December Bake Quest #2 – Caramel Heavenlies

Over the weekend I made two batches of these.  They are quite possibly the easiest cookie I make during this time of year.  I would have to compare them to Samoa Girl Scout cookies but much much better!

The main ingredient here that I’m working with is butter. 

Ingredients

12 graham crackers (4-3/4 inches x 2-1/2 inches)

2 cups of mini marshmallows

3/4 cup of butter

3/4 cup packed brown sugar

1 teaspoon of ground cinnamon

1 teaspoon of vanilla extract

1 cup sliced almonds

1 cup flaked coconut

Line a 15-in. x 10-in. baking pan with foil.  Place graham crackers in pan; cover with marshmallows.  In a saucepan, cook and stir butter, brown sugar and cinnamon over medium heat until the butter is melted and sugar is dissolved.  Remove from heat; stir in vanilla.

Spoon over the marshmallows.  Sprinkle with almonds and coconut.  Bake at 350 degrees for 15-16 minutes or until browned.  Cool completely.  Cut into 2-in. squares, then cut each square in half to form triangles (I use a pizza cutter).

Yield: about 6 dozen (I cut the squares in half so it makes more like 3 dozen.  I prefer a bigger cookie because they are so good!)  These also freeze well, too.

This came from the Ultimate Cookie Collection cook book, published in 2006.  The recipe was submitted by a lady named Dawn Burns of Troy, Ohio.

https://akamonsoon.wordpress.com/2010/12/01/bake-quest-2-for-december-2010/

15 thoughts on “December Bake Quest #2 – Caramel Heavenlies

  1. […] 11am to 6pm this past Saturday I did not leave the kitchen.  I made Caramel Heavenlies, sugar cookies shaped like trees, sugar cookies shaped like stars and then dipped in chocolate and […]

  2. Monsoon,those cookies look great! I can taste them with my eyes. Although I love almonds and coconut on it’s own, it’s also great in cookies. De-lish!! 🙂

  3. Sounds like a great recipe. I have one more cookie-type item to make before I’m done. Then I can hand them out or ship them out – or both!

    • They’re very easy to make and don’t require a lot of clean up once you’re done. My kind of cookie! 🙂 Its really fun to bake this time of year, isn’t it? I also need to go pick up some tins so that I can hand them out. Nothing like homemade gifts.

  4. Dang, these look delicious. I like the new look on your blog as well. Let it snow!

  5. Sounds easy! That’s always a qualifier for me. 🙂

  6. You had me at graham crackers.

Leave a Reply

