Witnessing A Comeback and Some Other Stuff

Last Saturday afternoon I took my mother-in-law to lunch.  Let me tell you that she has made an incredible bounce back from the death of her husband of almost 50 years this past June.  I arrived to find that the house and surrounding walls had been painted a bright cheerful yellow.  While my MIL got ready I sat and chatted with SIL1 who has been living there for the past several weeks.  Apparently they are headed to San Diego next week for a few days to get out of the heat.   SIL1 also let me know that MIL had purchased a bathing suit so that she could start taking water aerobic classes at the YMCA.  She is also going to be involved in a Silver Sneakers group which is exercise for the elderly.  I was so happy for her!  Later on in the day I mentioned to hubby that his Mom had purchased the bathing suit and he couldn’t believe it.  Even throughout the day he kept asking, “My Mom really purchased a bathing suit?”

Once at the restaurant MIL said she wanted to order a salad.  Where salads are all SIL1 is eating these days to meet her weight loss goals, I asked MIL  if she was trying to lose weight, too.  No, she said, I am perfect the way I am.   Indeed she is.

Hubby and I had talked about bringing MIL to Boston at some point.  When I brought it up to her, her only questions was, when?  So next spring/summer sometime I may bring her back with me.  She has never traveled that far north.  She asked if we could go to the beach.  I said we could go wherever she wants.  We are really seeing a side to MIL that we haven’t seen before and inside I couldn’t help but think, “You go girl!”

Saturday night was the birthday party that I had written about before where there was an issue with tickets being purchased before anyone knew there were tickets, etc…  Well, hubby ended up having to work so I went and met Athletica there.  We had all agreed to meet at 8pm in order to grab a free table.  I arrived about 7:45pm and Athletica arrived shortly thereafter.  As it turns out there were no tables to be had as they had already been reserved.  We each got a drink and then waited for the birthday girl to arrive.  8pm turned into 9pm and still no birthday girl.  We decided to head down to the hotel lounge and get another drink and an appetizer.  At 10pm I still hadn’t heard from the birthday girl.  I texted her that we were waiting over at the lounge.  At 10:40pm I got a text back from her saying she had just arrived at the party.  ???? 

After finishing our drinks, appetizers and a huge honking piece of chocolate cake, Athletica decided to call it a night.  I can’t say that I blame her.  I went back into the party and searched both ballrooms to see if I could find the birthday girl and her entourage.  I was just about to leave when I spotted her on the dance floor.  I stayed for about a half hour and left.  Between the misunderstanding with the ticket costs and also the waiting around I was really disappointed.  However, the place was beautiful.  I will say that.  There are some great resorts out here that I never frequent out of the simple fact that I live here.  The lounge was gorgeous, too, with a carved mahogany bar and all.  I wouldn’t mind going back there for drinks again.

Work has been going well.  I was able to hire two new contractors and one has already done some work for a client.  He is amazing.  The contractor that quit is finishing up projects from a few clients from a while back and then that should be the end of it.  He has been emailing my boss any of his completed work and has also kept me out of any conversations with our clients as well which makes it a bit difficult when a client calls with a question or a concern and I have no idea what they are talking about.  My boss has been forwarding me the correspondence which all seems kind of juvenile.  It makes me think of when my two sisters and I would be angry at each other while growing up and one would tell the other to tell me something even though I was right there.  I asked my boss if the contractor in question was upset about something else now and he said he didn’t think so.  Luckily this contractor only has three more clients to complete work for and he’ll be out of my hair forever.  

Last week I completed my first writing assignment and sent it off to the client.  I’m really excited about this.  Getting paid for it, too, was even more exciting.  I’ve been waiting for feedback from this client but he has been out of town.  I can hardly wait for the next.

16 thoughts on “Witnessing A Comeback and Some Other Stuff

  1. I’m so glad to hear that your MIL is doing well! Yay and praise God.
    Does a bad start have to mean a bad finish? Not all the time. But the case of the Birthday girl was one of them. 😕
    Glad to hear you are happy with the way things are at your current company. Keep up the good work!

    • Thanks Zoom. She is really doing great. We are thinking of asking her to go camping with us over Labor Day weekend. She and her husband had just been tent camping a week before he grew very ill. We have a camper because I of course am a wimp when it come to tents and ‘nature walks’ (it was fine when I was younger but not now). I have a feeling she’ll be up for it.

  2. ElizabethFrank123

    It’s so great to hear that your MIL is doing so well, good for her!
    I can’t believe you waited that long at the party! I would’ve been pretty angry

    • I’m really happy for her. Yeah, me either. I’m trying not to dwell on it but just to chalk it up as a lesson when making detailed plans with that particular friend. It was all around annoying.

  3. So cool about your MIL. I’m glad that she is moving on with her life and doing new things! 😀 😀

  4. Good for MIL. Everyone mourns in their own unique way. Getting back to living is so healthy.

    What exactly do you do for a living?

    • She is doing so well. It has been wonderful to watch.

      I work for a company that provides patenting services to individuals with an idea. We work with contractors such as graphic artists, engineers, marketing firms and a lawyer to get clients started. Its been a really neat job so far. I’ve been here for about 2 years.

  5. SOunds like things are moving along well!!! Craziness on the Bday party, I would have been SO so annoyed, but you seem to have enjoyed yourself no matter what…
    thanks great.

    • Oh, I was definitely annoyed. The whole purpose of going was to spend time with her on her birthday and she wasn’t even there. It was such a waste. Oh well. Lesson learned. At least I got to go to a beautiful place and get drinks with one of my friends. This was also a theme party so we had to wear all white which required some new clothes. So in addition to the tickets and all there was that. I just have to stop thinking about it. LOL.

  6. Congratulations on completing the writing project. Many years ago I was invited to a house-warming party. When guests arrived the girl was not there – she’d left a note to say she’d had a better offer and to enjoy ourselves! Weird!!

    Your mother in law is being wonderfully gutsy.

  7. What an incredible story. You go girl, to all of you! I don’t know what I would do if I lost my partner, but I’d hope I was half as adaptable as your MIL. And men don’t live as long…sigh. I’m perfect the way I am – I must remember that.

    I keep hoping you Westerner WordPressers will come out east more often – it gives me hope we can all hang out sometime. I assume you’ve been to Boston before? I don’t know your tastes but if you get to Cambridge, you must try the Helmund. Afghani food – best meal on the planet. Seriously. That food is made with serious love.

    I’m shaking my head about the birthday girl. Some people are just like that – but we don’t tolerate that nonsense. Both my boyfriend and I tend to leave after someone is 30 minutes late. And that’s only for the first strike. Chronic lateness? Forget it. I’m glad at least the venue was enjoyable.

    • She really is amazing. I think her faith is what keeps her going. I’ve never witnessed anything like that.

      I hope to be back east at some point before the end of the year. I think I may have mentioned before that I am from the Boston area. I was born and raised there and have lived in Arizona for 10 years now. My parents both live in the Worcester area and I have one sibling right in Boston. I’d love to meet up when I’m back! 🙂

      It was a pretty disappointing night. Many lessons were learned from it though. I probably should’ve just left. Yes, the place was beautiful at least.

Leave a Reply

