January Bake Quest #3 – Happy New Year!

Well the suggestions are in and things are definitely leaning towards the healthy side.  Here’s what we have for the three ingredients to work with this month: 

  • Spinach

            -OR-

  • Mushrooms (lets see how much fungus is among us! —
    Bad, I know I know)

            -OR-

  • Almonds

The rules are to make a recipe using one of the ingredients above.  We choose from three separate ingredients due to allergies, items not in season or unavailable in certain areas, etc…

When posting your recipe, include any helpful hints you may have found, like for instance, say a recipe says that it yields a certain amount but you found that it produced more or less, etc…  Also, give credit to the recipe provider.  It doesn’t matter if it’s your great aunt’s recipe or it came from a cook book.   If you’ve stumbled across this page and would like to participate, please leave a comment and I’ll add you to the blog roll.

There are kudo points for those using a recipe given to them by a relative.  Thanks Maureen for the idea!

10 thoughts on “January Bake Quest #3 – Happy New Year!

  1. […] Here’s my entry for January’s Bake Quest: […]

  2. I guess spinach mushroom quiche is just too predictable.
    I know – I have a great recipe for Mushroom Stroganoff…

  3. Simple spinach

    Heat up a large frying pan over medium-high heat and add a swirl of olive oil. Wash and dry baby spinach leaves, at least four cups, since they will reduce in size more than you think. When the oil is shimmering, toss in the spinach and stir until it just starts to wilt, about two minutes. Squeeze in the juice from one half a lemon, sprinkle salt and freshly ground pepper, toss, and serve.

    It doesn’t get much easier or faster than this and you will quickly become a fan of wilting!

  4. Oh! I just saw this. I cooked silverbeet for dinner tonight – when I was growing up we called it “spinach” – no-one knew what the salad spinach leaves were back then.

    • Silverbeet huh? I’ve never heard of spinach referred to as silverbeet. I thought it just came all mushy in a can when I was growing up. LOL. Glad I have found out otherwise. 😉

  5. This sounds like heaven on a plate!
    I love spinach and mushrooms. let’s see what I can do. 🙂

Leave a Reply

