Bring On The Weekend!

Well, I’m sure as heck hoping this day goes by fast because tomorrow we leave for our annual camping trip and I for one can’t wait!  It’s been somewhat of a challenging week where Hubby has been working all kinds of strange hours and I have been fighting a cold for almost two weeks now.  Our next door neighbor’s teenage son has graciously agreed to watch the Smokester while we are away.  I gave instructions that she would need to be held and cuddled for awhile.  Can you tell I’m feeling some guilt leaving her?   Luckily ferrets sleep a lot.

ZZZZZzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz

Each night we’ve done something to either prepare or clean for the trip.  Tonight is grocery shopping night so I will be stocking up on all the proper provisions, including s’more fixings and lots of wine.  Bizarre combination, I know, but when camping you do what you have to do.  😉  The turkey is defrosting in the fridge and I will also be making homemade cranberry sauce this evening to have with it Saturday night.  Clothes are packed; shorts and t-shirts for the days, jeans and sweatshirt for the nice cool nights.  And also polar fleece winter p.j.’s! Oh, can’t wait! 

Please keep your fingers crossed that we get there okay.  We were lucky last year and arrived without incident, but in past years that wasn’t always the case.  Three Labor Day weekends ago I decided to give Hubby a break from driving and ended up rear-ending this poor lady on the freeway when traffic slowed to a crawl.  Luckily she was okay and her pickup only received minor damage.  On another trip during Memorial Day weekend, while I was driving again (of course) the truck started to overheat.  It was rainy and foggy in the mountains and suddenly the truck started to overheat.  Hubby was yelling for me to pull over but there really wasn’t a good place to do it.  I tried to get over to the side of the road but the ground had turned to mud with the rain.  Suddenly we found ourselves stuck in a ditch with mud covering up most of  the tires.  We had to wait 4 hours for a tow truck.  Finally, Labor Day weekend two years ago, the truck broke down again.  We were able to make it to the nearest town but the part we needed to fix the truck wasn’t available.  SIL3 and her husband were kind enough to pick up the part and drive out a few hours to where we were.  The truck was fixed and our trip was saved.  So. . .this is why I say please keep your fingers crossed for us.  🙂  I will say that in all of these incidents we came across the kindest people who asked if we needed help or offered us a soda or snacks while we waited for help.  Incredibly kind.

Work has been going well.  We’ve been using the new contractors and I have also taken over a portion of the work which requires some creative writing.  So far it’s been really fun placing this document together for clients.  I have to do research on certain topics to include in the document and it has really been an enjoyable experience.  The Instigator, as I’ve started to acknowledge this individual, started in on me last week over email.  Rather than get upset I treated them with more niceness than was necessary and thanked them for their input.  This seem to only antagonize The Instigator more but I wouldn’t give in.   My need for peace at work far outweighs my need to be right.  Funny enough I really haven’t heard much from this individual much this week.

Well, had the first Dunkin Donuts pumpkin (iced of course) coffee of the season this morning.  Even though its going to be well over 100 today I can at least start anticipating cooler temps.  I hope you all have something wonderful planned this weekend, even if you’re just staying in for some R & R, enjoy!

16 thoughts on “Bring On The Weekend!

  1. Tuesday and back to the grind.. hope the trip was a blast without any bumper tag or other strange surprises. Ahhhh love the pic of the Smokester.. who I’m sure is glad you’re home.
    Have a good day everyday. CC

    • Yes, and here we are back into the work week. The trip was really fun and we made it up and back without incident. Smokes gave me the cold shoulder upon returning Monday night but she seems to be back to her affectionate self luckily. I guess she has forgiven me for leaving her. I hope you are well CC!

  2. Hoping you got there without problems, enjoyed a wonderful and relaxing trip, and got home safe and with lots of fun experiences to share : ).

    • Thanks Pam. It was a wonderful weekend without incident. It was over way too fast though. I still can’t believe it is behind us. Hope you and Lee had some fun things to do as well.

  3. Smores and wine! I think that is a winning combo. LOL
    The Smokester looks so adorable. I am sure the young man is really chuffed to be able to spend time with her. He will surely want a ferret after this weekend!

    • It was really tasty. 😉

      I thought she looked so precious sleeping there and just had to take a pic. She could sense me nearby and opened her eyes a bit. I guess she did well with him watching her. She wasn’t too happy with me though when I returned and ignored me until yesterday morning. I’m glad to be back in her good graces now though. Animals.

  4. OMG! Your ferret is sooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo cute!!

    I love camping. I love the smell of the woods along with a good campfire at night. Camping is such a great way to connect with nature and let go of everything. Enjoy your camping; keep your eye out of grizzlies and occasional squirrels. 🙂

    • Isn’t she a doll? Of course I am partial. She has the sweetest little personality too.

      Camping rocks. The smells, the food, the nature. I love everything about it. Hubby and me actually found a spot up north to store our camper so that all we have to do now is drive up to camp.

      I didn’t see any grizzlies but saw a few cows grazing. We heard coyotes at night and friend of mine saw a herd of elk. And, oh yeah, I saw a deer eating by the side of the road while driving up. So beautiful.

  5. ElizabethFrank123

    I really hope you enjoy your trip, drive carefully! have a wonderful time 🙂

  6. That has to be THE cutest ferret picture I have ever seen! How do you resist the urge to cover his face in kisses all the time? (Oh, wait, that’s *my* urge…)

    Maybe the universe is telling you to stay home on Labor Day weekend! Or at the very least, to always leave the driving to hubby, just on that weekend. Maybe it’s the stars or something… 🙂

    I hear ya on the provisions. For camping, I always bring: Pop Tarts, instant coffee and hot cocoa mix, M&M’s, trail mix, energy bars, peanut butter, bread, meals-in-a-pouch from REI, beer, and brandy. There is just nothing like a cold beer, already chilled in snowmelt, after a good hike.

    • I have to agree with you there about Smokey’s cuteness. There are not too many times when is able to resist the charms of the Smokester. Her face is covered with kisses quite often. 🙂

      Yes, the universe must’ve been telling me something! I let hubby drive the truck pulling the camper and then I drove my own car up –just in case. Luckily there were no mishaps and we all made it safely there and home again. It was so much fun.

      That sounds like the perfect camping provisions, especially the cold beer in the snowmelt. Heaven!

  7. I hope you have a wonderful trip. Don’t drive 🙂 It sounds like it will be a lot of fun! I love the picture of your ferret, asleep. How cute!! Also love your other pictures! Glad you are enjoying your work and I hope the Instigator will go leave you alone.

    • Thanks Freedom! It was a great trip and over in a heart beat it seems. Isn’t she so cute? Her eyes opened a little when she could sense I was near. She had been in a dead sleep. The Instigator tried my patience again today but I managed to give them what they needed without showing my annoyance. Some days are trying but I will prevail!

  8. Have a great trip. Hope all the getting there is simple and uneventful!

Leave a Reply

