A Quick Update

It is now three hours later since I logged onto the computer and have been spending all this time catching up with everyone.  🙂 

We are having a wonderful vacation.  For Christmas dinner hubby and I broke out the good china and had a nice little dinner by candlelight at home.  After trying Kim’s cranberry sauce recipe, I will never buy canned cranberry sauce ever again!  It was that good!  We have been snacking on the leftovers all week.

On Tuesday we drove up to Flagstaff with the dog in tow.  There wasn’t as much snow there as last year but it was still so much fun.  We ate at a place for lunch called Alpine Pizza which was featured on the Travel Channel not that long ago.  I thought it was ok.  Nothing to write home about really.  Abby enjoyed playing in the snow.  There’s so much sniff and dig at when you are a dog.  She was one tuckered out pooch by the end of the day.

Apparently we got out of Flagstaff just in the nick of time as they were just blanketed with 2 feet of snow.  The freeway was closed in both directions. 

We finally got a charger for the camera battery and I’m hoping to post some pics we took over the week when I have more time.    We first purchased the wrong charger and needed to return it, which we did on Monday.  We bought the right one and then lo and behold, I was cleaning the house today and found the one we had originally lost located behind the cushion of the fainting sofa in the Girl-Cave.  Isn’t that always the way?  I’ve since thrown out the receipt for the charger but kept the packaging.  Hopefully they’ll be able to take it back because it wasn’t cheap.

We are joining friends for New Years Eve tomorrow night.  They are preparing a formal dinner so this should be fun.  I am making Margy’s Grand Marnier truffles and a chocolate stout cake made with Guinness Ale for the event. 

We’ve had to break out the winter jackets as of late  A cold front has moved through and the temps didn’t get out of the 40s all day.  Some places in the valley around Phoenix even got snow today.  Not us though.  But man, it is cold!  I’ll have to remember this when it is 110+ degrees outside.

I wish you all a very happy and safe New Year!  I also look forward to reading your posts as the year progresses.  God bless.

20 thoughts on “A Quick Update

  1. I am so glad you had a wonderful Christmas.

    Returning without a receipt? Problably they will offer an exchange or give you a giftcard if you don’t have the receipt. Good luck! 🙂

    • Thanks Zoom. I hope you did too. I may just keep the extra charger and use one to keep at the house and the other for when we travel. I haven’t decided yet. A giftcard would be cool though.

  2. We drove through Flagstaff in a rental car from LA. We stayed the night and the next morning there was 9 inches of snow – The really funny thing was that we didn’t have an ice scraper – I have a photo somewhere of the manservant clearing the windscreen with a dinner knife!! Those truffles were to-die for! 🙂

    Happy New year!!

    • LOL! That must have been really funny. I don’t think we’d have anything either to clear snow. I’d probably have to buy a scraper somewhere which would be sort of hard to find here I think.

      Weren’t those truffles amazing??? I made hubby bring what was left to work with him so I wouldn’t be tempted to eat them. Hopefully his co-workers will wait until the end of the day before eating them.

      Happy New Year to you too!

  3. Happy new year! I hope you enjoyed the truffles as much as my recipients did. I’m enjoying the irony, weather-wise. You’re suddenly down to 40 degrees. Today, we’re up to 40 degrees!

    • I sure did as well as the recipients at the party. They were ‘melt in your mouth’ good! I will definitely be making those in the future!

      The weather is pretty ironic, isn’t it? I spoke to my Mom one day last week and she said it was warmer there than it was here. Go figure!

  4. You had me at chocolate cake….yummy yum yum! I just realised I had baked nothing for dessert tonight! I hope you have a very good NYE.

    • It was quite amazing if I do say so myself. Then again, anything with Guinness in it has to be good. 😉 I hope you were able to think of something. Your pineapple upside down cake looked amazing!

      • Thanks about the cake…I had a bunch of very good chocolates, so we ate those. I love to bake, so I hated that I missed an opportunity! LOL!

        • I hear ya! I’ll have to try that recipe some time. Hubby loves sweets but is a diabetic. After the past two weeks I’m surprised he didn’t go into sugar shock. 😉

  5. I thought about you when I heard about the huge snowfall in Flagstaff. Glad you got out in time. Sounds like you had a very relaxed holiday.

    Happy New Year!!

    • Thanks LB. We would have been stuck there for days it sounds like. It was a very relaxing time and very much needed. 🙂

      Happy New Year to you too!

      • I am also glad you got out first – it is mountainous there, right, in Flagstaff? That is not good for driving in snow. I remember when I was in AZ it snowed in Flagstaff. It was hot in Vegas, and then the day after we flew out…it snowed in Vegas.

        • It sure is. We thought about staying somewhere overnight but we would have been stuck there all week if we did. Funny that you mention snow in Vegas. I guess they got a few inches of it last night from what I saw on the news.

  6. Yea, I’m so excited that you have a working camera that is wonderful.

    It was so cold here today our high was like 32 and it was 28 at 5:30 pm. Way too cold for me.

    Glad your Christmas was great and your NY sounds wonderful.

    • Yes, now I’ll be able to go out on more picture taking excursions with you this year!

      Brrr! Its been way too cold here for me too. Luckily we know that it can’t last long. 🙂

      • Our heat pump just can’t get the house very warm it is just too darn cold right now but htin morning we were up to the low 20s, better than yesterday’s 14 degrees.

        Love to do another photos shoot with you just let me know when you have the time.

        • I heard its supposed to warm up. Let’s hope it happens sooner rather than later. Us desert dwellers just aren’t used to this kind of thing. 😉

          Another photo shoot would be great! I’m free most weekends. I would love to find a ghost town somewhere. I bet there would be many photo ops there.

          • Hmm, I have a book on AZ ghost towns…I’ve been to Ruby but it would be a drive for you. Let me do some research to see if there is one close to both of us.

            • Okay, that sounds great! I’m already looking forward to it. 🙂

              I just looked Ruby up and it looks like it is south of Tucson. If there isn’t anything more local for the both of us then I’d be willing to make the drive there.

Leave a Reply

