Bake Quest #7 for May

The requests came in for this month that we focus on healthy recipes.  Here’s what we’ve got:

  • Eggplant
  • Salad
  • Nut butters

Let’s see what we can all come up with! 

The rules are to make a recipe using one of the ingredients above or to provide your own take on one of the items listed.  We choose from three separate ingredients or items due to allergies, items not in season or unavailable in certain areas, etc…

When posting your recipe, include any helpful hints you may have found, like for instance, say a recipe says that it yields a certain amount but you found that it produced more or less, etc…  Also, give credit to the recipe provider.  It doesn’t matter if it’s your great aunt’s recipe or it came from a cook book.   If you’ve stumbled across this page and would like to participate, please leave a comment and I’ll add you to the blog roll.

Please feel free to bookmark this posting.  Once you’ve posted your recipe for the month if you would like, include a link back to this page.  That way everyone participating can check out your creation.  Have fun!

19 thoughts on “Bake Quest #7 for May

  1. Here’s my entry for May’s Bake Quest #7 ……………
    http://zoom50.wordpress.com/2011/05/31/may-bake-quest-6/

  2. And here’s my second entry for salad:

    http://kimkiminy.wordpress.com/2011/05/19/bake-quest-for-may-salads

    It’s Shaved Asparagus Salad with Parmesan Vinaigrette. Light and delicious!

  3. […] will be my second entry for Monsoon’s Bake Quest this month. The recipe comes from Bon Appetit magazine. Who’d have thought asparagus could be sublime […]

  4. […] is my first entry for Monsoon’s May Bake Quest. My mom made up this salad. It is THE most delicious salad you’ll ever taste. I call […]

  5. Here’s my first entry for salad, and eggplant:

    http://kimkiminy.wordpress.com/2011/05/15/bake-quest-for-may-salads-eggplant/

    It’s the Best Salad Ever.

  6. I love eggplant and I’ve never tried it myself, plus it’s good for a light summer meal. Thanks so much – looking forward to reading more!

  7. what I should do i don’t understand ??

    post my recipe where ??

    i feel i’m lost 😀 i want sharing what should i do ?

    • Hi Rima! Post it on your own blog. At the bottom of your posting copy and paste the link to this page. That way anyone who goes back to it can easily see what you made.

      All you have to do is take one of the items listed, for instance, this month is salads, eggplant or nut butters, and find a recipe that uses one of the items. Make it yourself and then post the recipe to your blog to share. 🙂 Include any extra instructions like if it made more than what the recipe called for or if you found you had better results cooking it a shorter or longer time, etc… If I can explain more let me know and I will email you. 🙂

  8. geocacherinkerstin

    I love salad in all creations…it is good food for the summer-have a nice sunday… 🙂

  9. I am a huge fan of eggplant so anything with them will thrill me. I’m planning to cook vegetarian stuffed eggplant. If anyone knows of a really good eggplant recipe, send it my way!

  10. I do not eat eggplant unless it is in moussaka, LOL. But I do love to eat salads in summer! I await your recipes.

    • It sounds like we should have a few for the summer from what I’ve read here. I have a very easy and healthy cole slaw recipe I’ll be submitting shortly. 🙂

  11. I will have a couple of entries for salad. One is from my mom, and I’ve made it for years. It’s called “The Best Salad Ever.” The other I just discovered and hinted at in the last spring bounty posting.

    Never been a huge eggplant fan, mostly because it can become oily or soggy so easily. But I have been playing with these adorable mini ones from the produce market… they’re just too cute and pretty to pass up.

    And I adore nut butters. But I’m too lazy to make my own. I just buy it. 🙂

    • Oh, that sounds really interesting Kim! Can’t wait to see what it is.

      I’ve only had eggplant in parmesan form or in moussaka that my Mom used to make. I know there are several ways to prepare it. I’m quite familiar with the little mini eggplants. 🙂 Where I do enjoy an eggplant parm from time to time I will sometimes whip up a batch just for me using the minis. Hubby doesn’t like eggplant so there’s just enough for me to have dinner for a few nights.

      I’m the same way with nut butters! I did try to make my own almond butter a few years ago and it turned into a disaster. :-S Therefore I just get it at the store too.

  12. I am excited. I am not a fan of Eggplant parm, the standard, and would love to find some nice healthy ways to prepare it.

    I will try to submit some sort of salad!

    • I look forward to seeing what you come up with! 🙂 I have a really easy and healthy cole slaw recipe that I’m going to submit soon. It goes great as a side dish for a summer meal.

Leave a Reply

