My Music Video Debut & The Run

Saturday dawned cold & dark.  Hubby & I made our way out to the east valley which is even colder than our part of the valley due to the higher elevation.  I wasn’t feeling too shabby.  There were a lot more folks participating in this race.  I was supposed to meet Athletica there but didn’t find her.  As it turns out she was participating in the 10K instead that followed a different route than the 5K.  As I waited with the gazillion other runners jumping up and down to get warm at the start line, I noticed a girl in silver stretch pants and a gauzy tutu.  I’m thinking, is she really running in that get up?  As it turns out she was a musician and was filming a video.  She wore a numbered bib like the rest of us.  All of us would be ‘extras’ for this video.  Her name is Mindy Gledhill.  She reminded me of Taylor Swift a bit but I’ve never heard of her.   A camera filmed us at the finish line.  I really hope it didn’t catch me.  My nose was running.

We got the queue to go and everyone lurched forward into the cold morning.  I was feeling pretty good but got thirsty real quick.  All the cold medicine has been drying me out.  At the first water station I grabbed a paper cup.  Unfortunately I drank it too fast and half of it went down the wrong pipe!  I started choking and automatically opened my mouth sending a stream of water out as a liquid projectile.  As circumstances would have it, a petite blond just happen to be running by as I was having my ‘incident’.  Lets just say she got a shower she wasn’t expecting.  Not to mention how chilly the morning was already.  I apologized to her.  I was sooo embarrassed.  She was looking at me like she couldn’t believe that just happened and she sent a glance of disgust at the girl next to her who could have been her twin.   Oh well.  It’s not like I did it on purpose.  She should thank her lucky stars that it was only water.  At least they’ll have a story to tell for some time to come.  I hope that didn’t make it into the music video! 

After stopping to tie my sneaker five times, I turned a corner near the finish line and there was hubby waiting with Abby.  He was scanning the crowd and when he spotted me he casually said, “Hi honey,” as if I had just come in the door from work.  I found it kind of endearing in a way. I beat my old time and did the race in 38:10 minutes.  We didn’t hang around for the free orange wedges and banana halves, and ended up taking off to get some breakfast instead.  I was happy to still have participated but was happier that it was over.

I took a shower upon arriving home and then drove straight to the clinic.  As suspected I have a respiratory infection.  The nurse practitioner prescribed antibiotics which I took with a Diet Coke I got from the Burger King drive-thru nearby. 

The rest of the weekend we didn’t do all that much.  I did get my eyelashes extended as a treat.  I really like how they came out and have been batting my eyelashes at hubby.  I suppose I shouldn’t have been surprised when he leaned in (I was thinking I was going to get a kiss) and then asked me if I had something in my eye that was bothering me.  Ah, yes…we try.  We learn.  We move on.

22 thoughts on “My Music Video Debut & The Run

  1. OMGosh spewing all over the little blond is just too LOL funny. That made me laugh.

    Hope you’re feeling better.

    • Thanks LB. Sorry for the late reply. Not sure how I missed this. 🙂 It was something I’ll always remember. LOL.

      I am feeling better but this darn cough is still lingering. Ah well.

  2. Oh my! I can tell I missed a lot of posts lately…
    Okay first of all, like all of the previous writers: thumbs up on running while being sick. I wouldn’t even make that run on a day when I feel super good.
    I’ve heard about the extentsion – but what I wonder is do they last?

    • Thanks Irony. 🙂 I’ve gotten conflicting reports on how long they last. The first one I read online and it said they can last 2-3 months. The salon said I should come back for a touch up in 4-6 weeks. So we’ll see in time who is right. 😉

  3. LOL with the water…wow, a run with a chest infection! Nutter! Take care of yourself.

    • I know, huh? Gosh, so embarrassing. Yeah I was a nutter (I’m chuckling at that term). I’m better now having been on antibiotics for a few days. Now to start training for the next race.

  4. elizabethfrank123

    Very well done 🙂

  5. I had no idea you could get eyelash extensions! Nice job on the 5K! and dont worry…water…is just water. I’ve had a variety of things thrown on me water, gatorade, gu…by accident in races….
    Showers cure all, she probably needed to grow up a bit anyway.
    Hope you feel better soon (and thanks for stopping by my blog-always nice to meet another runner!)

    • Yes, I’ll have to post a pictue of the eyelash extensions. I’m really enjoying them and have found that I really don’t need to wear much makeup because of them. Thanks on the race compliments! I guess I’ll also have a race story regarding the water.

      And thank you too for stopping by my blog as well. 🙂 Nice to meet you!

  6. OMG Nice job! Even though it wasn’t your best you did great! I’d say that’s definitely a great effort especially considering you were sick. 🙂 let us know about the video! Eyelash extensions? Oh yeah! You deserve it, girl!! Hope you’re feeling better now. 🙂

    • Thanks Zoom. I’m glad I did but I was very glad for it to be behind me, too. I may have to check YouTube for the video. That seems to be where most of her videos are. I’ll post it on my blog if it does come out.

      Getting the eyelash extensions was a lot of fun. It was something I had wanted to do for awhile and I’m glad I did. And thanks for the well wishes regarding my health. Today is the first day that I’m starting to feel somewhat normal.

  7. I am impressed there is no way I could run that far and that fast…it would take me at least a couple hours!!! LOL
    I never knew that you could get eyelash extensions, that is so cool, I want one!(Where can you get them?)
    Oh I loved your hubby’s comment…isn’t that sad. I know what you mean, I once had jolly rancher green colored contacts but the only ones who ever noticed were girls 😦 sometimes when you want someone to notice they can be really thick!!! Anyway, have a great day!!!

    • Hi April. Thanks for stopping by! I am definitely a novice runner. There was a man who completed the whole run in 16 minutes. Now that is fast!

      It was a nice treat getting my eyelashes done. What I did was type in ‘eyelash extensions in Phoenix’ to see what would come up in a search engine. You could do the same. I’m guessing you are in the Boston area too. I’d avoid anything on Newberry St. or in the general vicinity as I’m sure it would be highly pricy. Look in the burbs for someone. It might be a drive but should cost you much less if you decide to do it.

      Yeah, men don’t notice the things we do, do they. Once in awhile my husband will say ‘you look really nice today.’ Then I know I must because it takes a lot for him to notice. LOL.

  8. LOL Monsoon – there were lots of giggles in this post. You did so well! You should be proud running when you were not feeling 100% and beating your old time too. I’m surprised that it takes 2 hours to do the eyelashes – but then I’m someone who doesn’t even use mascara so really I have no idea LOL. What do they extend them with?

    • Hi Emjay, I guess its always best to find the humor in things. 🙂 I was really glad that I still did it. It did catch up to me on Sunday but I was able to get some rest. I hope you are feeling better as well.

      They do each individual eyelash so I guess that is why it is so time consuming. I asked what they were made out of and the girl told me synthetic polymers (whatever that is). 😉

  9. I’m glad that you had a good time at the 5K! Sick, at that! XD You have stamina that I envy. But I don’t put in the work. Hope you feel better too! 🙂

  10. You ran a 5k with a respiratory infection? Wow. You were determined, that is for sure!!! You should get an award for the extra effort!

    Funny about the tutu lady. Let us know if you make the video!! Even funnier about the spewing incident, although you did not think so at the time, I know. I am very impressed that you did the run. I could not do a run, much less a 5K with a respiratory infection.

    I hope you feel better quickly, with the antibiotics!! Have your eyelashes extended sounds terrific. I am not kidding here, can you take a picture of your eyelashes so we can see what an extension looks like? I have never heard of that before. Sounds like a wonderful treat. How long does it stay on? What a super thing to do before the holidays!! Is it expensive? (you don’t need to give an exact amount, just say yes or no, if you want to).

    • I did. LOL! I had been looking forward to it for awhile so I just forced myself to go. Sunday I just sat around in my pjs recovering. 🙂

      The eyelash treatment was quite relaxing. It took about 2 hours to do so I ended up falling asleep on the table. I’ll see if I can get a picture. My camera phone has been on the blink lately so I havent’ been adding many of my own pics to the blog postings. It was a little on the expensive side. I searched around a lot for a salon that did it that was somewhat affordable. I figured this would be a treat for myself. They should stay on for a month or two. I’ve read online that they can last up to three months so we’ll see. That was different than what they told me at the salon. Last summer I had false eyelashes put on for my sister’s wedding and I absolutely loved how they looked. I was afraid I may look like a drag queen but they actually looked decent I thought. That sent me on a quest to find the extensions for them. 🙂

      • That does sound like a wonderful treat. Kind of like the spray on tan I do once or twice a summer. I can see I am way behind on the latest beauty treatments. Thanks for telling us about the eyelash extensions!

        • The spray on tan is a nice treat too. I love that it looks so natural. Remember when self-tanners first came out and they looked so orange? Things have really progressed. No problem about the eyelash extensions. Us ladies have to share our beauty secrets with each other. 🙂

Leave a Reply

