My New Bond Girl Name, Miracles & Other Disasters

Is That A Cookie In Your Pocket?

 I have a new Bond Girl name.  Have you heard?  From now on I shall be referred to as Cookies Galore.  Yeah, you heard me.  Cookies Galore.  After all, I think I earned it.

From 11am to 6pm this past Saturday I did not leave the kitchen.  I made Caramel Heavenlies, sugar cookies shaped like trees, sugar cookies shaped like stars and then dipped in chocolate and sprinkled with crushed red & white mints, chocolate truffles, chocolate covered cherry cookies, Mexican wedding cookies, pumpkin spice frosted with cream cheese frosting & sprinkled with nutmeg, ginger snaps and finally, Kim’s Spiced Candied Walnuts

I filled 15 tins, 2 ghetto-ware containers and 2 plates.  Whew, that was a lot of cookies!  I enjoyed every minute of it though.  I cranked the Christmas tunes and baked.  Its only once a year that I do this but it helps to get me in a Christmas frame of mind.

After all that baking Saturday I plopped down on the fainting sofa in the Girl-Cave and watched TV.  As I was doing a drive-by of the channels, I noticed A Miracle on 34th Street was on.  In all my years I had never seen it.  A very young Natalie Wood plays the daughter of a divorcee that works as an executive at Macy’s Department store in NYC over the holidays.  My niece bears an uncanny resemblance to Natalie Wood at that age.  So much so that I felt very homesick after watching it.  Even the facial expressions were the same.  Funny enough even as a teenager my niece still resembles her.  Something with the eyes.  I’ll have to find a picture of my niece when she was young and post it beside Natalie Woods.  Cute cute movie!

Yesterday I worked at the Pantry and got loads of stuff done.  The phones were ringing and there were a lot of items that needed to be stocked.  My husband came down and helped for a while too.

Last night my friend Robert called from Boston.  I sometimes don’t know how to help him.  He has had a string of dates lately, all bad, and he is very discouraged.  He’ll be 44 this summer and he is just beyond ready to settle down and get married. 

Last week he called a woman he had met, a 42 year old nurse, and asked her to join him at a holiday party being held this past weekend.  She called or texted (can’t remember which) and said she had been very busy (never a good sign) and already had plans to go to a different event.  He was disappointed of course.  At 1 am Saturday morning he is leaving the party he is at when he receives a drunken text from this woman.  She wants to know what he is doing.  He calls her and then she explains that she is seeing someone and all.  Now I have to ask, why would someone 42 play that sort of game with someone?  The hard part is that Robert doesn’t see it this way.  He sees it as she must still have an interest in him if she is texting him at all.  I explained that it was a game.  Thats how some people are.  It is quite ridiculous to still be playing those games at this age.

At times I’m brutally honest with him.  He’ll tell me things he’s done or said and sometimes I just cringe.  He will sometimes get upset with what I have to say but it still doesn’t stop him from calling for advice.  And I hope the advice I’m giving is okay.  I absolutely adore Robert.  I don’t like seeing him being used as a doormat by women who at their age, should really know better.  It seems odd at times when I point something out to him, he just can’ t believe it.  Most of us learned some of the rules of dating by our teens and twenties.  I think Robert has just been out of the loop for a while and has plain forgotten the rules. 

After two hours on the phone to Boston, I started to lose my voice.  I tried to suggest things like maybe he shouldn’t call as often, or don’t send someone you just met a Facebook friend request –that kind of stuff.  Robert likes to over-analyze stuff and I can see sometimes he is driving himself crazy.  Funny enough there is a woman who has shown some interest in him.  He has not reciprocated this interest so of course she is the one he has been hearing from.  My advice to him was to start doing whatever it is he is doing with this woman and apply it to a woman he is interested in.  Sounds simple enough, right?  Anyways, it was somewhat of an exhausting conversation.  I’m not sure if he gets upset because he thinks I’m being a complete witch or because he knows that there may be some truth to what I’m saying.  I told him not to worry so much.  It’ll happen.  Maybe I’ll even be his Best Man someday.  He didn’t think that was as funny as I did.

This morning I sent him a text and asked how he was doing.  Then I apologized if I came off as too harsh.  He texted back that my advice was good.  Then he thanked me for being a good friend.  Maybe I am doing something right by him after all.

Our office will be closed until the New Year after tomorrow despite my wishes for one more day.  I do love this time of year but I have to admit one thing: I am tired!  With that, have a great week friends, and I hope each of you finds a little peace within your busy days.

Yours Truly,

Mrs. Cookies Galore

16 thoughts on “My New Bond Girl Name, Miracles & Other Disasters

  1. Wow ms cookies that is a lot of cooking. i didn’t even cook one batch of cookies this season…with my wisdom teeth I could eat so maybe next week I’ll do some baking…hubby would love that so much.

    Your poor firend why are women so mean to him…he sounds like a great guy for someone…too bad your live so far from him.

  2. I saw that you had a new Bond Girl name and then my eyes drifted to the Caramel Heavenlies link so I just assumed your Bond Girl name was Caramel Heavenlies and thought, “oh, wow…that’s a great Bond Girl name.”

    Obviously I was wrong. Your real Bond Girl name is Spiced Candy.

    Hehehehehehe….Sorry. Sometimes I just can’t help myself.

  3. Oye, tell Robert he needs a nice English woman. Then anything he does over the top, she can just put down to his being a Yank and excuse it.

    • I was tempted to put the word out on my blog that I have a great guy for any single woman out there. Knowing him he’d travel to meet someone. Maybe he does need a nice Englishwoman. 🙂

  4. Bunnies galore here. : D
    You are such a good friend to Robert. Yes, sounds like he is over eager with the ones he is attracted to, which probably makes them think he might be psycho when in fact he may just be earnest. It all depends on the vibe, doesn’t it? The chemistry. I think you have told him the right thing – back off. And yo, that phone call by the drunk woman who is seeing someone, was a booty call. At least she thinks he is sexy! LOL!

    • Hi GW, yes your Bond Name would definitely be Bunnies Galore, LOL. I haven’t talked to Robert since that time so I’ll be curious to hear whats going on since then. No doubt there will be some drama. We’ll see.

  5. I love your Bond girl name! Very appropriate.
    All those cookies sound amazing. I want to come to your house!

  6. Hey, Cookies Galore! Love the picture of the bond woman 🙂 You made an amazing amount of cookies. Really incredible.

    It sounds to me like you are exactly the kind of friend that Robert needs. He seems to be oblivious to the cues and rules that the rest of us know so he must learn them. You spent two hours of your time talking to him. That is a real friend, and you even gave him tough advice. He needs it! Good for you.

    Have a wonderful Christmas. Enjoy the cookies.

    • Thanks Freedom. I did make quite a few, didn’t I? It was lots of fun.

      I really do hope I’m being a good friend to him. He is such a great guy.

      You also have a wonderful Christmas, my friend. I have so enjoyed getting to know you this past year. I hope this is a great year for you. 🙂

  7. Wow! That’s a lot of cookies! Are you giving them all away? XD I wouldn’t be able to eat all those. 😛 We cook lots of cookies and drop them off at our families doorsteps. XD LOL! They know when we’re coming though. :/ LOL!
    I’m glad you were able to help your friend. Dating life is HARSH. :S I feel bad for him. What a crazy woman. What stupid games.

    • LOL, yes! It was so much fun making all of them. I’m not sure how we are going to eat all the ones we have left. I had my husband take a few tins to give to his co-workers as well and I’ll probably bring some to friends on Christmas Eve. The rest will go to my inlaws. I do remember dating life being harsh as well. It upsets me that he is being mistreated so I hope this year he’ll meet someone nice.

  8. Oh you lucky thing getting all that time off! 🙂 Our office closes on the 24th and the 31st only – I’m really looking forward to those 2 days off.

    Yeah, I think 42 is too old to be playing silly games with someone. I am so glad that I don’t have to play the dating game – it seems way too hard. Perhaps Robert will meet the perfect person when he stops trying so hard to find her.

    • Thanks Emjay. I’m looking forward to it. Just wish I was getting paid for it. I hope you have a wonderful Christmas and New Year. 🙂

      It really is too old. I’m not sure if its him or just the women he chooses to date –maybe its both. Yes, he is trying too hard. He is laid off from work right now, too so he’s just had way too much time on his hands to think about it. He’ll make an excellent catch. He just needs to be patient.

    • I gets loads of time off…LOL!

Leave a Reply

