Bake Quest for October: German Style Bratwurst with Sauerkraut & Apples

This recipe came from the Rival Crock Pot Cookbook published in 2006.  This recipe was very easy to throw together and was quite delicious.  Perfect for Oktoberfest!  I halved it where I have a smaller crock pot but the recipe here is for the full amount of ingredients.

Ingredients

  • 4 pounds bratwurst
  • 2 pounds sauerkraut
  • 6 apples, peeled and sliced thin
  • 1 white onion, sliced thin
  • 1/2 tablespoon caraway seeds
  • Fresh ground black pepper to taste
  • 5 bottles German-style beer

Add all ingredients to the crock pot.  Cover and cook on low for 4 to 6 hours or until apples and onions are soft.  Makes 6 to 8 servings.  Enjoy!

 

9 thoughts on “Bake Quest for October: German Style Bratwurst with Sauerkraut & Apples

  1. Omg! What a great recipe for Oktoberfest. Yum! That looks delicious.

  2. Glad you caught me before we went to the supermarket, this sounds great. And thanks for the boost, I am gunning for a crock pot and need to convince my boyfriend!!

    • They are wonderful to have. I’d like to upgrade to a bigger one. Luckily they are not very expensive and they make cooking very very easy. Just tell him about all the wonderful meals you’ll prepare for him. 😉

  3. LOL I´m a german you know but I must say it: : I hate Bratwurst with Sauerkraut….I prefer Asia food but I agree this is a typical german food 🙂 have a nice day my friend. I´m today a little bit ill-I have a cold and so I´m not hungry….no Bratwurst and no Asia food 😦 but today is a new day 🙂

    • My husband didn’t like it either. That’s okay though. It meant more for me to eat. 🙂 I hope you are feeling better. There seems to be lots of cold germs going around right now.

      • I like your husband 🙂 yes my feeling is a little bit better…..we have a sunny Fall, but the nights are very cold and it is a typical weather for an cold. I like you design of your blog-what is the name of this theme? So my friend-I wish you a wonderful Friday and good night 🙂

        • LOL. My husband is Mexican so if there are no chili’s in it, it just isn’t right. 😉 Glad to hear that you are feeling better. The theme of my blog is called Modularity Lite. I hope you have a wonderful Friday too, my friend. Hugs!

Leave a Reply

