Another Week Down

I hope you are all enjoying the daily pics I’ve been posting here.  I wanted to do something fun in a series. 

As of today I still don’t know where the Smokester will stay while we are away camping next weekend.  I’m having lunch tomorrow with a girlfriend of mine who has a teenage son so I might run it by her first to see what she thinks.  The best part about it is she lives directly next door.  While I love camping it does require a lot of preparation.  We have the camper stored out of town because hubby had been using it while he was working a distance away.  This will require 1.5 hour drive to get it and then another 1.5 hours to bring it back.  In addition there is laundry to be done, packing and grocery shopping.  Hubby has been working really sporadic hours so add that into the mix and it makes it hard to prepare.  Nevertheless, it will all be worth it in the end.  This trip is usually a blast.  I have to remember to defrost a turkey we have to bring.  Yes, we eat very well on these trips.  Kim, if you are reading, I will be making your homemade cranberry sauce that you posted about last year.  I’m sure it’ll be a hit.

Last weekend Athletica and I were invited to join another girlfriend for a complimentary Thai kick-boxing class.  I was thinking this would be more on the lines of an aerobics class.  Wrong!  It’s funny how you can lull yourself into the belief that you are in such great shape until you try something different.  To warm up we had to do these jumps and then we had to place are hands on the floor while jumping our feet back and then forward.  Then you jump up in the air again and repeat several times.  After that you ‘bear walk’ to the other side of the mat where this is repeated.  A bear walk is somewhat like walking while in plank position. 

After several more repetitions of various calisthenics, we donned boxing gloves and Athletica and I, being the only two newbies, were directed to a row of punching bags while the rest of the class sparred with each other.  The instructor was kind enough to lend me his boxing gloves.  We did many routines of hits and kicks using, in addition to our fists, our elbows and shins.  Instead of the usual upbeat tempos I’ve gotten accustomed to at the gym, hard rock was blaring over the speakers.  In a sense it was perfect.

Mid-way through the punching and kicking the music stopped and we were directed to get onto the floor on our backs to do scissor kicks to work the lower abdominals.  While I’m used to the regular sit ups, feeling what can only be described as the sensation of wet tissue tearing apart in the lower abs equaled great difficulty in getting one’s butt out of bed for the rest of this week.

I must have thought I was Rocky or something because when Athetica mentioned she would be headed to our regular gym to run where we have a few races coming up, I thought that would be a spectacular idea.  I felt pumped then and already warmed up so I thought, what the heck? 

Fast forward to Sunday morning. 

I could barely get up and here it is a week later and I am still in pain.  My shins bruised from kneeing the punching bag over and over and they are now the color of bitter sickly yellow.  I really over did it.   It was really worth it though to step out of the regular comfort zone and try something new.  I will definitely go back but it may be a few weeks.  I’m waiting for my bones to knit first.  😉

Hubby and I have really gotten into the show Damages.  Anybody else watch that?  While documentaries are usually what I find myself tuned to and not so much to dramas (there’s enough of that already in a regular day), the acting in this by John Goodman is excellent.  I wouldn’t be surprised if he won an award.  Glenn Close and Judd Hirsch also star in it.

They have a pretty swell theme song too, that seems to stick in my mind throughout the day.  It reminds me of early U2 with the guitar harmonics and all.

Have a great weekend!

16 thoughts on “Another Week Down

  1. LOL about barely being able to move the next day. Doesn’t that feeling make you feel sort of ridiculous. Yes I watch Damages – I have watched it from the 1st season and really enjoy it – though I had to search the stations to find it this year!

    • So true! I felt like I was 90 years old when walking to the kitchen from the bedroom in the morning. LOL.

      Hubby just turned me on to Damages. Its one of the few things that we enjoy together on TV. Its getting really good now. Can’t wait to see what happens this Wednesday!

  2. I have always been interesting in kick boxing. You may have scared me off…LOL. But seriously, I do wish I had taken martial arts when I was younger. I know, I still can, I am not old by a long way. FIRST though, I am signing up for belly dancing starting next month. It has been nearly 3 years since I took a class, I had gotten quite good at it, even given some performances, and then life took off like a rocket in late 2008. (all good)
    Many kudos to you for doing this! Also I have heard kick boxing gives you some confidence if you are ever attacked. Not false confidence, but good kind where you are not afraid to punch someone who is trying to assault/kidnap/rape you, and it is effective. I know I am strong enough to knock the hell out of a man, I did it, twice, when I had to for safety. Not to be a fear monger, but we never know what can arise.
    I once took a yogalates class. Once was enough…it was the human pretzel class! I laughed so much as I fell over. The instructor got irritated with me cause then the other women started giggling at my laughing and struggling, and then laughing outright at one point when the intr. asked me what was my problem and I replied, “I think my tampon just popped out!” – which I meant. LOL

    • LOL!! The things we put up with after being blessed with womanhood, eh? Good point about attackers, I also learned that no matter how they grab, there is always a way to twist around or step a certain way and throw them off balance. Hugely helpful lesson.

      • That is true. I know the arm one. Also to pop someone in the side of the knee with your foot by swinging your leg out to the side then onto the side of their knee, is painful (to them) and will knock them off their feet.

    • Ohh! Belly dancing! How fun. Did you get yourself one of those scarfs with the jingling coins? You’ll have to post how you are enjoying it.

      The kick boxing class was really good exercise. I just wasn’t use to that at all. Hope I didn’t scare you too badly from wanting to try it. In time I think one could really get into great shape and build muscle if it remains part of a regular routine. And yes, the martials arts portion could really teach you to kick ass if ever attacked.

      You really cracked me up when you said that your tampon popped out! Ha ha! I had originally read that on my phone and burst out laughing. That is too funny. Years ago at an aerobics class a girlfriend of mine had the whole class laughing because she was making these exaggerated faces of exertion. I think I almost wet my pants from laughing so hard. The instructor was not happy with us at all.

      • I am sure the instructor was not happy with you guys but YOU guys were happy. LOL
        I was half joking about being put off…I do have a few jingly belts, some big long swirly skirts, a silk veil for veil dances, and I made a tribal top (instead of wearing a bra with sequins) for performances. I love bellydancing and it is great exercise, it really toned my midriff up and it is a joyful thing to do. Also skinny skinny is no good for bellydancing, you are needing some “jiggle”. It is such a celebration of womanhood. Maybe you should try it?

        • Oh, we were! LOL. This was years ago and this comes up quite often when talking with the same friends.

          How cool that you have all the bellydancing gear. I actually did take lessons about three years ago. They started off at the local YMCA and then the instructor got her own studio. It was a lot of fun. I would do it again. Years ago I was at a Chinese restaurant of all places and they had belly dancers performing that night. The dancers definetly weren’t toothpicks and they looked great. It was beautiful. One dancer even did a sword dance with a real sharp looking sword.

  3. Very cool that you’re trying such an intense exercise routine. You’re just using different muscles. It can be surpisingly brutal. Take some painkillers and be proud of yourself! I think people push themselves too hard at first but it’s worth it to keep trying (after you’ve healed, LOL)

  4. Haha. In aerobics we do “kick boxing” but apparently it’s nothing like that! LOL! I like to exercise to rock-and-roll music, it gets me energized. I haven’t seen Damages, but I saw some advertisements for it. It kinda scared me! LOL! (That is, if I’m thinking of the right show.) The camping trip sounds like it’ll be work it. I’m glad you have trailer, because I don’t like staying in tents! (Though I did for four weeks straight! But I also had a few conveniences that other tent-dwellers didn’t have.)

    • This was very different than any other kick-boxing class I had done as well. There was a lot more martial arts moves than a traditional class.

      Camping will definitely be worth it. I’ve done a little bit each night to prepare. I don’t think I could do the tent thing either anymore. I used to a lot when I was younger but at my age I can’t stand the thought of “nature walks” first thing in the morning. 😉 Its also nice to have a dry place to sit and read if it rains.

  5. What would it be like to bring the little Smokester along? (I’m assuming hubby wouldn’t be thrilled.)

    • In the future when we go by ourselves I probably will but where there are going to be several other families, all with dogs, I decided to make other arrangements. And yes, hubby was less than thrilled when I suggested it. 😉

  6. Wow what a class. I think I would have had to walk out! I am just not that tough!

Leave a Reply

