Abby & The Weaz Go Camping

Abby is a seasoned professional when it comes to camping.  Where the Weasely One can no longer stay by herself at home, she got her first taste of camping this weekend.  Friday evening we packed up and met hubby in a small town southwest of Phoenix called Gila Bend.  The Weasely One slept most of the way but when the radio no longer came in and I was forced to put in a MGMT CD she suddenly woke up and felt the need to explore the car.  She’s always been a fan of music.  Luckily this was short-lived and after a drink and a snack she fell back to sleep for the remainder of the trip.

Contemplating a nap or breakfast while Abby watches on.

  While Abby knows the whole camping drill, the Weasel had to adjust a bit.  I had her barricaded next to my side of the bed in the camper.  She woke up once in the middle of the night and was a bit restless.  After a few scritches and cuddles she settled back down but was happy to cuddle in bed with me for the last two hours of sleep.

 

 

A nap appears to have won out.  Ah, but fickle is the ferret mind.  Two seconds later she emerged from her carrier and was parked in front of the food bowl.

We left for breakfast soon after and ate at a kitschy restaurant called The Space Age Diner that featured astronaut and alien decor as well as a giant spaceship on the roof.  The girls napped in the car and got ready for the adventure ahead.  We were visiting yet another petroglyph park!

The four of us were all set for a visit when we came across this…

Which lead to this…

Poor Abby.  She was rewarded with a long walk in the desert though where she had to wait in the car.  The Weasely One however, thoroughly enjoyed herself.  There were no signs prohibiting weasels so we took full advantage!

 Although she can no longer take in the sights through her eyes, I’m quite certain she could feel the sun on her back and the wind through her whiskers.  She squirmed to be let down and she dug in the sand and sniffed everything around her.  She enjoyed walking around the rocks outside the petroglyph area.  I was half expecting a park ranger to come by and reprimand me for bugging the ‘ground squirrel’  ;-). 

These petroglyphs were among the clearest I’ve seen.  They were carved into the rock by Native people living in the area 12,000 years ago. 

 

How many of these symbols can you see below?

There is a nest at the top of this old tree stump.  It appears that there was some chicken wire added to the top to keep out hawks and other predators maybe? 

This area is somewhat desolate and full of beautiful desert for miles and miles.  We arrived home the next day full of a sense of peace and with a longing to go back.  Next to the petroglyph park is a small campground.  There are no hookups for electricity and water.  This would be desert camping at it’s best.  I see a future trip for man and beasts alike.

22 thoughts on “Abby & The Weaz Go Camping

  1. The picture of Monsoon had me thinking exactly what you wrote before I read down that far … I just bet she loved the sun on her back : ). It also made me stop what I was doing, get up, and go hug Vin : ).

  2. This sounds so wonderful. I am glad to hear you had a great time. I love the picture of the “weasly one” with the rocks in the background.

  3. Ha taking a Weasely One camping you are a hoot! Where is the park? The petroglyphs are amazing.

    Is Weasely One’s sight loss recent..sorry I’m so behind in reading my WP friends posts. Sorry to hear of her blindness.

    • Hi Maureen, she did quite well for his first time. The Park is located at the Painted Rock Petroglyph site off of Rte. 8 in Gila Bend. They were very easy to see where as some places they are up so high that it is difficult to make them out.

      Yes, my Weasel just went completely blind after an attack that was followed by a seizure earlier this month. She has made a dramatic recovery but was left with no eye sight. Whatever happened to her knocked out the neurological connection between her brain & her eyes. The vet said she may regain it. I’m hoping she does. She seems to be getting around okay though

  4. Congratulations, Monsoon!! 🙂 you’re a good responsible pet owner. All they are looking for is our affection and companionship.
    I have always take my dog on vacations.

    Weasel and Abby are soooooo adorable!

    Amazing Pictures!

    • Thanks Zoom. She (the weasel) will be accompanying us on most trips from now on. I think I may have created a monster though with all the extra attention she has been getting. Every hour last night she sat under my side of the bed and either scratched at the wall or my magazines to get my attention. Needless to say I am so tired today! 🙂

      I think they are pretty cute too but of course I’m a bit partial. 😉

  5. How fun! That’s amazing that you got to see that! Maybe I’ll have to come through Arizona sometime just to see those. I’m glad you had fun!

    • There are lots of areas out here that have those. I remember the first time I stumbled across some while hiking. I was in awe. If you do make it out here please let me know. 🙂

  6. I love the desert and I miss it very much. I remember the petroglyphs from when my son and I had our SW adventure.
    Well done with the weeze and visiting the park! No dogs my arse.
    Sounds like a lovely weekend holiday.

    • I’m sure you do. I feel so renewed after a stay in the desert. Lots of good energy. Aren’t the petroglyphs just amazing?

      The Weasel definitely enjoyed the park. It was so nice to see her so happy after she had been so ill. Poor Abby. We were going to just bring her in anyways but decided against it. It was such a great impromptu weekend. You never realize how much you need it until you are away. 🙂

  7. Awww poor Abby. At least she got a nice long run in the desert first. It’s so good to see the weaselly one is doing well. 🙂

    I shall HAVE to go see those petroglyphs next time I am out that way. They are awesome!

    • The ones in the Valley of Fire are fab too. And the colours…you will have to photograph it. So amazing.

    • Yes, we are trying harder to give her more attention because as you can imagine, we’ve really showered Monsoon with lots of attention lately where she had been so sick. Monsoon is doing amazingly well. When we brought her home a few weeks ago from the vet I really thought it would be the beginning of the end. I’m just so shocked at her recovery. So thankful too.

      Well please let me know if you do make it out this way. 🙂

  8. elizabethfrank123

    The pictures are fantastic Jenn, especially the one of Monsoon 😛
    It sounds like a lovely day out for you all.

    • Thanks Bess. She was so happy that day. It was nice to see where she had been so sick.

      It was a great day. I have to remind myself to spend more time out in the desert. It’s so peaceful. 🙂

  9. What a great adventure. The pictographs are so fascinating. What’s the average size of the graphs?

    The pic of The Wesley One in the sun is awesome!!!!

    • Aren’t they neat? I could stare at them for hours. Each one is different but I’d say they range from several inches to a foot or two. No one seems to know what they mean exactly but I have a feeling that where they are so sacred to the Native people in the area that it is kept secret to the rest of us.

      Glad you liked that pic of my little Weasel! My husband said it looked like a wildlife shot. My inspiration actually came from you and Sailor Babbo. I was trying to make it look like she was looking at the petroglyphs but I couldn’t position her at first so that her ears would show. So then I had to turn her to the side to get the shot. Its hard to believe she was so ill a few weeks ago.

  10. geocacherinkerstin

    wow great shots about the stones…and Abby is cute. I like your header/banner also.

    • Thanks Kerstin. I went to a different petroglyph park last summer and the markings on the stones were so far away. We could barely see them. This park was much better.

      Thanks for the compliments on Abby. She is a good dog.

Leave a Reply

