Tales On Tuesday

Well, my father-in-law is still hanging in there.  We went to visit him Friday night in the hospital.  Hubby’s sisters were there, too.  My FIL seem to be in pretty good spirits despite the fact that he can’t move or swallow.  Somehow this paralysis hasn’t effected his speaking or his sense of humor.  He begged all of us for a sip of water which we of course couldn’t do without the risk that would end up in his lungs and either drown him or give him pneumonia.  Please, he’d say.  Nobody’s looking. 

He had a roommate in the next bed and when the roommate’s heavy-set wife entered the room my FIL greeted her with a ‘Hi gorda!’  For anyone that doesn’t know what that means, ‘gorda’ is how you would describe a large female in Spanish.  We were pretty much mortified but if the woman understood Spanish she didn’t let on. 

We stayed for a while in the waiting area while other family went in to visit with my FIL.  I sat with my sister-in-law who told me she was no longer speaking with her 20-something daughter.  Said daughter has a child who just turned 1.  We were invited to the birthday party and SIL was not.  I didn’t dare tell her.  When the topic of the baby’s birthday came up I positioned myself so that my foot was closest to Hubby’s shin, lest he spill the beans.  Much to my relief this info was not forthcoming and Hubby’s shin was spared. 

Saturday brought the usual errands.  I am actually one of those people who enjoys grocery shopping.  To me I love the challenge of getting a deal.  I like to look online and find coupons in addition to the ones I cut out of the Sunday paper.  I read labels and just generally like to take my time going through the aisles.  Saturday was also hubby’s birthday.  We had debated on whether to go on with the scheduled dinner at a local restaurant due to his father’s condition but in the end he still wanted to go ahead with it. 

There were 8 people in attendance at a local steak restaurant that is located right near a popular resort.  It’s somewhat touristy but the food is good and the view is outstanding.  The entire building is made of heavy wood that has been branded with irons of all designs.  Wagon wheel lamps adorn the ceilings and the wait staff dresses like cowboys.  It’s somewhat kitschy but very fun.  On the menu was rattlesnake. We decided to try it.  It was okay.  Nothing to write home about.  And no, it didn’t taste like chicken.  😉  It sort of tasted like a whole lot of fried nothingness.  A friend said it tasted like fried okra to her.

A girlfriend of ours made a wine bottle-shaped cake and had the vintage listed as the year Hubby was born.  It was such a nice surprise for him.  While hubby was engaged in conversation I got the waitresses attention and advised her of the birthday.  Of course after dinner several other wait staff members came over to the table ringing a cowbell and singing Happy Birthday.  There were even a few ‘yee-haws’ thrown in for good measure.  Hubby got a cowboy hat to wear that featured a bandana of Arizona’s state flag wrapped around the top.  Towards the end of the night I leaned over and asked him if he was having a good time.  He smiled wide and said that he was having a great time.  It was nice to see him in such good spirits.

On Sunday hubby went to visit his Dad again in the hospital.  He didn’t seem to be in as good of spirits as he did at the beginning of the weekend. He begged hubby to take him outside.  Of course he couldn’t take him outside.  The doctors seem to think the paralysis is caused by a reaction from two cholesterol lowering medications.  They have since taken him off those meds.  It is unclear yet if he’ll recover and get the strength back in his body. 

Hubby didn’t seem happy after work yesterday.  I did my best to stay out of his way because he was not in a good mood.  I had to bite my tongue a few times to keep from saying something back.  He’s working lots of hours this week so I think it may be a good thing.  I’m trying to be understanding but man, this can be trying.

18 thoughts on “Tales On Tuesday

  1. That’s scary about the cholesterol drugs – I didn’t realize that was one of the side effects. I think when parents get ill it reminds us that we are not immortal… I like the sound of the birthday cake your friend made and I laughed at “Gorda”

    • I had no idea either. Now they are saying that they don’t really know if that was the problem or not. It is easy to take for granted that we won’t be here for ever and I think it is definitely a reminder of our own mortality when they start to get ill and their bodys fail them.

      It was a wonderful cake. I’m sure you do like it where you enjoy a good glass of wine as well. 🙂 That was pretty funny what my FIL said. He has always had a great sense of humor.

  2. I’m sorry that you and your husband have to go through this now. 😥 Just keep plugging away, and I’m sure that your husband will appreciate your support and comfort.
    I feel bad for your SIL and her daughter. I wish it never had to be that way…and considering that SIL’s father is dying, it is a terrible irony that her daughter would shut her out of her life.
    Keep at it!! (hugs!)

    • It is sad but it is inevitably a part of all ours lives. It is really too bad about my SIL and her daughter, especially right now. Hopefully they’ll be able to make amends soon.

  3. geocacherinkerstin

    I know you are a strong person and I think you make this way good…big hugs from here to there…to you 🙂

  4. Oh boy! Rollercoaster ride – is all I can come up with. I hate them. Sending lots of energy and hugs your way that you’ll be able to stay strong for hubby.
    And a happy belated birthday for him.

  5. I’m so sorry to hear about your FIL. I hope he’s making progress. I’m sure it’s got to very difficult for your husband. You sound like you’re a wonderful support.

    Take care.

    • Thanks LB. He is still in the hospital right now and has made a bit of progress. I guess they finally did give him a sip of water and he was able to swallow it okay. It has been very hard on my husband. The reality of it all really has hit him. I sure hope I’m being supportive in a way that he needs. Sometimes its hard to tell. 😉

  6. Hang in there. Don’t be surprised if he lashes out at you for no reason. Try not to take it personally.

    That’s funny about “La Gorda”!

  7. ElizabethFrank123

    It sounds to me like you’re doing the best you can, and that seems to be enough. Hubby will know that you’re there for him. Thoughts are with you…

  8. Oh Wow. hang in there Monsoon.
    I treated a man for a similar problem caused by cholesterol Meds. He did recover, but he also was not entirely paralyzed. THose cholesterol meds are not really something to be messed with.

    Sounds like the party was a good idea! It sounds like a great time.

    It’s going to be a tough couple more weeks. I sure do wish they would find a way to let your dad in law go outside for a bit. that would sure cheer me up if I were stuck in a hospital.

    How is your new ferret doing?

    • My Mother-in-Law was on the same meds and they took her off of them as a precaution. Its pretty scary that such a bad reaction can happen in people, They at first thought he had suffered a heart attack.

      The party went really well. I wish I had downloaded some of the pics from that night. I think it was good for my husband to be surrounded by his closest friends.

      Yeah, I think he is just bored in the hospital. He really misses home when he is away too long. Of course it’s in the 100s here now so I’m not sure he’d be happy out there once he got there. Even if they would wheel him around the hospital a bit I think he would like that.

      Smokey is doing great. Thanks for asking. I was going to try and weave her into this post but it got pretty long as it was. I will have to do another post on her soon. She has really adjusted to being in our home. At first she was a bit shy but once she learned that all the attention she was getting was a very good thing she definitely comes round for more. I don’t think she had anyone pay too much attention to her before we got her which is sad. But, those days are over for her and she will spend the rest of her days as a much loved, spoiled and pampered house pet. 🙂

      • I recieved another post from you in my email. but when i go to post on it it wont let me, says it is gone, or perhaps it is protected in some way.

        Anyway, I am still thinking of you and your family at this time.

        • Hi MG, I had posted something yesterday and thought it sounded off after I reread it so therefore deleted it.

          Thanks very much for the message here. I got it on my phone this morning. 🙂

Leave a Reply

