Some Pics I’ve Been Messing With

Winter Dream

This extreme close up was taken of Abby right after Christmas last year.  We took her to Flagstaff to play in the snow.  The snow was quite deep.  I had fallen in the snow and she thought it would be the perfect opportunity to get herself up out of the snow and onto solid ground.  Yes, she is sitting on me.  I love the expression on her face.  So serene.

Moody

This shot was taken this morning by me of my hand while wearing a mood ring.  While fumbling around looking for a certain set of earrings, I came across this ring which I haven’t worn in ages.  It was purchased in Salem, Ma.  Yes, the Salem of witch trials and the Nathaniel Hawthorne house (he wrote The House of Seven Gables).  I remember it was a girl’s day out with my best friend that summer nine years ago.  We ate clam chowder and drank funky beers in flavors of blueberry and pumpkin.  The blueberry beer had real blueberries in it and they kept falling and rising with the escaping carbonation.  I wished I had gotten the pumpkin beer. 

We shopped.  She had her fortune told.  We bought matching mood rings and a floatee pen with a witch that moved on her broom and back again, depending on which way you tipped the pen.  It was a good day.

31 thoughts on “Some Pics I’ve Been Messing With

  1. […] Some Pics I’ve Been Messing With September 2010 30 comments […]

  2. Beautiful dog..the ring I believe is what is called ‘mystic topaz’..I studied gemstones for awhile..being a man it was all quite intriguing as something new..Peace Tony

    • Thanks Tony. She is very well behaved (for the most part) too. Mystic topaz…interesting. I haven’t heard that before but I was wondering yesterday what it was made of. It was neat to see it turn colors during the day. I have to look up what all the colors mean.

  3. And that is hilarious that the dog decided you would make a good dry place to sit. Very pretty doggie.

  4. Sounds like a great day. Sigh…I miss my American girlfriends! I have no one to go shopping with or have girls’ daynight out here. I had one friend I did things with, but she moved back to Spain. Then another, who got pregnant and apparently fell off the face of the planet. My peeps at work all have home lives like me…it’s weird with work friends, it’s like you don’t want to spoil what you have at work by hanging out after. Or something like that.

    • I’m sure. Good friends are hard to come by. I think it gets harder as you get older. I so wish too that my best friend lived closer. We used to enjoy so much of the same things.

      • I had the good fortune to move in with my best friend in 2008 for 10 months. It was tough at first, with one bathroom and all that. But soon we settled into a nice homey pattern where I did most of the cooking and she fussed at me to drive safely and all that (she had had back surgery and I was taking over some of her tasks). We watched CSI, Law and Order, and Top Model (ack! embarrassing) and ate popcorn or bar b q flavoured Fritos on the sofas at night. Bliss.

        • That sounds like so much fun. My bestfriend and I were roomates on two occasions and we had an absolute blast. We’d hold dinner parties which somehow would end up with everyone in attendance drunk and asleep on our floor. And even just the quiet times with she and I hanging out watching Melrose Place (the original one), was the best. I can definitely get where you are coming from!

  5. Those special good times are so much fun to remember.

    What a puppy face!!! So sweet. Love your banner and your other desert pic.

    • Hi LB! They sure are. Its neat how a simple object can help recall some fun memories.

      She’s my little monster! 😉 I mean that in a loving way though. She’s such a good dog. Thanks for the compliments and for stopping by! 🙂

  6. Nice photo of Abby.
    (I have a mood ring, too!)

    • Thanks Kim! She was a very happy girl that day.

      Do you really have one, too? They are so interesting. I wasn’t sure if it still worked but I found it turned black in both the commute to and from work, blue/green while working, and then red/orange while talking on the phone with either a client or my husband. I’ll have to look up what the colors all mean. I’m thinking black couldn’t be good though.

  7. Nice that photos give us the opportunity to re-live fun times.

  8. I love the picture of Abby!! Such a sweet face.

    • Thanks Freedom. She is a cutie if I do say so myself. She has a very expressionate face. This morning I had to stick her outside before I left for work (its finally under 100 degrees here. She thought I was coming out with her to play and brought her toy over. When I shut the door she dropped the toy and gave me the most pitiful look. Oh, I have felt guilty all morning! Poor thing.

  9. awwweee…missing is a good point…I´m missing all the day in the week my friend Matthias….stop…LOL I love the shot from the dog…is it your dog? he looks lovely…I love dogs:-)

    • Hi Kerstin! Thanks for stopping by. Yes, I hear you on missing friends. That is my dog. She is a corgi/shepard mix and a lot of fun.

      • Really a lovely dog, i like the expression on her face too 🙂 and I like that she “the dog” is a female not male and i dont know why 😀

        • Thanks Rima. She does have a very expressionate face which really cracks us up. We can almost read her mind because of it. Although she is a girl dog, she is not very feminine at all. I think we ended up with a tom-boy. 😉

  10. I love the idea of a different girls-day-out. This could be something I would do with my best friend. Unfortunately she lives too far away, so we don’t see each other as much as we would like. She would be the one starting buy the mood ring and I would be the following up on it.

Leave a Reply

