Bake Quest #2 For December 2010

 

Here are the contenders based on your suggestions for the month of December:

Cranberries

-OR-

Butter

-OR-

Brussel Sprouts

The rules are to make a recipe using one of the ingredients above.  We choose from three separate ingredients due to allergies, items not in season or unavailable in certain areas, etc…

When posting your recipe, include any helpful hints you may have found, like for instance, say a recipe says that it yields a certain amount but you found that it produced more or less, etc…  Also, give credit to the recipe provider.  It doesn’t matter if it’s your great aunt’s recipe or it came from a cook book.   If you’ve stumbled across this page and would like to participate, please leave a comment and I’ll add you to the blog roll.

But wait!  There’s more! Peter, who posts the most marvelous bread articles on his blog (not to mention that he is Dad to one of the cutest kids ever) had made the suggestion that we try a sour dough bread.  So as a bonus this month let’s see what we can come up with!  Mmmmm…bread.

19 thoughts on “Bake Quest #2 For December 2010

  1. Who had the recipe for the shredded brussels sprouts with cranberries and bacon? I thought it was you… Anyway, I tried it last night and it was amazing. We ate up every bit.

  2. […] Like most kids I HATED Brussels Sprouts. Only recently have I learned how to cook them properly. They can be such a delicious and healthy side. So, here is my second entry for December’s Bake Quest: […]

  3. […] going to do a separate post for each of this month’s Bake Quest ingredients. As a kid, every Thanksgiving, I was tasked with making the cranberry sauce. We always […]

  4. Hello, Monsoon! Sorry I’ve been absent!
    I have just been super busy with work.
    According to my palate, brussels sprouts is one of my favorite green vegetables. Any way they’re prepared, I’ll eat them. I usually steam them, but I really love the roasted ones. 🙂 I have a delicious recipe for a perfect holiday side dish.

    • Hey Zoom, I was just thinking to myself yesterday that I hadn’t seen you on here in awhile. Welcome back! I’m looking forward to seeing your brussel sprout recipe. You know its funny, I was really thinking that most folks would be interested in the cranberries or the butter but there have been more commments made on the sprouts than anything else. This will be neat to see.

  5. I really dislike brussel sprouts but at Thanksgiving my friend mixed them with chunks of pear and they were nearly edible 🙂

    • That it too funny. I’m guessing theres a lot that can be done with them. They aren’t something that is a regular on our dinner tabel, that’s for sure, but I’m looking forward to seeing everyone’s recipes using them. I may have to give it a shot.

  6. Butter…LOL…that opens the door for just about anything I cook!

  7. That bread looks soooooooo good! Yum. I lived in England for three years….a long time ago. I arrive in January and the brussle sprouts were still growing. I was amazed, both because it was so late in the winter and because I’d never seen how they grew. BTW….I do like sprouts. 😛

    • Doesn’t that look yummy? I snagged that off the Internet. How strange that brussel sprouts would still be growing in January? They look like little cabbages. It looks like Kim is going to post a recipe involving the sprouts so I’ll be interested to see. I haven’t had them much myself but am looking forward to getting reacquainted. 😉

  8. I’m so on top of this month’s quest!
    I love to make whole berry cranberry sauce, and there’s always plenty left over for sandwiches and spooning on top of vanilla ice cream.
    Only recently have I discovered how delicious Brussels sprouts can be if prepared properly.
    And I have just the recipe in mind for the butter…

Leave a Reply

