What would your dream home/apartment/condo/yurt look like?

What would your dream home/apartment/condo/yurt look like? Where would it be? Who’d live in it with you?

http://voxdiaspora.wordpress.com/2010/11/08/qotw-118-1113/

 I like this question.  It was on Doug’s blog this morning.

I live in the desert which is paradise in itself.  I had my house built a year before meeting hubby in 2004 so of course the stucco is painted a tawny pink.   In all honesty, I don’t think I would change a thing.  We live in our dream house.  There is a cute desert willow in the front yard, as well as a prickly pear cactus and a few palm trees.  An adorable doggie meets us at the door each day upon our return and there is a lovely little weasel who loves to be cuddled at night. 

Sunlight enters the kitchen in the morning through the slats in the shutters.  There is always the smell of hot coffee and bacon in the air on weekends.  Hubby’s tv is usually tuned into sports or Law & Order and the sound for some reason echoes throughout the house. 

There is peace.  I wouldn’t change a thing.

21 thoughts on “What would your dream home/apartment/condo/yurt look like?

  1. Yea.. I’d be on a couple hundred acres in the Appalachians. Med. size rancher-like cabin.

    Full finished basment. All utlities in a room in said basement. (Water heater, softener, washer dryer, panel box, ect..) Pantry for canned goods and such in basment, with extra freezer…

    Two bedroom, one full bath with a big tub… Maybe a whirlpool.. Half bath with standing shower. Large open living room, open to large country kitchen with island being between said kitchen.

    Oh’ such many more details… Often dreamed and daydreamed of it. Hoping to have close to my dream for retirement.. That is the goal..

  2. Thanks so much for doing this post…I so forget how lucky I am with my beautiful piece of the desert that I call home…neighbors aside this is the most beautiful place i have ever lived and I fail to appreciate what I have.

    • Hi Maureen, I find it very easy to take these things for granted after awhile. This was taken from Doug’s post last week and after I read it I realized that I was in my dream home. Kind of a cool realization. 🙂

  3. elizabethfrank123

    I hope I’m as happy as you are when I’m your age, you’re very lucky 🙂

  4. Sounds wonderful there. Especially the cuddly ferret!

  5. Peace and quiet. A very nice view outside of the window. Sounds good to me.

  6. You home sounds wonderful! I would love to see a picture of the outside! There is a pink house on the mountain that I adore. One day, I am going to take pictures so you all can see it.

    I love your description, with the dog meeting you at the door. Such a peaceful place to live. I am glad that you live in your dream home!

  7. Overlooking the Pacific Ocean! one thing I would never, ever change: my husband and having dogs 🙂

  8. I also would not change a thing. I love our new home. Except the bloody washing machine would have been delivered 2 weeks ago like it should have and we would have the Net hooked up (frakking English slow to get things done ethic – argh)
    And I would prefer to have at least an acre of land so I could have some rescued sheep and a llama.

    • I’m glad you are happy in your new home! I’m so looking forward to hearing about it. Sorry to hear about the washing machine. That would be great to have that extra land for a rescue, too!

  9. Major envy! It must be fantastic to have come to a point in life and a place where you can feel like that.
    I hope you’ll be so lucky that you’ll have that for the rest of your life!

Leave a Reply

