Bake Quest for October: Crock Pot Applesauce

This was by far one of the easiest recipes to make.  We had the added benefit of the house smelling delicious, too!  I found this recipe on southerncooking.com.

Ingredients:

  • 8-10 peeled, cored and chopped apples (I used macintosh)
  • 1/2 cup brown sugar
  • 1/3 cup of apple cider or water (I used cider)
  • 1 tsp cinnamon

 Combine all ingredients in a Crock Pot/Slow Cooker and set to low.  Cook for 7 to 9 hours.  Stir every hour.  I took a potato masher and worked it through the mixture to help smooth out the apple sauce.  7 hours for my small Crock Pot seem to be suffice.

 This was wonderful served warm.  For dessert that night we spooned some of the still warm applesauce over vanilla ice cream and topped with hot caramel sauce.  Heavenly!

This can be stored for a few days in the refrigerator in an air-tight container.  It also freezes well.  Enjoy!

The Finished Product

https://akamonsoon.wordpress.com/2011/10/05/bake-quest-11-for-october/

6 thoughts on “Bake Quest for October: Crock Pot Applesauce

  1. Dang, now I have to buy a crockpot. Love this idea. I’m planning to post a cider recipe and I think you’d like the spices I used, although ultimately it failed (long story, won’t bore you with it here). Do you know how long non-preserved apple cider lasts? I know it can be dangerous after a while.

    • I would love to see your recipe. Cider is one of my favs. I’m not sure how long it lasts. A month maybe? I know you will have a homemade alcoholic beverage if you wait too long. 😉

  2. Yay! I love this! Something I didn’t think about doing in the crockpot. Thanks for yet another great recipe, Monsoon! 😉

    • It was so wonderfully easy to throw together. I found a cookbook a while back that is for Crock Pot cooking. I was really surprised at all the things you can make in it. This includes fudge. This weekend I have a new one to try that I will post about if it comes out well. Glad you liked this one. 🙂

  3. Oh man, that sounds unbelievable. Will have to try this one.

Leave a Reply

