Blogging: Public vs. Private

Lately I’ve been toying with the idea of making my blog private.  I have under the allotted 35 people in my blogroll so this may be an option.  However, I’ve liked it set to public because one never knows what new friendships may be created through this.  Recently though I had something happen that I was just chomping on the bit to tell here but didn’t dare to.  Sure, I could have changed a bunch of things around so that the gist of the situation would still come across but it really felt like it would have been too much work to figure that out.  Then mostly, it wouldn’t have been completely honest. 

So, what to do?  What to do?

There are pros and cons to both of course, so my question to you dear neighbors, is what do you think works best?  I know a few of you have private blogs and a few also password protect some of their entries.  What do you think is best?

19 thoughts on “Blogging: Public vs. Private

  1. and if you are whinging about work, it is useful for it to be private.

  2. Mine is private to prevent someone who stalked me from harassing me again. That is the only reason.

  3. I prefer public, personally, but that’s for me. If you do make it private, pretty please to send me your password? (I have a P.M. widget on my sidebar)

    • Oh of course! I was definitely going to go with it but now I’m on the fence about it. I also can’t remember how to add every one in my blogroll so that they are the only ones to see it.

  4. I’m in agreement with psoutowood. Once something is “out there” it’s very hard to bring it back.

    There are a few of my neighbours with password protected posts – I must admit that I tend to not look at them too often as I have to look up the various passwords.

    • Yes, very true. While I wouldn’t go private to turn this into my personal gossip page, I’ve stopped using some more of my personal info that I used to include in my old Vox “neighborhood only” posts and I find I don’t fully post like I used to then. I may just have to find another source for that. 🙂

      I had also thought of password protecting some things but like you say, you don’t go to those very often. I only have one neighbor that password protects so its pretty easy to remember that one.

      Thanks Emjay!

  5. When I write, I try to think of how I’d react in ten years reading an old post. If I think the future me would wince and think, “How immature!” I don’t write it. Sometimes it helps to vent, but don’t build a bridge someone can come along behind you and burn. Does that metaphor make sense?

    • Very very good point! You know there were a few times on Vox I actually came to my senses and deleted a post for that reason. At the time it seem like a good way to vent but when I went back to read it, I realized how bad it sounded. Another Voxer also kindly asked why I was letting it get to me so much. That’s when it hit me and I deleted it.

      That metaphor does make sense.

  6. I have separate, private, blogs for things like that. Collectables is my public face. My darker leanings, those not for public consumption, go elsewhere.

  7. Good question…. So far I go for public for the same reason you are. Who knows what kind of nice people might cross my path. Or for that matter can not – if I should go private.

    When it comes to say/write things – I have a policy: if I can’t stand for it – I don’t write it. Because I think that even if we have ‘privacy’ settings or passwords – there are still system glitches and maniacs that can hack systems which would make things publicly available after all. (see Facebook and the lot)

    If some dipwad should cross my page and make unnecessary trouble – then I might do the privacy thing just to make it a bit harder to bother me.
    Until then…..

    • Irony, thanks for your input. If a dipwad (lol) should make trouble for you, if you have your email set so that you receive your messages there, you can see the IP address of who posted the message. There are many free online sites that will allow you to look up the service provider of an IP. Once you have that in place, you can forward the whole message to abuse@offendingIP.com etc… They should be able to help you. That’s just incase.

      • Thanks for the tip 🙂 I’ll try to keep it in mind.

        Right now I am getting kind of annoyed of all the alert mails (too). So I cut out all the alerts besides if someone is commenting on one of my entries. And then try to follow blog entries through ‘my subscriptions’ and follow back answers to my comment on ‘track my comments’.
        Let’s see how that works out.
        I fear I will miss out on some replies.

  8. I think password protect is the best to keep some posts private like freedom she is doing this. But don’t forget to give us the password Lol 😀

  9. elizabethfrank123

    If you feel like you can’t share all you’d like to with a public setting, then perhaps you should go private, or at least password protect the specific posts that you wouldn’t like everyone to see…
    I also think blogging is a great way to meet great people, it’s how we got talking!

    • I may. I wouldn’t use it to bad mouth my boss or anyone else for that matter, but it would be nice to explain a situation in more detail to my friends here, if that makes sense. We’ll see.

Leave a Reply

