Recipe: Fruit Crisp

 While I feel like I did take the easy way out in regards to this month’s Bake Quest, I did add these two pears to a recipe I made on Saturday for a family get together.  I’m not going to include this as a Bake Quest submission.

This recipe was given to me almost 20 years ago from someone at a church I belonged to back in Berlin, MA.  The girl I knew then, Christine, had made this recipe with strawberry and rhubarb.  I have changed the fruit to go with the seasons.  I would also like to add that I found out months later that Christine and I both had a first cousin in common.  My Mom later pulled out baby pictures of Christine and I as we were both born in the same year.  Talk about  a small world!  The entire time we were both parishioners at the same church and we had no idea of our familiar connection.

Here is the recipe for the Fruit Crisp that has been a family favorite for years:

Ingredients:

  • 1 1/2 cups rolled oats
  • 2/3 cup brown sugar
  • 1/2 cup flour, plus 2 Tbs (divided)
  • 1/2 cup margarine
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 5 cups of diced fruit

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.  Combine oatmeal, brown sugar, and 1/2 cup of flour.  Mix well.  Add margarine.  Use a dough blender to mix until it resembles a course meal.  Pat 2/3rds into a 9 x 9 baking pan.  Bake for 10 minutes.  Remove from oven and set aside.  In another bowl combine fruit with 2 Tbsps of flour and 1/2 cup of sugar.  Mix thoroughly.  Spread fruit evenly over top of baked crust.  Then take the rest of the crust ingredients and place on top of fruit mixture.  Bake for 45 minutes.  Remove from oven allow to cool for 10 minutes. Serve hot with vanilla ice cream or whipped cream.

 This recipe can be doubled (see picture below).  Any variety of baking fruits can be used.  In addition to pears I used Granny Smith apples, raspberries, blueberries and frozen cranberries.  The cranberries provide a nice contrast to the other sweet fruits.  I only use one cup of those.  They also add a festive touch for the holidays.

I have to admit that this apple peeler, corer and slicer is one of the best inventions known to man.  When making anythig with diced apples it saves so much time.  This one came from The Pampered Chef years ago.  I love it!

Here is the finished product:

4 thoughts on “Recipe: Fruit Crisp

  1. This looks fabulous…I am going to buy some pears this weekend. Thank you for the recipe.
    I’m still practicing my recipe for November bake quest! 🙂

  2. Num. I want. I don’t use margarine… I’m assuming butter is alright? I might have to try this.

    • Yes, butter is fine. I’ve used it lots of times to make this. The originally recipe called for margarine although I’m unsure why. Maybe that is what the recipe originator only had on hand at the time?

      ONe thing I didn’t mention in the post is that this can be doubled for a larger crowd. I did that the other day when cooking for the whole clan. Enjoy! 🙂

Leave a Reply

