Friday Update

Things have finally settled down and we are getting ourselves back to normal.  Work has settled down, too which is always good.  I can’t really complain.  I work in a very peaceful setting with not a whole heck of a lot of people so I suppose a small upheaval helps to keep one on their toes.  The up side of all of this is that I was able to take on a separate writing job at my current workplace which is just great.  I will be paid by each document completed and where I love to write anyways it’ll be a bonus.  So that is the silver lining there.  🙂

Today I learned an important lesson on being clear with people.  A girlfriend of mine mentioned early last month that she was having a party for her birthday.  She asked a few of my friends to go and at that time they agreed.  So. . . a few weeks later the same friend having the party calls and says she has purchased tickets for all of us.  I was perplexed by this.  As it turns out she had decided to have her party at a hotel that was already hosting an event.  This part was left out.  Now two of the friends that were going to go have backed out.  I had no idea that this would be a paying event and neither did the friends she had me invite.  So now the friends have backed out and although I have a taker for one of the tickets she has made it clear that I am expected to pay for the extra one.  Luckily it is only $15 and not, say, $60.  So my friends, my lesson for the day is to be very clear and upfront about my understanding of the details of any event.  I will not let a mere $15 get between a friendship and I will let it slide.  This is a lesson learned. 

Well, I booked a ticket today to go to Florida to see my best friend in September.  We have not seen each in over three years now.  I am flying into the Tampa area and then we are driving to the Atlantic side to stay at my aunt’s condo on the beach near St. Augustine.  I cannot wait!  St. Augustine is just the perfect place for a girl’s weekend.  There’s a place for wine tasting plus just some great bars and restaurants.  Last time I visited I got a tattoo.  Who knows?  Maybe its time for another one.  (hubby may have something to say about that!)

  The other night I did a little bit of shopping with another girlfriend of mine who needed an outfit for the same party I wrote about above.  I’ve been on the hunt for a new bathing suit as the one I have is almost a decade old and is stretched out and fading.  I’ve been avoiding this task for a while but where I had arrived 30 minutes early to the store I thought, what the heck.  I’ll take my chances and try one on.  Well, it was a success.  I haven’t worn a 2-piece since my 20s and it was quite rewarding to put that sucker on and actually feel good in it (after driving all the way to the other side of town with no a/c in my car it also felt good to be semi-naked, truth be told).  When you’ve gone from a BMI (body mass index) of obese to a BMI of normal it is definitely an accomplishment.

Well, that is it in a nutshell.  Have a great weekend!

14 thoughts on “Friday Update

  1. ElizabethFrank123

    I hope you enjoy your trip when it comes around, it’s not long when you think about it.
    Personally, I say, get a tattoo!!

    • Thanks much. How was Malta? I hope to hear about your adentures soon!

      I may still get one. We’ll see. I’ve just seen some really bad ones recently so it has had me thinking twice about it.

  2. Well done on the two piece! That’s fantastic. I think my swimmers are a decade old – I’m not a water person though so don’t see myself getting a new one until the elastic ceases to hold me in LOL.

    • Thanks Emjay! Bathing suit shopping is never a fun thing. Mine was quite old too and I’ve been saying that I’m going to get a new for the past few years now. We don’t go in the pool all that often here, believe or not, so it doesn’t get too much use. Hopefully I’ll be able to get another 10 years out of the new one.

  3. Double and triple and quadruple congrats on the two-piece! That is quite an accomplishment and I’m both proud of you and inspired to keep on my own quest : ). Congrats on the writing side work too. I would love something like that for extra income, but of course all the extra writing I do for my employer is considered part of that whole “other duties as assigned” thing : ).

    • Thanks Pam. I’ve still been wearing my old clothes which are now baggy so it was kind of overwhelming to actually pull it off. I’m very excited about the writing. We were using an outside company but when that wasn’t working out anymore I asked my boss if I could take a crack at it. Luckily he agreed. Well, you are a great writer. I’m sure it will only be a matter of time before you start to see money rolling in from your writing.

  4. So glad you are going to get a fun treat – you go, girl. I can’t stand clothes shopping in general, it’s too stressful. I always say I wish the nice clothing would just appear in my closet, LOL. People are too odd these days, weddings and parties are over the top. I prefer free stuff, thank you, and yes, clarity.

    • Thanks Emmy. I am really looking forward to it. 🙂 Most of my clothes shopping is done online and then I just keep my fingers crossed that it’ll fit. So far so good. Wouldn’t it be nice if nice clothes did just appear in our closets? I like that idea.

      It was definitely a ‘note to self’ kind of weekend all around. 😉

  5. Sounds like you’ve had some good things going! Florida is going to be a blast for you! 😀 😀 😀 Now that you have that fabulous swim suit, you could go on the beach and sun bathe! (And you might have to make sure everyone could see that wedding ring of yours.) 😉

    • I’m really looking forward to it. I haven’t seen my bestfriend in 3, almost 4 years now. As far as sunbathing goes, I think there will be a trip to the spray-on tan booth before going, otherwise I may be blinding folks with my perpetual paleness and pasty palor. 😉 I am quite possibly the palest person in Arizona, believe it or not.

  6. You have learned a valuable lesson.
    Wooo hooo! Good for you! Have a fantastic time in Tampa, Monsoon. Enjoy the precious time with your family and friends making the best memories.

  7. Going to be great.

    The whole paying thing is just well, BIZARRE! I think you are handling it better than I would, but of course, 15.00 is not 60.00 and I would have probably paid it too. But so strange that she would not have thought to mention it.

    If you want to take a break and get together for a lunch on your way from Tampa to St Augustine, I’d be up to try it….

    • Yeah, it was really bizarre. The night went on to become more bizarre. The friend having the party showed up 2 hours later than what she said. My other friend and I left and went to get a drink at the hotel bar when we finally got a text that she had arrived. It was late at this point so I didn’t stay very long. Kind of a waste of a night. Expensive too. Yet another lesson learned.

      While I was writing this post I was thinking of you. I would love to get together! I’ll talk to the friend I”m visiting and see where a good meeting place would be. Also, I was going to suggest if you would like to come up to St. Augustine we could spend a day at the beach. Let me know your thoughts. It would be great to get together. My friend that lives there is also a runner.

Leave a Reply

