Taking A New Approach

Last night I decided that this would be my last week at Weight Watchers.  After 5 weeks, I finally lost .8 lbs and gained my 10 lbs ribbon.  Finally!  Its been somewhat of a frustrating journey to put in all this effort and see very little results.  My husband has told me that it is more than just a number on a scale.  While I agree with him there, I don't feel really any different.  I can't look at myself and think, wow, I'm really getting somewhere.  However, in two weeks I'll have my cholesterol checked.  It'll be interesting to see.

After speaking with my Mom over the weekend, she told me that she also had hit a stand still with Weight Watchers.  She tried the South Beach Diet and said she had more success.  So…I'm going to give this a try.  Our local library has a couple of copies of the book so I'm heading over there this evening to check one out.  From what I've heard, the first two weeks you don't eat any carbs.  Yeah, I say this while sitting here eating whole grain pretzels.  That will take a little getting used to but I'm willing to give it a try.  I'll start that up next Monday.  I will miss the variety of Weight Watchers but figure I might be able to go back to it once I get over this hump.  We'll see.

 

Here is the latest weapon in my weight loss arsenal.  I got this food scale at Target over the weekend.  One thing I noticed is that I haven't been eating as much as I should be.  I've overcompensated on Weight Watchers points when I could've eaten a bit more.  I'm wondering if this has slowed my metabolism to the point where I'm no longer dropping weight like I was. 

The same friend I hike with asked me to join her and Matt at Shaw Butte again this past Sunday evening.  I agreed to go and then questioned our sanity where temps where still hovering around 110 here at the time we met.  I grabbed my camel-bak backpack filled with water and a large bottled water for the car ride home.  I figured at this point that I should be well acclimated to the heat where this is my ninth summer here in Phoenix.  This time around I did pretty well.  I'm still sucking in air like a drowing person while heading up but I could move a bit quicker.  At one point we were headed up the butte where the sun was still beating down on us.  It was probably around the second highest incline.  I think I may have had too much water at that point because I thought I was going to hurl.  It passed though luckily and I was able to make it to the top and back.  It is quite possibly the toughest hike I've ever done.  Due to the water intake throughout that hike, I found myself in the bathroom pretty much every hour of the night.  Needless to say I was tired yesterday morning but felt great from all the endorphins.  Last night I went to bed at 8:30pm.

In addition to trying some harder workout routines, I've decided to walk Abby before work.  You should've seen her this morning when I grabbed her leash.  You would've thought she won the doggy lottery.  She was so excited!  So this will probably be an every morning thing for us going forward.

 

Here is Abby post-walk laying on the new throw rug I also picked up over the weekend.  Monsoon had decided to join her.  This is an extremely rare moment that the both of them are actually laying next to each other and aren't poised in attack mode.  Glad there was a camera nearby.  I texted this picture to my husband with the title reading "Seeing is believing…"

Maybe its the heat.  πŸ˜‰

Where Abby sheds so much I'm sure that throw rug will be the same color as her soon.  Guess I'll have to figure out how many calories I'll burn vacuuming up all that dog hair.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 And finally, here are Ruben and me at the Diamondbacks game Friday night.  I was actually surprised to see all the healthy choices you could get there on the menu.  Turkey meatball subs, turkey burgers, turkey hotdogs, fresh fruit with yogurt dip.  It all sounded great however, I still chose to use my points on a ballpark frank.  Some things can't be substituted.

Have a great & healthy week! 

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

26 thoughts on “Taking A New Approach

  1. Yes, now all I need is the motivation to exercise…I don't think company will do it. lol

  2. I agree with you 100% Maureen. πŸ™‚

  3. Exercise is the key as it keeps your energy levels up and I think it keeps you more motivated.

  4. Thanks Emjay. πŸ™‚ The hike is probably a mile up and back (2 miles total). The heat is killer some days. I guess I've gotten used to it over the years however it always seems like someone from a colder climate will come here in the summer and decide they want to hike. They usually get into trouble and a few have even died from it. 😦 It is crazy hot here. Wow, that would be neat if they closed the schools here for the heat. The kids would love it. How neat to live in Australia. What brought you there?
    Oh, I hear you with the heat & humidity! That's what I grew up with. I'm from the Northeast originally and I think I'd take hot & dry, too, over heat & humidity. πŸ˜€

  5. It is an uphill battle, isn't it? I had also lost 32lbs a few years ago doing Weight Watchers. Within a year I had gained it all back, plus 10 lbs. Ugh! I'm determined to not let that happen this time. Exercise is a regular part of my life now where it wasn't before. I hope that'll be the difference. But I indeed feel your pain! πŸ™‚

  6. A nice photo of you two – you are a handsome couple. How high is the hike you are doing up Shaw Butte – or how many miles are you walking? I can't imagine doing very much at all in that type of heat. I grew up in the middle of no-where Australia and they used to close the schools when it got to 110 degrees (no a/c in classrooms in those days – we were tough LOL). Now I'm in Washington DC and I can't handle the heat and humidity at all – send me back to the dry heat please! LOL.

  7. Oh I so had trying to lose weight…I did WW and lost a good amount of weight but it is all back with a vengence and seems to want to stay. I tried Atkins again and lost 11 pounds in a few weeks but then we went to Laughlin and I haven't been able to get back on track and now I've gained back 8 pounds! Yuck it is so hard.

  8. Thanks! I got the book yesterday so I'm very excited. I'll have to make a grocery list over the weekend so I'm good to go on Monday.
    Thank you so much for rooting for me. In addition to wanting to lose weight for my sister's wedding, I've wanted to just feel better all around. My cholesterol was high and I just have felt uncomfortable in my own skin.

  9. I have heard many successes on the SB diet and I think you will be pleased. It is probably exactly what you need to get things jump started again. For the long term, I am like you, and I appreciate the fact that Weight Watchers is so adaptable to every day life. It may work out to be a good tool for maintenance.

  10. Yeah, I suppose with any weight loss program its going to happen. I'm going to give the South Beach Diet a try and then I'll probably return to Weight Watchers. My husband is an amazing cook so I'd hate to be without his meals for too long! πŸ˜‰
    I went to the library to find the SB Diet book but they were out. I got the book on CD instead and have been listening to it in the car. It is fascinating so far just all the research that's been done. It completely contradicts what we were told 20 years ago about nutrition.

  11. Well thank you Tony & Carmela! That is very kind.

  12. I remember a lot of people hitting a plateau in Weight Watchers. My guess is that you can go back to Weight Watchers after you do the other diet for awhile.

  13. Yes..it seems to work..Carmela noticed your picture and I agree with Freedom there..it looks great..Peace Tony

  14. Okay, ha ha. Will do! πŸ˜‰

  15. Wow, that's great FD. Congrats to Daughter 2! That is quite an accomplishment! I also lost quite a bit of weight on it a few years ago and it took awhile. What I didn't mention in this post was that I have been trying since the beginning of April to lose weight for my sister's wedding coming up in the beginning of July. My goal was 20 lbs which in hindsight now is probably a bit unrealistic. I'm not sure why I've struggled the past five weeks. This is not normal for me but then again I am also older now. Something clearly isn't working and I have to start changing things up all around to get back on track.

  16. Thanks LB. I have a sneaking suspicion that I'm going to get a text message mid-day today suggesting that we hike Shaw Butte again. It's okay though. I'm a glutton for punishment. :-p

  17. Hi Freedom. I hope so! I really do like the Weight Watchers plan so I'm a bit disappointed that it isn't working better. I never feel hungry. If I wasn't working with a deadline here I'd probably stay on it but we'll see how the South Beach plan goes. And thanks for the compliment on the picture. I'm not sure why it ended up so much further down the post that what was necessary.
    I hope the doctors can find out also what is going on. I understand your frustration.

  18. Tony, thats great that you have been able to keep your cholesterol down. I haven't heard of people taking aspirin to control it before but I can see where it could become dangerous where it thins out your blood. A friend of my Dad's never told his doctors that he was taking aspirin daily and they almost lost him during surgery! He almost bled to death. Scary. Good for you for listening to your body and knowing what to put in it for the best health! Thats great.

  19. Jenn, you never fail to make me laugh πŸ˜› keep doing what you're doing!

  20. Daughhter 2 has lost 40 kgs with Weight Watchers – it as taken her 4 years wit more than one plateau, but se hung in there and now looks so fantastic and is obiously going to keep the weight off as se as made a complete life style change. If you expect a fast loss or a loss every week then no diet is going to be a success for you.

  21. Good for you for finishing the hike. It sounds brutal.

  22. You look terrific in the picture! I think switching to the South Beach Diet will get you off of the plateau. I bet you are right about not eating enough. I was in Weight Watchers and I could not believe the amount of food they had us eat. Almost like reverse psychology. A scale will be a big help.

  23. You go girl..you know..what is needed..take a note..it is much easier now..than it may be later..on cholestrol..I had mine checked some time back..the doctor asked me how I kept it at 150. I told him I took one asprin a day..now I do not do that..it thins the blood more than I like..I still have good solid numbers in my cholestrol..I really do not like greasy or fatty foods..some things I used to love..I cannot tolerate now..I still dig fish..I beat any meat..to tender..chickers has to be crispy and bbq'd..for me to really dig on it..stir fried veggies are great..I do not do eggs any more..it is a whole deal..not planning..just basics and my body reacting to certain things..I can really trust my gut..Peace T.

Leave a Reply

