Meringue Cookies (For Emmy)

Meringue Kisses

Ingredients

  • 3 egg whites
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1/4 tsp cream of tartar
  • dash of salt
  • 1 cup sugar
  • food coloring (optional)

In a mixing bowl beat egg whites, vanilla, cream of tartar and salt; on medium speed until soft peaks form.  Gradually add sugar, two tablespoons at a time, beating on high until stiff peaks form, about 5-8 minutes.  If desired, divide batter in half and fold in food coloring.

Drop by rounded tablespoonfuls 1-1/2 inches apart onto lightly greased baking sheets. 

Bake at 275F for 30-35 minutes or until firm to the touch.  Immediately remove to a wire rack to cool.  Store in an airtight container.

Yield: 44 cookies

Taken from The Ultimate Cookie Collection, published in 2006.

(Emmy, does this sound like the one you made in highschool?)

12 thoughts on “Meringue Cookies (For Emmy)

  1. geocacherinkerstin

    I never can make this-I´m to silly in this things….sigh….

  2. LOL – I just had a thought – maybe she bought them and told us she made them.

    • Ha ha! My grandmother used to do that, too. I remember her picking up a package of Archway Cookies and serving them to guests claiming she had baked them. She was quite a character.

  3. My mum, who was not a cook as well as did not want to be, did bake these, with chopped pecans added, and called them divine something or other.

  4. This recipe sounds quite delicious and I will definitely have to try it!

    • Please let me know what you think. I have gotten many good recipes for cookies out of this particular cook book and would be curious to hear if this one is just as good as the others.

  5. Aw, thank you!! It does sound just like the recipe – I don’t remember the cream of tartar but I was in 6th grade so I certainly could be forgetting part of it. We have to buy a mixer and mixing bowl (it’s on my birthday list!) so I will definetly try this recipe and post the results. Thank you! 🙂

    • Yes, the purchase of a mixer and bowl may not be a bad thing. If you have to stand there with the mixer going for 5-8 minutes just think how long you’d have to stand there mixing it by hand. LOL.

      You’ll have to let me know when you try it. I’d be interested to hear if its the same recipe from your childhood.

      • Tried it. Ended badly. I was so optimistic, LOL. We need a mixer desperately. The ones I made when I was little were gooey and delicious. I’ll definetly let you know.

      • Ended badly, I meant whipping by hand, not the recipe! LOL!

Leave a Reply

