They’re Growing Up Too Fast

 This was taken on a trip back east to visit my family.  We had taken a trip to the local mall and they had one of those photo booths.  This is me with my niece.  She is a teenager now and just received her driver’s license this year.  She is my only blood related niece and she is the first born.  I remember when she was born feeling overwhelming in love with her.  I guess you never know how much you could ever love another human being until a child comes into your life.  Its almost scary.

I believe we shopped that day for school clothes.  My sister was with my nephew who was maybe 5 or so at the time.  When my nephew saw the picture here of me and my neice, he of course wanted to have one too, so back to the other side of the mall we returned.

What I love about these pictures is that they’ve so perfectly caught each of their personalities.  My niece is more reserved.  She is a thinker.  I can see that in this picture.  She is very big into softball these days and even gave up a trip to Florida because she didn’t want to miss a game.  Talk about dedication!

My nephew, now in his early teens is big into acting now.  He is the life of the party and when he landed the role as Wilbur from Charlotte’s Web, he told me he had finally gotten his ‘big break’.  LOL.  I love the joy on his face in the last picture.  It is so complete.  We as adults should be so lucky to smile like that and have it be natural. 

The two of them have been two of the greatest joys in my life and they are my hope for the future.  I keep these pictures on a bulletin board in my laundry room.  I remember that day so well.  I look at them and think, my, time is going by so fast.  They have grown up so much.  And man, I look so different from those days, too!  I suppose I’ve done some growing up since then as well.  At least I hope I have.

This June I will go to visit them and hope to take in my niece’s softball game and also to go to an amusement park with my nephew where we’ll ride roller coasters and eat pizza all afternoon.

16 thoughts on “They’re Growing Up Too Fast

  1. Photo booth photos are always so much fun. My youngest is 6 months away from turning 22 – where did those years go!!!

    • They really are so much fun. Time does fly by. My birthday was recently and when I told my Mom I was now 43 I thought she was going to go into shock. LOL.

  2. ElizabethFrank123

    Great pictures! 😀 I’m sure you’ll have a great time when you seem them next.

    • Yes! My Mom just surprised me with an airline ticket to go out and visit them all next month. My nephew and I are already planning all the fun things we’ll do. Can’t wait!

  3. so cute and lovely photos i like them so much 🙂

  4. Such lovely pics of you and your beloveds!
    Everyone says that kids grow-up in the blink of an eye. I will not argue that! The truth, The whole truth, and nothing but the truth! 🙂

  5. Love those pictures! You look radiant and they are both adorable : ). They do grow so fast. Like you, I only have one blood-related niece. She’ll be 14 in June and that fact amazes me. Her thing is horses – she has a show on Sunday and I’m gonna scramble like heck to finish my piece for the contest by early Sunday morning so I can go. And I love the story of your nephew’s “big break.” Wilbur’s one of my favorite characters, ever : ).

    • Thanks Pam. You should see them now. They are so grown up.

      I think I had just come back from a trip to Mexico so I’m very dark.

      How wonderful about the horse show! I hope you were able to make it. :)They love it when the aunties come to these things. My sister has recorded all my nephews plays so I told him we would have a movie marathon of him when I come out to visit.

  6. Cool pics. The growing up thing I first experienced with my cousins. When I was about to open the door and had my eyes locked about half a meter lower then usual eye contact in my height to greet my younger cousin. And when I physically opened the apartment door he looked almost straight into my face LOL

    Same thing just a few months ago when my former Au-Pair mother came buy with the youngest kid.
    I hadn’t seen her for over 10 years… Man, I started feeling old at that moment.

    • Isn’t it amazing how fast they grow? Friends of mine have a daughter that I swear gets taller each time I see her. I want to say slow down! You’re making me feel old. LOL!

  7. geocacherinkerstin

    this shots are so funny cool and interesting-I love all the emotions on this shots-thank you for sharing 🙂

Leave a Reply

