Bake Quest #6 for April

Here are our choices for the month:

  • Strawberries (or papaya or mango)
  • Show us your take on meatloaf
  • A comfort food of your choice

The rules are to make a recipe using one of the ingredients above or to provide your own take on one of the items listed.  We choose from three separate ingredients or items due to allergies, items not in season or unavailable in certain areas, etc…

When posting your recipe, include any helpful hints you may have found, like for instance, say a recipe says that it yields a certain amount but you found that it produced more or less, etc…  Also, give credit to the recipe provider.  It doesn’t matter if it’s your great aunt’s recipe or it came from a cook book.   If you’ve stumbled across this page and would like to participate, please leave a comment and I’ll add you to the blog roll.

Please feel free to bookmark this posting.  Once you’ve posted your recipe for the month if you would like, include a link back to this page.  That way everyone participating can check out your creation.  Have fun!

8 thoughts on “Bake Quest #6 for April

  1. I love strawberries, but never buy them because out here, they look gorgeous and have zero flavor. We do have a wild strawberry patch near our house, but the pickings rarely make it home. 🙂

    Being a mostly-vegetarian, I really don’t do ground beef. But I did used to LOVE a good meatloaf in the day. Maybe someone will come up with a veggie version…

    Now, comfort food? I’m ALL over that! We’ll have something good.

    • I’ve also come across the whole strawberries that look great deal but taste like nothing. What’s up with that?

      I didn’t realize you were mostly-vegetarian but after thinking back to all your recipe postings I should have caught on. Tofu meatloaf perhaps?

      Well, I’m looking forward to seeing what you have for comfort food. I bet you got lots for this one! 🙂

      • I will incorporate bacon bits into lots of things for my husband’s benefit. And I’ll eat a good steak or pork chop or venison if it is presented to me. Otherwise, it’s just fish, eggs, and dairy!
        I have a recipe for a Croque Monsieur in Bon Appetit. That’s French for “heart attack on a plate.” I think that may be our entry…

        • Good for you! I bet you are so much healthier for it, too. I can’t get over how much cholesterol is in even lean cuts of meat.

          Croque Monsieur sounds great. I suppose anything that starts out with the word ‘Croque’ in it is bound to be a heart attack on a plate. 😉

  2. I love strawberries! Really, I do.
    Count me in! 😉

Leave a Reply

