Bake Quest #8 for June

Here’s what we’ve got for June (I love that we are mixing it up a bit):

  • Italian Food
  • Asian Food
  • Meals on a Budget

The rules are to make a recipe or provide your own take on one of the items listed above.

When posting your recipe, include any helpful hints you may have found, like for instance, say a recipe says that it yields a certain amount but you found that it produced more or less, etc…  Also, give credit to the recipe provider.  It doesn’t matter if it’s your great aunt’s recipe or it came from a cook book.   If you’ve stumbled across this page and would like to participate, please leave a comment and I’ll add you to the blog roll.

Please feel free to bookmark this posting.  Once you’ve posted your recipe for the month if you would like, include a link back to this page.  That way everyone participating can check out your creation.  Have fun!

23 thoughts on “Bake Quest #8 for June

  1. […] This is my second entry for Monsoon’s June Bake Quest: […]

  2. […] all about eating well on a budget for the foreseeable future, so here’s my first entry for Monsoon’s June Bake Quest, for budget […]

  3. I almost forgot, I saw on a cooking show years ago a way to stretch tomato sauce is add finely grated carrots. This only works if you cook your sauce for hours (as I do) on low heat. It also adds extra vitamins and thickens the sauce. I only add about a cup to a sizeable pot of sauce.

  4. The salad seems delicious 😉

  5. geocacherinkerstin

    all food looks very yummy…can I sit down on this table ? :-)Happy Friday for you and your family !

  6. I’m all about eating well on a budget right now, and for the foreseeable future. For budget and Asian, I’ll link back to my recently-posted Tuna with Ramen and Egg:
    http://kimkiminy.wordpress.com/2011/05/25/tuna-with-ramen-and-egg/

    But, there is a lot to be said about a really good baked potato. I will be posting more about that…

  7. I love the photos! The red checked tablecloth makes me think of a cookbook my grandmother had and the photos in it.

    • How funny! Mine had that one, too. I think it was a Betty Crocker cookbook.

      • That’s it! I had forgotten the name. The food looked so plastic, didn’t it? LOL
        I posted a recipe, it’s veg tempura. Did I do this right? Was I supposed to put it on my blog?

        • Yes! I remember browsing through it as a child and the food looked pretend.

          Yes, you did do the recipe right. I meant to comment on it the other day (I’m really behind on reading blogs right now). Most will place a link back to the Monthly Bake Quest page so that anyone looking at that page can see all that month’s entries but I think your blog is private anyways so you don’t have to worry about it. 🙂 I love tempura!

  8. Nice!! I could fudge Italian on a budget, but probably not Asian cuisine. So I look forward to what people find. I second the idea of giving credit. These days too many people say it’s not possible to steal a recipe, but really, it’s unfair at best to not give someone credit.

    • Yes, I agree. Italian is probably much cheaper than Asian. 😉 Imitation is the best form of flattery is what I say! I look forward to seeing what you come up with.

      • I do love Italian but Masha does not like it. But when he goes away for training (like he is soon) I break out he pasta (gluten free these days) the tomato paste, the crushed tomatoes, the oregano and a bay leaf, the garlic, the minced beef and go to town and eat it for days (I make a big pot of sauce). Also I make a big pot of chili, he hates chili. I use red and black beans, peppers, onions, and loads of meat (sorry, Em – but it is free range). Sometimes instead I make white chili with Navy beans, Fava beans, chicken and garlic and not much else. (good to sleep alone when you eat that for 3 days, LOL)

        • B, that sounds wonderful! Your house must smell wonderful. We have switched over to the whole wheat pasta because my husband is diabetic. And eggplant parm! Oh, that is so good! It is yet another thing that needs to be made when hubby is out of town. Heck, you and I could be roomates. I think we’d get along just fine.

Leave a Reply

