Tragedy In Tucson & Weasel Update

This has probably been the longest I’ve gone without posting in some time.  Between caring for a sick ferret and the deluge that often hits in January at work, it hasn’t left much time for much else.

Its been a strange time to be an Arizonan.  Most I’m sure at this point are aware of what went down here in Tucson this past Saturday.  It was a sad weekend.  I heard on the radio yesterday that the Westboro Baptist Church was coming here to protest at the little 9-year-old girl’s funeral tomorrow.  I mean what the hell is there to protest about that?  Seriously.  Our governor was taking measures to sign into law a bill that would prevent picketers from being present within 300 feet of a funeral for an hour before or an hour after the funeral.  This, I believe, is one of the few things she has gotten right since taking office when Janet Napolitano left for the White House.  As of today though the church group has decided to not attend the little girl’s funeral.  Apparently they worked out a deal with a Phoenix radio station to broadcast their message of hate because they thought they could reach more people.  They will however picket at memorial services for the other victims.  Why?  Your guess is as good as mine.

I have been unnerved for a long time by what has been gone on as normal in this state.  It is just plain wrong.  Did you know that Ethnic Studies were banned in Tucson schools last week?  When people in power disguise bigotry and hatred into their agenda, there will be those that feel justified in their actions.  If violent images are used on websites, whether they are just there to prove a certain point or not, it does not take away from the fact that it is still a violent image.  While most wouldn’t look at that and have it lead to violence, there are those out there that might.  While an image can’t be blamed for such acts of violence, those in power have a moral responsibility to represent themselves, and their actions and beliefs in a more worthy manner. 

Monsoon (aka: The Weasely One) was still at the vets until Saturday.  She suffered a seizure on Thursday in addition to her initial attack on Wednesday.  My husband and I went in to see her where she seem to be in a catatonic state.  The vet suggested that we wait until the afternoon to call to see how she was doing.  I gave her a few scritches under the chin and was surprised to see her regular response of wrapping both front paws around my finger.  We decided to set up a hospice environment at home to see how things go.  I honestly was expecting the worse.  The vet feared she was blind and she appeared to have also lost the use of her hind legs.  I tend to think the worst in most cases anyways.  Its something I need to work on.

Last Thursday - Post Seizure

As you can see, she was in good hands.  She was laying on a velour blanket and covered by a crocheted pink & blue blankie. 

We went back to the vets on Saturday afternoon and were placed in a little room to wait for her and the doctor.  An Aide brought her in where she was tucked into her polar fleece sleep sack, her paw bandaged up from where the IV was.  She appeared very bright-eyed and had her head sticking up out of the sack.  That was surprise Number 1.

We got her home and set her up with her blankie, food and water.  She indeed was having a hard time with her hind legs.  Even to eat she would lay on her side and just hang her head in the bowl.   I started propping her upright and she would maintain her balance for a bit before plopping down to the side.  It really appeared that her right hind leg was the bad one.  I started massaging it and also pressing against her paw.  They seem to have a natural inclination to press back.  She was pressing back weakly but pressing back nonetheless.  

Surprise Number 2 came later that day when she decided she was going to explore the house whether the legs worked or not.  She was pretty quick, too!  The front paws did most of the work while she maintained on her side with her hind legs still manoeuvering her forward.  Hubby and I watched in amazement as she worked her way through the house.  One odd thing though was that she didn’t seem to recognize that she was in her own home.  She bumped into walls and got stuck behind furniture.  She knew who we were though.  She recognized our voices and came when her name was called.

By Sunday night she was back to walking on all fours. 

Over the past couple days she has improved so much.  I’m not sure if she’ll ever completely recognize that she is in her own home but the lights seem to slowly be coming back on.  I had turned the shower on a few days ago which is a sound she usually loves because she knows a drink is in store.  She didn’t have much of a reaction to it.  Today though it was as if something clicked.  She stood in front of the shower looking somewhat puzzled as if to say, I know there was something about this that I liked.  Now what was it? 

She is on three different medications.  Two of which I believe will be temporary.  She must be feeling better because she fought me with such vigor over my trying to get the syringes in her mouth that I ended up wearing half of it.  Instead of the Weasely One I’m thinking I should start calling her Tenacious M.  My fingers will still be crossed though for some time to come.

21 thoughts on “Tragedy In Tucson & Weasel Update

  1. I’m so glad Monsoon is making strides to recovery! 😀

  2. I wonder what it is going to take before weapons in private hands will be prohibited in your country. I mean – it’s so obvious, every country that has had a law against has been living peacefully until things got slack and it is easier to get your hands on weapons. I only have to look back home to Germany. Things that have happened there the past 5 years – wouldn’t have happened before.
    And we have to face it our society is getting more violent (again?). Also nobody can’t tell me it is not because of what we are exposed to of violence every day (tv, movies, internet, games etc). We are desensitized more and more. I notice that things I couldn’t look at years ago – I can watch now without flinching. But I gladly have noticed too that there are things that I still can’t look at. And I purposely refuse to do so just to avoid becoming less empathetic.

    I am glad to hear that your little one is doing better. If she were human one would maybe say she had a stroke? Lot’s of it can be trained up again… 🙂

    • I agree! From what I read yesterday our state had laws in place that required anyone to have a gun permit before purchasing one and they also were required to attend gun safety classes. Our governor got rid of that and I’m not sure why. Now any yahoo can basically purchase a gun –no questions asked. Where I live I hear gunfire so often that it is common place. I am getting desensitized to it when I really need to be more vigilant. Like getting up and going to the center of the house when the shots are near, etc… And then calling the cops.

      The vets said they think it may have been a stroke but wasn’t 100% sure. Its interesting that you bring that up. It also makes me hopeful that she’ll be able to recognize things again.

  3. Good luck with the little guy.He looks comfortable – to me, at least.

    I join you in hoping that we can walk away from the insanity that’s becoming synonymous with our political system. I live in liberal Massachusetts, so I might be a bit protected from a lot of that. Let’s all hope that things get better from here, and that we’ve learned a lesson in the process. Even Glen Beck tipped his hat the Obama for the speech he made. I doubt that will last for long, but it’s something.

    • Thanks so much for the well wishes for my little weasel!

      I grew up in Massachusetts so it had definitely been culture shock here. There is still an element of the wild wild west here which I find bizarre. We live in the 21st Century but it’s like we are in the 19th Century mentality.

      It was a great speech. Whenever there is a tragedy we realize we should be better. That lasts about 2 months and then we are back to treating each other like crap. 😉

  4. I’m so glad to hear she’s recovering. I was worried!

  5. OMGosh….Weasely One has made such an incredible recovery. I’m so happy for all of you. She sounds so loving and fun.

    I thought of you when I heard about the terrible tragedy on Saturday. It’s got to be so different to actually be where it happened, lots more personal and lot’s more tragic.

    Take care.

    • Thanks LB. She really has and its been so amazing to see. She is a very fun little ferret. I got lots of ferret kisses this morning before work which just makes my day.

      Saturday was surreal. I live up in Phoenix so was a few hours away from it. My friend’s parent live in Tucson but were up visiting her over the weekend and not near where it happened. The poor parents of that little girl. I felt nauseous all weekend. President Obama spoke last night from Tucson and I thought he really did an amazing job at connecting with people.

  6. I’m so happy Weasel has come back home. It melts my heart to see him like that. What a harrowing experience. Thank God she is home safe with you and your husband.

    • Thanks Nena, I am thrilled that she is home and doing so well. Its so much more than I would have expected. I will never underestimate the power of prayer. And yes, thank God she is home.

  7. Oh I’m so glad she is home. I was worried when you hadn’t posted any update. I hope her sight comes back and she continues to improve.

    • Thanks Emjay. She’s home. I don’t know if she’ll ever be the same as she was before all this happened but she is doing so much better. I’m so grateful to have her home. She doesn’t appear to be suffering of anything but her memory isn’t the same. Hopefully that’ll come back too.

  8. Oh GOOD!! Is she having issues with her sight, and if so does this explain some of her behavior do you think?

    • I’m sure it does. I did notice last night though when she in the kitchen that rather than bump into the oven she turned a few inches before hitting it which leads me to believe some of her sight is coming back. I’m hoping this blindness is as temporary as the hind leg weakness. Time will tell.

    • LOM, I tried going to your blog yesterday (great site, btw!) and am able to comment where I’m not registered on that blog site? It looks like other WP people are so I thought I’d check. It looked to me that I would have to create a site to get in to comment.

      • Yep, it’s a lot like Vox – you’ve got to have an account to comment. Sorry. Those ex-voxers that are commenting either have livecloud blogs or have done me the wonderful honor of signing up so they can comment.

        Thanks for the compliment. 🙂

  9. elizabethfrank123

    Glad to finally hear some news on Monsoon. I told you she’d be back soon. Hope everything stays on track and she’s back to good health soon

Leave a Reply

