Baking Up A Storm

Something has really gotten into me lately.  It must be the cooler weather.  It may be Fall here but we have our own version of it here in the desert.  It is also referred to as ‘Summer Lite’.  One can cook comfortably in the kitchen without sweating one’s butt off and one can leave the door open without freezing one’s butt off.  It’s a win-win situation in the Fall.  After burning all those calories at the race Saturday morning, I decided to try my hand at making a recipe for Apple Cinnamon Roll Cupcakes.  I found this on a blog located here: http://yummmmmy.wordpress.com/2010/09/30/apple-cinnamon-roll-cupcakes/  This was originally posted from Paula Dean’s website.  OKay, I have to admit these are quite possibly the best things I have ever tasted.  The recipe says that it yields 24.  Let’s say I had a little trouble in math and ended up with 12 jumbo cupcakes instead.  No one seem to mind though!

After these cook you make an icing from powdered sugar and apple cider.  To die for!   Hubby was in the cooking mood as well.  He roasted tomatillos, garlic, tomatoes, onions and peppers, and created a green salsa.  He hand roasted these over a grill in our backyard and I kicked myself later for not getting a picture of this process. 

As if this wasn’t enough, I also needed to try Kim’s Butternut Apple Ginger soup.  See the recipe here: http://kimkiminy.wordpress.com/2010/10/21/rainy-day-cooking-fest-part-one/

It was absolutely delicious!  To accompany it  I made Cheddar Garlic biscuits from a basic biscuit recipe that I doctored up some.

Here is the recipe for the biscuits:

Ingredients:

  • 2 cups of flour
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 4 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp cream of tartar
  • 1 Tbsp sugar
  • 1 garlic clove minced
  • 1/2 cup of shredded sharp cheddar cheese
  • 1/2 cup of vegetable shortening (I used veggie oil)
  • 2/3 cup of milk

(*Optional: garlic infused butter) 

Preheat over to 450 degrees.  Grease a baking sheet.  Mix dry ingredients. Add the garlic and the cheese.  Cut in vegetable shortening using two butter knives or a dough blender until the mixture resembles course meal.  Add the milk all at once and stir until the dough forms a ball.  Turn dough onto a lightly floured surface and knead 14 times.  (The recipe calls for it to be rolled out to 1/4 inch and then cut with a round cookie cutter.  I did not do this.  With a wooden spoon I scooped out the mixture and dropped it onto the baking sheet).  Once that was complete, I used a little garlic infused butter my husband had made the night before to top them before baking.  It was really good!  Here is the recipe for that below:

*Butter Infused Garlic

Ingredients:

  • 3 Tbsp butter
  • 1 garlic clove, minced
  • 1/2 tsp of Worcestershire sauce or soy sauce

Melt butter in a small saucepan or skillet over medium heat.  Add garlic and stir until garlic becomes translucent.  Remove from heat and add Worcestershire sauce or soy sauce.  Mix well.  Using a pastry brush, top biscuits with the butter.

Bake biscuits for  12 minutes or until tops are golden brown.  Yields 16 biscuits.

(The basic biscuit recipe came from The Fannie Farmer Cookbook published in 1979.  The garlic infused butter is my husband’s own creation).

11 thoughts on “Baking Up A Storm

  1. […] The busiest day of the year was October 26th with 63 views. The most popular post that day was Baking Up A Storm. […]

  2. Crikey, those look divine. It is the weather. I agree! Also stew weather!

  3. Those cinnamon rolls look really yummy. Might just have to try those.
    Thanks for the pingback!

  4. OMG! That looks so yummi. I love Apple Cinnamon Roll. Perfect for this season. Will try to make these for my husband and son. Kim’s Butternut Apple Ginger soup also sounds great. I can’t wait to try it!

    • Kim’s soup was wonderful! That is most likely what I’ll be having for dinner tonight, too.

      If you make these you’ll have to post how you like them. The rolls were really fun. I don’t use a lot of yeast in recipes so that was a nice treat. We are going to a Thanksgiving Brunch this year and I’m thinking of making the cinnamon rolls and also the pumpkin bites you had posted a few weeks back.

  5. Oh my goodness, the apple cinnamon roll cupcakes look fantastic. They are making me quite hungry. I am definitely going to write down this recipe. YUM!!!

Leave a Reply

