Recipe:Butternut Squash Casserole

Warning!  This dish is addictive.  A friend of my Mom’s started making this at Thanksgiving years ago and it has become a family favorite.  When I got married a few years back, I was given a scrap-book/cookbook that included this great recipe.  If you do decide to try it, make sure to have a few recipe cards filled out.  I get more requests for this than anything else.  The squash is pureed and then baked with something similar to a pecan pie topping.  It tastes like a side dish desert and is absolutely wonderful for this time of the year.

Ingredients:

     3 cups mashed butternut squash 
     1/2 cup of milk
     1/2 cup of butter
     1 cup of sugar
     1 tsp. of vanilla
     2 beaten eggs

Topping:
     1 cup of sweetened flake coconut
     1 cup of chopped pecans
     1 cup of brown sugar
     1/2 cup of flour
     1/3 cup of butter

Preheat over to 350. Mix all the ingredients above with an electric mixer and then place in a casserole dish (mixture will be somewhat soupy).

In a separate bowl, mix together the topping ingredients. A dough blender works best. Once thoroughly mixed, add topping to the casserole and bake for 35 minutes until set.

I usually double the recipe if I’m cooking for a large group, but not the topping as there is plenty.

8 thoughts on “Recipe:Butternut Squash Casserole

  1. Sounds delicious! But I don’t have a blender. I do have a recipe for a savory casserole using winter squash. I’ll probably post it around Thanksgiving.

  2. Sounds yummy, can’t wait to try it! Heck I love butternut squash, and since it is dead easy to cook, I think that it also loves me. 🙂 thanks for the recipe!

  3. What is “sweetened flake coconut”?

  4. Sounds too good… *slowly retreating backwards leaving fast*

Leave a Reply

