May Bake Quest: Ginger Slaw With Plums (Salad)

 This recipe came from Weight Watchers Magazine – July/August 2006 issue.  I’ve added some variations over the past couple of years which I will mention after I post the original recipe.  This is a great and colorful summer side dish that we enjoy with burgers and other items from the grill.

Ingredients:

1/4 cup rice vinegar

2 tsp canola oil

2 tsp grated peeled fresh ginger

1/2 tsp salt

4 cups cole slaw mix

3 plums, pitted and thinly sliced

1 cup shredded red cabbage

1 cup shredded carrots

2 scallions, sliced

Whisk together the vinegar, oil, ginger, and salt in a large bowl.  Add the cole slaw mix, plums, cabbage, carrots, and scallions; mix well.  Cover and refrigerated until chilled.

Here’s how I substitute: once when we were out of rice vinegar, I used red wine vinegar.  Truth be told it had a better flavor so I continued to use it instead.  Plums aren’t always in season so I have used cherries and most recently I threw in a cup of raspberries.  It was delicious.  Also, any oil will do.  I’ve used olive oil mainly when we were out of canola.  I also like my cole slaw a bit sweeter so I added 2 packets of Truvia to it.  Delish! 

https://akamonsoon.wordpress.com/2011/05/05/bake-quest-7-for-may/

16 thoughts on “May Bake Quest: Ginger Slaw With Plums (Salad)

  1. I think even I could whip this up 🙂 I’m copying it out to have when we have a backyard BBQ.

  2. This looks amazing and I bet thats how it tastes. I needed something quick and easy-Thanks! 😉

  3. I ‘m so hungry (I’m at work now 😀 )

  4. Hmm sounds good. Now I am also finally in a country again that makes it possible to get your hands on cole slaw. Yay! 😀

  5. OMGosh that sounds so good. I will have to try this one out for those hot summer days!

  6. geocacherinkerstin

    a another good recipe on your blog….I´m very silly in cooking things-only the Thai-Food, but you know it 🙂

  7. That sounds yummy! Do you know I’ve never tasted a pickle? But I love sour tasting food (is sour the right word? Duh, I’m drawing a blank on the various taste descriptions) and this sounds nice for an outdoor bbq.

    • Really? By choice? LOL. You are the first person I know (I think) that has not tasted a pickle! You would probably like this without the sweetner. The ginger gives it a tangy taste.

Leave a Reply

