Book Review: Die For You, by Lisa Unger

After reading Freedom Smith’s  review of one of Lisa Unger’s books, I decided to find one at our local library.

I picked this up Tuesday night with the intentions of only reading one chapter before going to bed.  That was not to be.  Within the first few chapters I found myself sucked in and really had to struggle to put it down.  I finished it last night.

The story begins with the main character, Isabel Raine and her husband Marcus living the high life in New York.   She is a successful author and he runs an equally successful computer gaming company.  Suddenly Marcus disappears.  The apartment they shared is trashed, as well as Marcus’ office.  Isabel embarks on a journey to find out what happened to her husband.  There are many twists and turns that span from the streets of New York City to the cobblestone roads of Prague.

The author paints a picture of each character, many times going back in time.  Sometimes I thought reading these parts was a bit too much.  I wanted to get more to the mystery than learn about the character’s past.  Maybe this was done on purpose to relay a sense of suspense.  I also had hoped that there would be more a story in Prague.  I felt longing for more.  However, this was a very suspenseful thriller.  As I said, I couldn’t put the book down.  If you are into mysteries, this is a great one.  I will definitely be picking up another one of Lisa Unger’s books. 

Thanks Freedom, for the recommendation!

5 thoughts on “Book Review: Die For You, by Lisa Unger

  1. Hello..Though death is an effective tool to attract the morbidly or intellecutally curious..’to die for’ leaves nothing after the physical act of dying..nothing for the protagonist in this world..still it does exist in the world..so it should be exposed for what it truely is..then we may be able to get around to answering the ‘big question’..I do not know if I can do that..I am still trying to figure out how to do my invitations to the group..I think e mail adddresses is the only way to go..OH Well..Peace Tony

    • Its interesting that you bring that up. In the late ’90s I lived in a very haunted apartment (alone). Since that time I’ve often wondered about the thereafter. I find myself watching a lot of paranormal shows to see if any questions I have may be answered. So far there hasn’t been anything consistent, yet I continue to watch.

  2. I just checked and my library does not have this book. They only have three other books by Unger and they do not give much description. I am disappointed but will try another book of hers.

    • Oh, sorry to hear that! I know our library will let you place a book on hold even if they don’t have it there. They will get it from a surrounding library and call you when they have it which is kind of neat. They don’t have anything like that where you are?

  3. Thank you so much for writing this book review. I will now check this book out! I love suspense/mysteries and I need some more books to read. I am glad my book review led you to try this author! Your book review was wonderful and I like the details you added.

Leave a Reply

