November Bake Quest #1 – Bacon & Blue Cheese Dinner Pie w/Pears

This was incredibly easy to make and very tasty and filling.   The recipe called for tart apples but I substituted pears instead as I think they go better with blue cheese.  This came from the December issue of Better Homes and Gardens Magazine.

Ingredients:

  • Six slices of bacon
  • 1 8.5oz pkg. corn muffin mix
  • 2/3 cup all purpose flour
  • 1 tsp. chili powder
  • 1 egg, slightly beaten
  • 1/4 cup of milk
  • 2 pears (recipe called for 3 Granny Smith apples), cored, peeled and thinly sliced
  • 1/3 cup blue cheese crumbles
  • Fresh thyme (optional)

1.) Preheat oven to 400 degrees.  In a skillet cook bacon until crisp.  Drain; reserve 1 tablespoon of the drippings.  Chop bacon.

2.)Meanwhile, in a bowl combine muffin mix, flour, chili powder, egg, and milk.  Divide dough into four portions.  Place portions on a greased baking sheet and press to 6 to 7 inch circles.

3.) Top each circle with a layer of apple slices, leaving a 1-inch border.  Fold edges around apple or pear slices.  Brush apples and crust with reserved bacon drippings.

4.) Bake 10 minutes.  Top with blue cheese and bacon; bake 5 to 7 minutes more until edges are golden and the bottom of crust is set.

Substitute: Use leftover shredded chicken or crumbled cooked sausage in place of the bacon. 

     *Note: Even though I had folded the edges up before baking, they flattened out while cooking.  Not sure what I need to do differently to keep that from happening but thought it was worth mentioning.

14 thoughts on “November Bake Quest #1 – Bacon & Blue Cheese Dinner Pie w/Pears

  1. I made it and it was GOOD. I didn’t bother trying to fold up the edges of the cornbread. It was hard enough getting them into circle shapes. 🙂 Didn’t matter one bit.
    BTW, did you miss milk in the ingredients list? I put in the amount that the muffin mix called for, then added a couple splashes more.

  2. very British! dinner pie!

  3. Oh, I’m totally going to make this. I’ve got all the ingredients except for the blue cheese. Sounds delicious!

  4. Maybe you needed to “crimp” the edges when you folded them up? It sounds really yummy so I’m sure it didn’t matter that it had flattened out.

  5. Oooh, that looks delicious, Monsoon! This looks like a great recipe, definitely going to try it on those nights when I’m craving a treat 🙂
    As for as flattened Dinner pie, it happens to everybody sometimes, so keep trying! 😉
    Maybe you need to add more flour?

    • It was really delicious and easy to make. Quick, too. Yeah, I’m not sure what happened there with the flattening out of the crust, lol. I thought I had everything tucked over nicely but somewhere in the baking process it decided to lay flat. Luckily it was still just as yummy.

  6. Oh wow. that looks great. If I get a chance to do something in the kitchen at my sisters home over the holidays I think I might try this!

Leave a Reply

