Bake Quest for October: Apple Crisp

 After purchasing all those apples over the weekend I was unsure on what to do with what I had left.  Upon checking the pantry I noticed that I had all the ingredients needed to make an apple crisp.

 With the demise of my last cell phone, I went ahead and purchased an Android phone and discovered a free app called ‘Recipes’ by allthecooks.com.  You type in an ingredient and every recipe with that ingredient pops up.  When you are finished trying the recipe, you can upload a picture to the site and write a review (to the left is the actual picture I used for the review).  There is an area also to create a profile and to also chat in a forum.  I highly recommend this if you have an Android phone.  If not then I’m guessing they have a regular site you can check out as well.

 

Ingredients:

  • 4 cups sliced tart apples (about 4 medium) -I used MacIntosh because I still had so many of them
  • 2/3 to 3/4 cup packed brown sugar
  • 1/2 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 cup oats
  • 1/3 butter, softened
  • 3/4 tsp ground cinnamon
  • 3/4 tsp ground nutmeg

Heat oven to 375 degrees.

Arrange apples in greased square 8x8x2 pan.  Mix remaining ingredients; sprinkle over apples.  Bake until topping is golden brown and apples are tender, about 30 minutes.

Serves 6.  Serve while still warm with whipped topping or vanilla ice cream.  Enjoy!

https://akamonsoon.wordpress.com/2011/10/05/bake-quest-11-for-october/

 

4 thoughts on “Bake Quest for October: Apple Crisp

  1. In Australia we call it Apple Crumble. It was one of the first things i learnt to cook in domestic science class!

    • That is so neat! What a wonderful thing to learn how to make early on. Did you make this at home much after that?

      My Mom taught me how to make lasagna and that was the first thing, outside of French toast that I learned to cook on my own.

  2. Looks so good, I’m seriously drooling. 🙂
    Apple crisp is such a comfort food. I love it!

Leave a Reply

