April Bake Quest #5: Turkey Meatloaf

  This is by far one of the easiest and tastiest meatloaf recipes I’ve ever gotten.  It is a variation on a Weight Watchers recipe that I’ve made my own.

 Ingredients

 1 lbs extra lean ground turkey (such as Jennie-O)

 1 box of stuffing, chicken or turkey flavor

 2 egg whites

 1 cup of water

 8 oz can of mushrooms, or fresh mushrooms

1 clove of garlic, diced

1/2 cup of diced onions

16 oz tomato sauce (use the canned, not jarred)

Dash of salt and pepper

preheat oven to 350 degrees.  In a large mixing bowl combine ground turkey, stuffing, water and egg whites.  Mix until thoroughly combined.  Add in the diced garlic and the mushrooms.  Mix.  (Here is where you can get creative.  Add in any kind of veggie.  Carrots go well.  I’ve even shredded an apple before and added to this concoction).  Fold out  turkey mixture into either a loaf pan or casserole dish.  Bake for 30 – 40 minutes. 

Add the can of tomato sauce to a sauce pan and heat.  Add in the onions and stir.  Add in a dash or salt and pepper.  Allow meatloaf to cool for 5 minutes before serving.  Top with the tomato sauce and serve. 

This recipe has become a staple in our house.  It is easy to prepare and best of all, the leftovers taste even better the next day!

17 thoughts on “April Bake Quest #5: Turkey Meatloaf

  1. Just coming back to add a note…I just printed this recipe up for a friend and have one baking in the oven!!! thanks for sharing this one!

  2. […] Turkey Lasagna this week!   I got the recipe from my Word Press neighbour Akamonsoon….Here is the recipe.  It was really really easy to prepare and was so so tasty.  I’ve been eating […]

  3. I’ve actually got it in the oven now. I used turkey stuffing, and whole eggs rather than just the whites, as also some papricka…stew veggies…it looks very colorful. I can not wait to eat it.

  4. I made turkey meatloaf muffins with mashed sweet potatoes on top once. And they were a big hit with my grand kids. This sounds like a yummy recipe, I would love to give this one a try. 🙂

    • I hope you enjoy it if you do try it. It is incredibly easy to put together and it doesn’t take long to cook either. It’s perfect for an after work dinner.

  5. geocacherinkerstin

    I think I´m a bad cook-only Thai-food….I think this is to difficult for me 😦

  6. Hmm of course! I was like baking – meatloaf? kind of didn’t think of that concept. But sure it’s baked too LOL

  7. I love meatloaf, mash potatoes, gravy and green beans. Comfort food! I put a wee bit of finely grated parmesean in my loaf.

    • That is totally the best comfort food! Hands down. Parmesan sounds really yummy in it. That is the neat thing about meatloaf is that you can experiment with it and 99% of the time its going to turn out good.

  8. I want to make this! It sounds nice and uncomplicated and the stuffing…in with the turkey, yummers!

  9. That’s a great idea. I’ve had turkey burgers before and they’re divine, but not turkey loaf. I love it – thanks for this recipe!

Leave a Reply

