is really appealing.  I heard they have really good pizza there, too!

 

Here is item #5.  I've always wanted to see Monument Valley.  After reading about the new hotel in that area that is located on the Navajo nation, it was an instant add to The Basket List.  Last night I made a reservation and I can't even begin to describe how happy I am to be going to this beautiful place!

 

Its become quite popular so we won't be going until the end of the summer.  But that's okay.  It will be something to look forward to.  I believe this picture may have been taken from the balcony of one of the rooms.

For more info on the hotel, go here.

 

Another girlfriend of mine who has encouraged me to stay active this past year and a half has suggested that we take her mountain bikes out for a spin tomorrow morning.  Now, I have not ridden a bike in at least 20 years.

Although we had agreed on keeping off any mountain trails, and sticking to the paved areas around the canals, I'm still

having misgivings about the whole thing.  The picture to the right was my only thought.  I could only picture the bike somehow speeding out of control with me on it, which of course makes no sense.  However it still conjured up an image in my mind that somehow I'd be plowing through a park frantically ringing my little bicycle bell while folks darted out of the way from their picnics and Little League games.

I will be the first to admit that I have an overactive imagination.

Given the sheer amount of errands I need to run tomorrow I have had to back out of this.  (Yay, all picnics along the canal are now saved!)  I opted for kick-boxing instead which will place me in the vicinity of said errand running (Little Leaguers everywhere are rejoicing, I'm quite certain).

One of these errands involves the purchase of a bathroom scale.  The one I had is no longer working and even the purchase of a new battery did nothing to get it to show some signs of life.  Monsoon, however, has taken a liking to this scale and I will often find her perched on it like she is some high and mighty queen.  I'm not sure what her strange affection is to it.  I hope she won't take it too hard when it is replaced tomorrow.

It is Friday.  Now I will leave you with this final message:

 

Have a nice weekend, all!

Read and post comments

21 thoughts on “The Basket List & Other Ramblings On Friday

  1. I think I know the place you are talking about. If I remember correctly it has swinging doors.

  2. It was. We got married on the Bell Rock at sundown. It was very beautiful.

  3. Hello..I do not remember a landmark..but yes..whiskey row..weed way..and other delights of the time..there are many old things and of course it was probably smaller..I think I'll to the birdseye view map thing and take a look..we are aways from doing that trip..but it will happen..one of the places we went..a popular hang out and hangup for the locals and college types was a long old bar..in an eighteenth century building..the stage always had live music with a loud P.A. between sets..it was a large room and a nice mahogany or pinewood bar..seperate stools and a dance floor..good booze..I drank some in those days..Peace Tony

  4. Wow, Sedona! That must have been gorgeous!

  5. Did you visit Whiskey Row? That is a fun area. Lots of history. One of the bars burnt down in the 1800s and the patrons just grabbed the bar & booze and moved it outside while the building burnt to the ground. Priorities! 😉

  6. My ex-husband finished school in Prescott and then he was at the base in Tucson.

  7. Well..Let me see..first of all..my typo..'Billy Jack' was the name of the movie..fun at the time..1970..it used every hero cliche' and american indian thing..'at the time the Indians had reclaimed the anbandoned prison on Algatraz Island. Oddly enough no one minded for some time. I did not go to school at Prescott..but it was very nice..my sister got pre-law there..as I mentioned..in History and an Anthropology major. I only spent about three or four days in Prescott..but had a great time..c.1974..Peace Tony

  8. Prescott was way cool. The people were so friendly. I enjoyed our time there.

  9. Hello..I saw a mention of 'Prescott'. Aside from the fact 'Bill Jack' was filmed there..my sister..years ago..did her pre law there. I went to visit her..my folks and I flew over..a really nice town..good music and fun. Those days..fine school..good party times..I got hooked up pretty quickly.
    Have a good one..Clean air..nice folks out that way. I plan on visiting again. Just have to get out my six-shooter. HO HO HO
    Peace Tony

  10. Did you really? How nice. Prescott is very beautiful. Tucson has some nice areas too. Did you go to school here?

  11. Isn't that the truth??!! I lived in Prescott for 6 months and in Tucson for 18 months, but it was quite awhile ago. I do wish I would have made it to Monument Valley.

  12. Of course! 😀

  13. Really LB? Where in AZ did you live? I've heard it been said that its harder to be a tourist in the state that you live in. 🙂 I hope you had a great weekend!

  14. I know you will take pictures to show us, right?

  15. Doesn't it look beautiful? Can't wait to see it.
    I did forego the bike ride. I think I need to do a practice run before doing it for exercise. 😛

  16. I so wish I would have gone to Monument Valley when I was living in Arizona. That photo is amazing. You must be very excited about going to the hotel. Have a great weekend!!

  17. Monument Valley looks gorgeous! I say, go for the bike ride! Surely it will go just fine. They say that one does not forget how to ride a bike 🙂

  18. Can you imagine? LOL. Here's this 40 something year old lady with blond hair flying wild and screaming. Ha ha.

    Glad you liked that pic! I think there is certain fellow that kept you waiting recently that might benefit from that. 😉

  19. Personally Jenn I think it would be hilarious to see you on an uncontrollable bike, speeding round town but hey, that's just me! lol =Pabsolutely love the last picture! haha have a good weekend =)

  20. Thanks! I snagged that from the hotel website. This is a place I've wanted to see for so long. Canyon de Chelly is next on the list. I have no doubt that Monument Valley will place some things into perspective. Can't wait. 🙂

  21. A really gorgeous pic..it is those types of places that put so much in perspective..Peace Tony

Leave a Reply

