South Beach Diet Review

So this is Week 2 of Phase 1 for me.  The diet consists of three phases: Phase 1 has you remove all carbs from your diet.  This includes grains, pasta, cereals and alcohols for two weeks.    Phase 2 introduces you slowly back to carbs by incorporating a few at a time to your daily intake.  You stay on this until you've reached your weight loss goals.  Phase 3 is maintenance.

I started a week ago yesterday and did experience cravings for sugar and refined carbs during the first few days.  The book said that would happen.  Today is Day 8 and I'm no longer craving these things.  The whole purpose of taking these items out of the diet for two weeks is to get the body to healthy blood sugar level. 

I did some research on this diet recently and found that really only people with diabetic conditions would be the ones to benefit from this phase of the regime.  Regardless, going this route has helped me see that I really do consume way too many carbs on a regular basis.  Prior to this weight loss plan, I was doing Weight Watchers.  I could still consume lots of carbs while sticking within my points range.  I can really see why I most likely plateaued on this plan for 5 weeks before trying out the South Beach Diet.

After the first week of South Beach I was down 6 lbs.  The book claims that participants will lose 8-12 lbs. during Phase 1.  Although it was great to see that number on the scale, I have to admit that I haven't felt all that well.  During my weekly Wednesday hikes, I didn't have that 'oomph' that I usually have.  I felt lethargic and on a couple of mornings I've had a very strange taste in my mouth.  My Mom and Step-Dad absolutely swear by this plan and have made it a life commitment.  I wrote to my Mom to ask if she felt strange during the first couple of days.  She wrote back and said yes, that it was part of my body regulating itself and that this would soon pass.  Well, I'm on Day 8 today and I still feel strange.  In addition to being lethargic, I just feel…well…wierd.  I can't really describe it.  Withdrawals? 

The foods are great though.  There are lots of nuts, low-fat dairy, lean cuts of meats, and tons and tons of veggies to include each day, which I do.  So why is it I feel like this?  I'm not sure if this plan is really meant for active people.  I did a search yesterday on this plan and read the reviews other folks had given it.  Most were positive.  The only negative ones I read were either people complaining about the expense of the foods required (which is stuff we should be eating anyways) or that they found the diet too restrictive.  The only thing really restricted of course are the carbs which I can see can be tough.  Many people said they were exercising regularly.  How is that when I feel like I don't even have the energy to walk the dog in the morning?  I'm not sure if I am doing something wrong here or not.  Am I not eating enough?

As far as the recipes go, we've had more hits than misses.  We've tried the Ginger-Dijon pork loin, Morrocan chicken (which made the whole house smell wonderful), and the Homestyle meatloaf.  The meatloaf would have probably been okay if it weren't for the can of Northern beans it called for.  This probably could have been substituted for another vegetable.  My husband has also enjoyed the recipes.  Where he is a diabetic these have been great for him.  We even tried the recipe for the Almond-Maple flan which was absolutely delicious.  Most of these recipes we will be incorporating into our regular meals.

For me Phase 1 has been tough.  My body just does not seem to be happy with it.  I will most likely end Phase 1 early and start Phase 2.  Although this has helped me break my plateau, I can't help but wonder if part of the reason I feel like crapola is for the simple fact that the human body is not meant to lose more than 1-2 lbs per week (Duh!). 

Although the recipes have been wonderful and I have really gotten an opportunity to see how many carbs I really had been eating, I'm not sure this plan is for me.  We'll see how things go with Phase 2.  I'd be interested in hearing about anyone else's results on this plan.  Did it work for you?  Did you feel as strange as I did during Phase 1?  I'd be curious to hear.   

 

 

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

6 thoughts on “South Beach Diet Review

  1. Hi S, I get an email that is sent to me when someone leaves a comment so I don't miss anything. Thanks for coming by!
    Its so hard to stay on track sometimes, isn't it? Life has a way of doing that.

  2. I'm so glad u replied, haha. When I posted last night I thought that this post said JULY 22nd and was like "oh it's only a few weeks old" then after I posted I saw it was almost 2 months old! Lol, I felt very awkward about it.
    My diet plan sort of went by the way side because life happened, but I'll fill you in later ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. Thanks S. I think both those diets are somewhat similar. I will give that a shot with the orange juice. Although I've lessened the amount of carbs I eat, I'm still eating a few a day which has helped me feel better as far as energy levels are concerned. I was really a carb junkie which I didn't realize before. If nothing else then this plan got me to see that I was really overdoing it in the carb department. The weightloss has slowed but I'm down 22 lbs as of this morning. And most importantly, I feel better. ๐Ÿ™‚
    I hope things are going well for you on your plan as well. You are doing amazing!

  4. I started a similar diet (atkins) when I was a teenager and I felt very weak, lethargic and all around strange the first month or so. This is when we found out that I was hypoglycemic and the lack of carbs in my boday was causing my blood sugar to drop and my body to think it was being starved. In non-hypoglycemic people I've heard this referenced as the "carb wall".
    It's possible you also have sugar issues (I can't remember anymore :() or that you're just at the "carb wall."
    Try incorporating some more fruits/juices into your diet (orange juice seems to be my blood sugar savior) for a couple of days and see if you notice a difference.
    Whenever I get that strange feeling, I just drink a tall glass of orange juice and it usually goes away pretty quick.

  5. Yes, I'm quite ready to get back to Weight Watchers now. ๐Ÿ™‚ But the good news is that I learned so much more about eating more balanced meals from South Beach. I'll just have to take what I learned here and apply it to my every day eating. I was pretty happy, too, to be able to get some new easy recipes. My husband is the cook at home so it was nice to try my hand at it and actually come up with something that tastes pretty good as well.

  6. I have not tried this diet but it seems like a nice short term solution until you get enough momentum and feel that you can go back to the weight watchers program. I am sure your body is quite mixed up about the whole thing and perhaps the food restriction has made you feel less energetic. Good luck!

Leave a Reply

