Another Monday, Another Post

Yes, its Monday again.  Luckily they don’t last long compared to the rest of the week.  It seems hard to believe its December here where the temps have been in the high 70s and will remain there for the next couple of weeks.  We had planned to go to Flagstaff over Christmas week to play in the snow with the dog but it doesn’t seem likely that there will be much snow to play in.  We’ll see. 

Our weekend was fairly uneventful.  I’m still coughing my head off even though I’ve long been off of the antibiotics.  Saturday morning I went to the gym and ran on the treadmill.  There was a smog warning all weekend so I thought it best to run indoors.  It really helped to clear the junk out of my lungs.  Currently I’m working on getting down a 10 minute mile.  I ran at that rate for a 1/4 of a mile and then would slow it down to a 12 minute mile and alternate between the two. 

After that I was on a mad hunt for some authentic Southwest Christmas decorations.  I hit up a nearby Hallmark store and found a few cute ones.  Unfortunately the others were somewhat tacky.  I think my Mexican-American husband would kill me if I came home with the chili pepper with the curly moustache wearing a glittering sombrero.  Someone sent us a Speedy Gonzalez ornament a few years ago and that did not go over well with hubby.  I stopped in the little town of Guadalupe at a shop that sold pottery and colorful wall hangings shaped like lizards and kokopelli.  Inside they had hand painted ornaments shaped like eggs that featured cactus pictures.  One had the Virgen de Guadalupe featured on it, and another was a carved gourd with the skeletal figures of a bride & groom on the inside.  I also found terra cotta angels and others made out of straw, as well as punched tin.  In a way we are starting over.  This time last year we had a yard sale and sold all our old Christmas stuff.  There were no real memories attached to them as they were things I had acquired when  first arriving here 9 years ago. 

We were invited to someone’s home to watch a parade but decided against it.  We went out for what was supposed to be a quiet dinner instead at an Italian restaurant.  Our conversation was quickly overwhelmed by the sounds of about 15 nine year old girls and two adult chaperones.  I thought, oh no.  But as it turned out, the girls were really well-behaved.  From what the waitress told us, they had arrived via limo to celebrate one of their birthdays.  There was a gilded statue of David on display not too far from where the girls were seated.  I had to crack up when one of them pointed to it and announced that she could see his butt.  The rest of the girls placed their hands over their mouths while craning their necks to get a better look.  The two ladies accompanying them must have had the patience of saints.  Although they were well-behaved, they were definitely a handful, especially when they all got up at once to visit the lady’s room.

After church yesterday I was able to get some things done around the house that really needed cleaning.  I’ve been procrastinating for a while now.  I also started my holiday cookie baking.  Last evening I whipped up two batches of Caramel Heavenlies which just melt in your mouth.  They are incredibly easy to make and I will post the recipe tomorrow as part of this month’s Bake Quest.  Butter is the main ingredient (of course!).  These were placed in the freezer for future consumption.  Around 9pm hubby came in and wanted to know where all the cookies went.  He seem to be quite insulted that I hadn’t left any out for him.  Actually, I’ve learned to hide these early if I want any left to give away as gifts to friends and family.  😉

My one and only co-worker was laid off right before Thanksgiving.  I’ve been adjusting to being the sole employee at work and so far so good.  Of course my workload has increased but I’m happy for the challenge.  Life has gotten very ‘solitudinal’ lately,  if that is even a word.  I’m kind of liking this.  I had a close friend say something very hurtful a few weeks ago.  It was on the equivalent of making a joke or reference to someone who has died that you were close to.  No, no one close to me has died but the situation that was made reference to was just as painful.  I never let on that it bothered me.  In fact, it was only after the shock of what was said wore off that I realized how badly and deeply it hurt.  I’ve talked to hubby about it, I’ve cried, I’ve prayed and now I’m finally feeling better about it.  Although this ‘friend’ never apologized (or maybe they never even realized what they said was so hurtful), I think this person is getting it.  I mean, how could this person not know?  Anyways, I’ve shied away from this person and I think they’ve realized that something was up.  I’m sure this person knows.  Again, how could they not?  I’ve prefered to be by myself lately, and for good reason!

Outside here the leaves are finally changing.  It seems strange to look out and see a bright orange/yellow tree next to a very green palm tree.  Of course the colorful trees are not native to here.  Neither are the palm trees for that matter.  But I like the way that they seem to just bloom where they are planted, impervious to the weather or the temperature.  In some ways I could really take a lesson from that.

The race I was supposed to do is this coming weekend.  I’ve decided to not partake in this one where my lungs have been so funky.  There should be plenty more after the New Year though.  So much accomplished this year and so much to look forward to in the coming one.  With that I shall leave off here and get back at the day in progress.  Happy Monday, my friends.

18 thoughts on “Another Monday, Another Post

  1. elizabethfrank123

    If you’re looking for snow then just hop across the pond! We’re covered in it, i’ve had a week of snow days!!
    I know i’ve not been blogging as regularly but everytime I log back in, you cheer me up 🙂 thought i’d let you know.

    • I heard that area was getting lots of snow. Lucky you! Yes, I’ve been wondering where you’ve been. I’m glad that I cheer you up. 🙂 Thanks for letting me know that.

  2. As for the rude friend, well, I think if they did not realise they had hurt your feelings, then they are insensitive; you are a kind hearted person; and don’t let the door hit them in the arse (a saying, the last bit – meaning let them go).

    • I feel like maybe this person was testing me to see what my reaction would be. It was incredibly insensitive and it made it more so that it was said by someone I had been so close to.

  3. “… the temps have been in the high 70s and will remain there for the next couple of weeks.” Can I come live with you? We can trade…you can have snow. : D
    I love the ornaments quest. I am unable to find rabbit ones…LOL! I did find some rabbit wrapping paper.
    I also bake up a storm at Christmastime. It is just so much fun, isn’t it? I never understand grinches.

    • Sure! Come stay with me. We’d have a blast! I’m quite certain.

      I’m really surprised that you aren’t able to find rabbit ornaments. I would think they would be popular this time of the year, i.e The Velveteen Rabbit, etc…

      It is so much fun baking this time of year. I have all these post-it notes tucked into my cookbook of all the things I need to try. On the list is biscotti. I’ve never tried making it so this weekend I’m going to give it a shot.

  4. A few years ago the manservant brought some Christmas decorations back from Chile – they were wonderfully tacky – I loved them. They got lost somehow in the move between apartment and house – he has a trip back to Chile in the new year so perhaps he can get some on sale! 🙂 It’s freezing here – I’d gladly take some of your 70 degree heat!

    • How cool is that? Hopefully he’ll find some more on his trip back.

      I’ll send some warm vibes your way! I can’t get over how warm it is expected to be in the next few days. It should hit 80 over the weekend. 🙂

  5. Good choices on the Ornaments. I think these days one has to be careful with a Southwest theme…It can get very tacky very fast with what is available!!

    SOmetimes people do say things without understanding fully the consequences, and if you think that is the case, then after some time perhaps you can forgive…or perhaps it is time to move on, hard to know.

    No Race? Bummer. I am racing this weekend, just a half Marathon and I am feeling the pressure already…I had a nightmare that the race was suddenly on the highway on a steep inclone and that I was running like molasses…Hopefully this will not be the case!!!

    Good Luck finding snow that you can enjoy. Here it is suddenly quite cold, but I dont expect it will snow.

    • Thanks, I was really looking for the handmade variety rather than the stereotypical versions of them. I was trying to avoid that ‘touristy’ shop feel. 😉

      People so say some things sometimes that are just so off. I’m not sure whether this person is testing me to see what my reaction would be or what. I still don’t get it.

      Yes, I’m going to wait until after the new year. I am still coughing like mad and it seems when I’m really running hard, if my immune system isn’t quite up to par, I make myself worse. So I’m going to bulk up on the vitamin C for the time being and take it from there. I saw in your blog about the race you are doing this weekend. I hope that goes really well and that you’ll post about it afterwards. Best of luck! I will be cheering on your efforts from here. 🙂 I’m sure your dream was nothing but a dream and that you will do great!

      I’m hoping that they’ll get some snow up north. Hubby and I are going to forego our trip up there if there isn’t any which is a bummer.

  6. And happy Monday to you. I hope you’re feeling better. We’re having a cold, Yankee Christmas but without snow – at least yet. It’s blowing and chilled outside and I’m happily baking Christmas cooking inside.

    I hope for some snow. I’m a northern girl and Christmas isn’t the same to me without it.

    • That sounds like a wonderful scene Margy. 🙂 Being from that area I remember just hoping and praying for snow this time of year. There’s not been much snow up north but who knows? Christmas is a few weeks away still. Maybe we’ll luck out. 😉

  7. I love going to the Hallmark store! They have such wonderful things, although they’re a bit costly. But I also found what I want for Christmas 😉
    I am sorry to hear about what you are facing. I’m sure you’ll do awesome at your next 5K in 2011. Your friend was very rude to have said that. I would tell her that she hurt you with what she said. If she is truly your friend she will understand. 😦

    • Isn’t it the best? They are expensive. I bought very little there. I like the fact that they have Christmas cards with Southwest designs on them. I can’t find those in that many places here believe it or not. What are you asking for Christmas? Do tell! 🙂

      I probably will sign up for a few more 5Ks in the new year. I want to kick this cough and then lose a few more pounds, too.

      I really should talk to this person about what happened but at this point I’m wondering if its even worth it. It was a pretty low blow.

      • I have been a huge fan of Hallmark products for years, and I was really excited when I heard that Hallmark had made available a new recordable Christmas ornament – “We Wish You A Merry Christmas.” Our Grandchildren live so far away that we only get to see them about 2 times a year. So this recordable ornament is a great gift to keep my family history alive for generations to come. How cool is that, Uh? 🙂 Our voices will always be alive in our families mind by listening to this recordable ornament at any time we want.

        I didn’t see any “Southwest designs” either. but I will be on the lookout and let you know.

  8. Today was my first day without my good friend and co-worker. She wrote the most wonderful thank you note on Friday thanking me in great detail for my professional contributions. It was just incredible. She copied the note to my manager and his manager. What class!!

    She is the only real friend I’ve had since I started working there in Feb and I will definitely miss her.

    Professionally, I am confident that everything will work out, although there’s defintely more bases to cover.

    I’m sorry to hear your friend has hurt you. I really hope this works out. It sounds like it was a really deep hurt.

    • How nice of her to write that letter! And then to copy the others. That is definite class, I agree!

      We have friends that will be moving out of state in a few months. When they first announced this I was so disappointed but now that I’ve had time to get used to the idea it seems like it will be alright. We’ll still be friends but in a different capacity. As that how it feels for you, too, with your co-worker?

      Yeah, it definitely was a shocker what that person said. The friendship was pretty much out the door as it was but this just confirmed it for me. Friends just don’t treat friends that way. I of course have to take responsibility where I’ve allowed someone like that into my life. Luckily stuff like that doesn’t happen very often.

Leave a Reply

