September Bake Quest: Tofu & Broccoli Stir-Fry With Spicy Peanut Sauce

This is one of the meals I make on the fly and add a pinch of this and a dash of that.  Hopefully I’ll have the ingredient amounts correct.  You can add other veggies for variety.  I like this meal because it is relatively simple to make and it lasts for a few  nights.  I find myself eating this quite a bit when Hubby works nights.  Hope you enjoy it as much as I do.

Ingredients:

  • 1 tablespoon sesame oil
  • 1-8oz package of firm tofu, cubed
  • 6 tablespoons soy sauce, divided
  • 1 tablespoon of freshly minced ginger
  • 1 clove minced garlic
  • 3 teaspoon Sriracha sauce, divided
  • 1-16oz bag of frozen broccoli
  • 3/4 cup water, divided
  • 2 tablespoons brown sugar
  • 6 tablespoons natural peanut butter
  • 8 oz of whole grain spaghetti

Add sesame oil to a large skillet, rotating to coat skillet.  Set to medium heat.  Drain package of tofu and then empty content onto a paper towel lined plate.  Cover with another paper towel and lightly press down to absorb excess water.  Add tofu to skillet, stir every few minutes.

In a small bowl combine 4 tablespoons of soy sauce, ginger, 1 teaspoon of Sriracha sauce and garlic.  Whisk until blended, then set aside.

Once tofu starts to brown, add the soy sauce mixture to the skillet.  When the soy sauce mixture is nearly absorbed, add the bag of frozen broccoli to the skillet.  Add 1/4 cup of water and cover.

To make the spicy peanut sauce, combine brown sugar, 1/2 cup water, peanut butter, 2 teaspoons Sriracha sauce, 2 tablespoons soy sauce.  Stir with a whisk. 

In a sauce pan bring water to a boil to prepare spaghetti.  Cook spaghetti until soft. (boy, I’d be a really bad cook book writer, huh?)

The broccoli tofu mix should be heated thoroughly after 12 to 15 minutes.  Remove from heat.  Add cooked spaghetti to the skillet and stir. 

Makes 4 servings.  Top with peanut sauce.  Store leftovers in an air-tight container.  This dish will last for several days in the refrigerator and is easy to reheat and serve. 

https://akamonsoon.wordpress.com/2011/09/07/bake-quest-10-for-september/

16 thoughts on “September Bake Quest: Tofu & Broccoli Stir-Fry With Spicy Peanut Sauce

  1. I sort of made this tonight! well a stir fry of sorts, I used the whole wheat spaghetti, tons of veggies and turkey burger. Sadly I had no peanut anything, so i used sesame oil instead. Very nice. Not sure I made it very low calorie though.

  2. I rarely use tofu because I try to stay away from soy because of my estrogen levels. But you’re casserole looks delish!! I might try this one. 🙂 cheers!

    • Really? What is it about tofu that would affect that? I’m curious. I have hypothyroidism and have been told to not eat tofu after I’ve taken my medication for it. I usually take the meds in the morning and only eat tofu at dinner so it won’t prevent the meds from absorbing properly. Interesting, this tofu! 🙂

  3. Yummy! I love tofu and I love peanut sauce. Last night I thought of you and your bakequests. A friend had given me a shedload of carrots with the tops on. Lots of carrots are not good for the bunnies but they can eat the greens to their heart’s content. So I thought, I will make carrot soup! Sounds yucky, eh? But to tone it down, I added some potatoes, mashed the veg after they had stewed, then a bay leaf, and all the leftover chorizo I had. Some garlic. Simmered for around a half hour. Then some milk at the very end. It was very good, I was surprised. It was very SW if you considered everything but the carrot base.

    • Ohh, your carrot soup sounds wonderful! It’s finally starting to cool off a bit here which makes it perfect for soup! (92 F today). Getting all those carrots sounds like a win-win situation. The buns get to eat the greens and you get to make the soup! I like the fact that carrots are so diverse. You can eat them plain, make cake or bread out of them or a hearty soup. Yum!

  4. It looks very good! Was it delicious?

  5. this one looks like a winner! also would be good with orzo I’d think….

Leave a Reply

