Not Ready To Say Goodbye

Well, The Weasel has gotten progressively worse.  I called the vet yesterday to see if I could get her in earlier.  When I left for work yesterday I had tried to get her to eat one last time and she refused it.  She even pushed the dish away with her paw.  She did not want to be held either which is very much unlike her.  I left work early and brought a semi-conscious weasel to the vets.  They ran some blood tests on her and it was determined that in addition to her being dehydrated that her blood sugar levels were extremely low, which I thought was the issue.  We decided to go through with the surgery to heal her insulinoma.  The vet wanted to keep her overnight and monitor her before going through with the surgery.

Our vet is a really tall man and The Weasel looked so tiny, but safe, in his hands.  It was somewhat comforting to see.  They started her on IV fluids and glucose and also tried to get her to eat and drink something.  She has had to be hand fed.

I called about a half hour ago and the vet said that although she was stable, he didn’t think it would be best to operate on her right now.  She is still not eating and drinking on her own, and she has been unresponsive since I brought her in yesterday.  I knew yesterday when she didn’t want to eat or be held that she was really done.  She’s just had it. 

We are going to give her another 24 hours and see if she improves any.  If not then I’m afraid I will have to make that one dreaded decision that all pet parents face at one time or another.  Tomorrow night will be the night.  My heart is broken but I’m so grateful at the same time that I had the time between now and when she originally got sick back in January to enjoy her.  She had made remarkably progress.  Over the weekend I had wanted to bring her outside to play in the grass but didn’t where it had rained.  On Sunday afternoon I saw her getting ready to take a  nap.  As I was getting ready to do the same, I scooped her up and she fell asleep on me with her little head tucked under my chin. 

Well, what can I say.  I’m going to miss the hell out of her.  I woke up this morning after dreaming of a baby crying.  I didn’t take that as a good sign.  I may not post for a few days as I’ll probably be a blubbering idiot but I’ll catch up with you all when I can.

14 thoughts on “Not Ready To Say Goodbye

  1. I would like to send you something but I do not have your address or email as well as anything I mail from the UK will take two months to get there…I Wish also I had read this earlier. Take care, and only time will heal this. But you are strong.

  2. geocacherinkerstin

    so sad to read this….take care-I´m on your side!

  3. I hate to hear your lil’ ones has gotten so bad. I don’t know what I’d do if something happened to one of my lil’ ones. Hope you feel better soon! Take care.

  4. Sorry to hear that 😦

  5. I assume living and live. I am deeply moved by your love to the life.

  6. Oh, dear, I SO feel for you. I have tears in my eyes right now. We love them so much, and then they go away. I think it’s much harder than having kids. At least then, you have a reasonable expectation of them outliving you.
    Take care of yourself. Cry your eyes out. Remember to eat. Lean on hubby. Psychic hugs from your online pen-pals…

  7. Oh no! Our Weezelly ones send little nibbles and licks to you and your Weasely One.

  8. Oh honey, I’m sitting here literally dripping tears for you and Monsoon onto my keyboard. I know this heartbreaking feeling so, so well from having to make this decision for my beloved Weaz years ago. Ferrets are such precious, wonderful little creatures, and that their time with us is so short just isn’t fair. I am thinking of you and wish I could give you a huge real-life hug and be there to cry with you.

  9. I’m so, so very sorry. She is such a sweet little girl.

    Will be thinking warm and kind thoughts for all of you. Take good care of yourself.

  10. Oh dear, this is so sad. I loved your posts on The Weasel and she is in my thoughts. Hang in there, you will give her all the comfort she needs. Hugs to both of you.

  11. Oh Monsoon 😦 I am so very sorry to hear your sad news. Keep on keeping on. I will be praying for Weasel.

  12. ElizabethFrank123

    This is awful news to hear. Try to stay strong. It is wise to focus on the time that you have had with her. You have seen her strong spirit trying to pull through for you but perhaps it’s gotten too much for her, maybe she needs you to let go. I feel certain that she’s grateful for all that you’ve done for her.
    My thoughts are with you, Jenn.

  13. I’m so sorry. 😥

Leave a Reply

