Am I crazy? Maybe so!

Tomorrow is race day.  During the week I’ve fluctuated between feeling on the mend one day and then kind of draggy the next.  I was supposed to have a doctor’s appointment today but thinking I was better canceled it (Dumb! Dumb! Dumb idea!).  As the day has progressed I’ve grown increasingly draggy.  However, the way I see it in my twisted form of logic right now, is that I am bound to have a good feeling day tomorrow.  This should be a given where I’ve pretty much consistently alternated days all week.  I did not stir up my nightly cocktail of Theraflu.  Alas, I did not need to!  On second thought I should have just put the darn kettle on regardless and slugged it down while watching some show on the existence of aliens on The History Channel.

The Theraflu did give me some cool dreams though.  I was back in my own childhood home and suddenly I could levitate on queue.  It was a really neat gift to have.  The Monsoon sisters were staring at me as if I were a circus clown.  “Do it again,” they’d shout.  I would then happily oblige them and leap through the air a la Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon style.  They were so jealous!

We leave at 6am tomorrow for the race.  I will finish up said race after downing a few Aleve tablets, and then will head straight to the Walgreen’s Clinic.  I have a sneaking suspicion that this might be bronchitis, albeit a mild case, but bronchitis nonetheless.  But I’ll leave that one up to someone with a medical degree. 

It has been well over a week since I ran.  The whole goal was to improve my running time from the last race.  My husband thinks I’m crazy for still partaking.  I suppose the way I see it is that I paid almost $40 to register and it’s not like I have pneumonia, per se, which I did have last year for about a month.  This is nowhere near that.  I’ve just monitored how I’ve felt and so far I think I still can. 

The rest of the weekend involves quite a bit of errand running and some other things.  I’ll be placing a kitchen table on lay-away tonight at a local furniture store so I’m pretty excited about that.  I also really have to make something for this month’s Bake Quest.  Some host I am!  We are almost half way through November.  So far I have a few recipes placed together.  There is a garlic chicken made with a ton of garlic.  My kind of dish!  There is also a pear and apricot tart.  We’ll see.  I tend to be better at baking breads and sweets so I may have to expand my horizons a bit and go beyond the usual culinary comfort zone.

Have a nice weekend!

14 thoughts on “Am I crazy? Maybe so!

  1. Good luck with the run!

  2. Hi there *waves* hope you did well at your race and that you went to the clinic…maybe it is an infection as that would explain why you aren’t feeling well…take care!

    • Hi Maureen *waves back*. The race went better than I expected and I beat my old time. I did head over to the clinic afterwards and I do have some kind of respiratory infection which they gave me antibiotics for. Talk to you soon! 🙂

  3. I hope the race went well today and that you’ve continued to improve in your health. Isn’t that always the way with doctor appointments – the minute you cancel all the symptoms come back and you can’t get another appointment for more than a week!

    • Thanks Emjay. I hope you are feeling better, too. That is always the way. I was able to find a walk-in clinic that could see me right away on Saturday so it worked out. 🙂

  4. Good luck!! Hope you feel better and do really well. Have fun!

  5. Good luck akamonsoon 🙂

  6. Good luck! I hope that cold dissipates over night!

  7. elizabethfrank123

    Good luck for tomorrow but remember take it completely at your own pace, we want you home safe!
    Have a great weekend

Leave a Reply

