Another Race Down

Saturday morning was the Nun Run.  It was sponsored by the Sisters Of The Poor Clares, hence the name.  I had planned on doing the 5k and Athletica had signed up for the 10k.  Saturday morning hubby got up early with me and he, Abby and I traveled down to a local park where the race was being held.  Athletica was already there.  Her race started before mine so she headed off to hers first.  I joined the throng doing the 5k at the top of a grassy hill.  A guy with a mohawk blew a horn and we were off.  A woman near me stumbled and luckily a man caught her before she fell.  That could have been disastrous.

The race brought us down to a canal where participants ran for a little over mile.  Then we cut across a grassy area, went under a bridge and up onto a sidewalk before cutting through a baseball diamond.  After the first mile and a half I was just feeling… off.  It was like hitting a wall or something and I just didn’t feel quite up to par as past races.  I continued this run/walk for most of the race.  It was a warm morning and we ran by a man-made lake with paddle boats tied up to the dock.  Mallard ducks mooned me while they fed.  I had to chuckle at how funny that looked and semi-wished I had a camera. 

Before the race I had grabbed a bottle of water.  The label on the bottle read Phoenix Catholic Cemeteries & Mortuaries.  I had this silly thought that if I happen to keel over in the race then they’d know where to send me once they pried the bottle out of my cold hands.  LOL. 

I ran the last 1/2 mile to the finish line and was just happy to finish.  I did it in 38 minutes which I think was the same time as last time.  I wondered later if I could have pushed myself harder to run when I was walking.  It was just an off day.  It’s gotten quite warm here so even for early  morning it was warmer than normal.  We waited for Athletica to finish and she said she had struggled, too.  She also blamed the heat.  The last two races were during the Fall so were quite chilly and more appropriate for running.

While we stood talking a cheer came up from the crowd.  One of the nuns, dressed in full black habit and running shoes, was crossing the finish line.  Her rosary beads were swaying in her sash.  You don’t see nuns in full habit these days.  There were several young women nuns who were running.  It was very different to see as I’m quite used to the Sisters of No Mercy (thanks Flamingo Dancer for this term.  They were stationed in my area too) dressed in normal attire from my childhood days in Catholic school. 

All in all it was a good race.  While my time wasn’t horrible, I felt like I could have done better.  In my age group I placed 31 out of 84 runners which isn’t bad.  Due to the terrain though I felt like I had been beaten with a baseball bat yesterday.  I was achy all over.  Today seems to be better.  So there it is.  Another race down.  🙂

25 thoughts on “Another Race Down

  1. I’m so proud of you…I could never do a race like this…it would have been fun to see the nun racing. I also went to Catholic schools and the nuns there wore full habits.

    • Thank you so much Maureen. It took a long time to build up the endurance and then even longer to maintain it. I didn’t realize you had been to Catholic school too. It was surprising to see such young nuns at the race in full habits. My Mom went to Catholic school as well and it was the norm then as well.

  2. But you did it – and mooning ducks – that’s awesomeness : ).

  3. omg you do NOT want to see the name of a cemetery on the side of a water bottle when you’re running a race in hot weather! Too funny.

    Huge congrats, I’m in awe that you raced in the hot weather. I personally love that achy feeling after a race. It means you did good work and deserve a day at the beach. 😉

    • I know, huh? LOL.

      Thanks for the congrats. It was a bit too warm but not horrible luckily. I usually have some achey-ness after a run but this was really intense. I am still achey. It good be allergie related, too though.

      A day at the beach would be so nice! Here we are surrounded by beach –just no water. 😉

  4. Congrats! How many runs do you intend to do this year?

    Living in an area that has a majority of Catholics I’ve seen plenty of nuns – though never one with running shoes LOL

    • Hi Irony, I’m not sure yet. I’m going to do one down in Tucson next month but that may be it until the Fall. It will be getting progressively hotter here as time goes on.

      Are there really a lot of Catholics in Norway? I never knew that. Yes, these were the first I’ve ever seen with running shoes too. LOL.

      http://www.desertnuns.org

      • Enough sweating through running? 😛

        There are actually very few in Norway. Most are Protestants. I was thinking of those years I’ve been living in a part of Southern Germany that is still very Catholic dominated.

        • Yes, lol, too much sweating. I’m still recovering from Saturday’s race and can’t seem to drink enough water. 😉

          I getcha. I wasn’t sure if you were talking about Germany or Norway. It would make sense that Germany would have a higher population of Catholics there.

  5. Awesome! I really admire you and your gumption.
    You know, I’ve never seen a nun. XD It’s amazing how someone could be that dedicated to their faith.

    • Thanks Alicia, its taken a long time to get to this point.

      Really? You’ve never seen a nun? Yeah, I thought that too when I saw them. They are all in their 20s or so, so I was quite impressed to see such young women that would even consider becoming a nun. Especially in the days now where being Catholic is not all that popular.

  6. Congratulations!!! You did it !! Yay! I knew you could! Good job well done.

  7. I am so impressed with you! Well done. The nun thing, LOL, very Monty Python.

  8. Ooooh I am sooo jealous. The Nun Run is featured in Runners world! and you got to run it!

    Sounds like a challenging course under not great conditions! Sounds as if your time was good…

    and to run with Nuns…well…priceless!

    • Really? I had no idea. I’ll have to go to their website and see if its there.

      It was definitely the most diverse course I’ve ever run. I guess 10k did the same track twice.

      There was a guy passing out water along the way and he kept yelling ‘Get your Holy water!’ It was really funny.

  9. Congrats!!! You did it and got mooned by the ducks too!!

    My husband ran the St. Patrick’s day race. I didn’t go but he had lots of fun and wasn’t nearly as worn out as last year, but was very stiff the next day.

    • Kudos to the hubby.

    • LOL! Yes, I actually thought of some of the pictures on your blog and what caption you would have used if you had a picture of the ducks. Its not every day one gets mooned by ducks. 😉

      Good for your Hubby! Glad it was fun. How you feel the next day really seems to depend on what kind of surface you are running on I am finding.

  10. It strolls to my movement with Taki.
    My blog is confused now.

    • Hello Toukou san. I am glad that you are okay after the earthquake. Taki seems to be okay too and it sounds like you may have taken him for a walk there.

      Is your Internet connection not good there because of what happened? Is that what you mean when you say that your blog is confused?

      • Problem of the Internet.
        I cannot renew the subscription blog.
        The photograph of my profile doesn’t take the place.

        Do you know the place where the “power spot” in Arizona stays?
        It pavilioned in the earth in the place, and it was in Kobe the acquaintance who had done “Had a bath”.

Leave a Reply

