Camping, Candy and Couponing

Pimp My Kennel

 In anticipation of our camping trip I got back Abby’s old kennel from a friend who had borrowed it so that Smokey would have her own little place to hang out while away.  Most of the stuff in it had belonged to Monsoon.  I attached the hammock with paper clips so that it would be low enough for her to climb into.  On the bottom is a polar fleece blankie and a polar fleece lined sleep sack.   I’ve also grabbed a blanket to throw over the cage at night for extra warmth.  This little desert dweller is just not used to the cold.

Both Abby and Smokey couldn’t keep away from the kennel this morning.  Everytime I walked out into the livingroom the two of them were in close proximity of it.  Smokey was in it exploring when she thought it would be a good idea to stand up on her hind legs while clinging to the door with her front paws.  The weight of her little body pushed the door open with her still holding on and she flew forward before falling flat on her tummy.  She seem to be in a state of surprise.  Wish I had gotten it on camera.  It was very funny.

The animals seem to sense that something is going on.  Abby especially can sense it.  I’m not sure how it is they pick this up but they do.  Smokey ran around with an air of excitement, too.  I swear sometimes they are part human.

According to hubby, there is snow on the ground where we are going.  He works in construction and had been talking to a trucker that had just come from there.  I’m not sure if there will be much on the ground when we get there but I wouldn’t mind at all if there were.

My MIL is not coming with us now because our nephew’s (her grandson) wife is having a baby shower this Saturday.  As this is their 4th child MIL had planned on still coming with us.  I think she was feeling some pressure from the rest of the family so she felt she needed to attend.  I felt very bad for her.  She called last night and I could just hear the disappointment in her voice.  My goodness, she is in her mid-70s now, has 5 children, 12 grandchildren and 5 great-grandchildren.  Is it really necessary for her to attend one more shower at this point?  Hubby was going to talk to her again today to see if he could persuade her to still come.

Adventures in Couponing

So last night after looking over the weekly circulars to see what was on sale I headed on over to Walgreens with my coupons to get some Halloween candy.  I thought I was getting quite the bargain by combining sale prices with a few coupons I had.  Fail.  Once I got home I still had the CVS circular sitting on the counter and saw that I would’ve gotten the same amount of candy for almost half of what I paid at Walgreens.  Live and learn.  This is really my first time messing with this stuff so I won’t beat myself up too badly. 

 After this I headed over to the grocery store to pick up some things we needed for camping.  I had a list of things I needed and I also was working within a budget.  What was really neat was that I was actually able to get some brand name items for cheaper than the store brand items that I usually buy.  That is a treat.  We’ve gotten used to the store brands, which is fine.  It’s sort of like getting used to drinking skim milk because its better for you than whole milk. 

All in all I was pretty happy with the result of this.  Between Halloween candy and groceries for the weekend I saved $13.  While not a huge chunk of change that’s still $13 more than I would have had if I hadn’t have planned ahead.    It really took a minimal amount of time to go through the circulars.  Most stores even have them online now.  Cutting coupons has been something I’ve done for years so I keep them in an envelope in my purse.  It also helps that I live in close proximity to three separate grocery chains and two drug store chains that also carry groceries,  so I’m not defeating the purpose by driving all over town.  I’m looking forward to the next trip.  My goal is to save more than $13 next time.  We’ll see what the Sunday paper brings.

 

12 thoughts on “Camping, Candy and Couponing

  1. ElizabethFrank123

    I hope you have fun on your camping trip.
    Regarding the coupons thing, being a student has really opened my eyes to saving money, I was never one to splash out on things all the time but because money is so tight I really have to watch what I spend now.

    • Thanks Bess. We had a great time. Can’t wait to go back in a few weeks.

      I’m sure as a student you are watching every penny. I was surprised to hear that couponing isn’t really popular in other countries and that is mainly a US thing. Interesting.

  2. I hope you have a great time. I love the photo of the weeze and the pooch! So funny and cute! They are getting on well together, very well done, both of them, and you. We do not get coupons but we get points at a place where we buy some of our food, and it really adds up to around £10 a month. Every little bit helps!

    • Thanks B, we had a wonderful time! The two of them are getting on well. Abby will even let Smokes near her food. She doesn’t like it but she won’t get aggressive with her which is good.

      Every little bit definitley helps! 10 pounds adds up to 120 over the course of a year. Not a bad chunk of change.

  3. Lol I love the picture.
    The weather has been crazy lately; make sure you pack a couple of sweaters for them.
    It’s true; animals can really know a lot with their keen sense. They are experts at reading body language. 😉

    May GOD bless your MIL! But seriously though, she does need a break.

    I like the idea of saving money by cutting coupons, but most coupons out there are for crappy over processed products. Though, I am so good at using coupons for clothing. 🙂
    And let me tell you express and Macys actually has some great coupons!
    But you doing great… thirteen bucks are a help to your household budget.

    Have a great and safe happy camping!

    • Isn’t that cute? They were so excited. Smokey was very happy with her little set up. We left it up there for future use. I think they really did pick up on our own excitement.

      From what I’ve been told my MIL did end up really enjoying the shower so that was good. I felt so bad for her.

      There are a lot of coupons out there for junk. I steer clear of those and look for the ones that I might actually use like for paper goods, trash bags, cooking oil and other stuff that is actually useful. I was able to get some laundry detergent and a few cans of tuna for free a few days ago. I also use them for restaurants, too. I’ll have to check out the ones for clothing. Haven’t used any of those yet. Gotta love a bargain!

      We had a great time camping (I just posted about it earlier today). 🙂

  4. My Mum was trotted off to the first birthday of one of her great grandchildren a week or so ago. Being a grandparent and great grandparent never stops, as it is one of the main threads in the fabric of our family. Once she is gone, you may find the family splinters and that is sad.

    • True that, however, as she is the matriarch of the family I believe she has earned the right to give the orders. She did, however, really enjoy the shower from what I’m told. 🙂

  5. thirteen is a good amunt to save. I am never good at using the coupons. I think one has to be pretty flexible about what is offerred and go with the offers….
    SInce I eat about 5 different meals only, one of those ingredients needs to be the coupon item!!!

    Have a great camping weekend!
    Can not believe they are doing up a big shower for baby number 4!! Well, it is nice, but still seems your MIL can go where she wants!!! She is lucky to have so many people wanting to spend time with her!

    • I am the same way as you MG when it comes to meals so I’ve just used coupons for things like cooking oil, paper goods and the like. Once in a while I’ll find something that we might eat regularly that has a good coupon going but I mainly do the couponing for things we used a lot of.

      Camping was a blast! Can’t wait to go back. MIL did not go this weekend but I guess from what I’ve heard, she had a great time at the shower. I’m glad she did because she really was disappointed not going camping. I joked with hubby that MIL shouldn’t worry about shower #4 because at the rate my nephew and his wife are going, shower #5 will be scheduled this time next year. 😉 I’m so bad!

  6. What social pressure does to members of the tribe……it is disappointing. I hope your MIL will change her mind. At that age she should be able to visit anyone she wants or flit off to the Carribean for that matter if that’s what she wants to do.

    13 bucks is great! Thanks for the inspiration – I know my boyfriend has found surprising stuff online as well. It is a learning experience like anything else, maybe we can cross post on this! I no longer shop at CVS, they are scum. One Sunday they refused to take my insurance card for my eye infection medicine, because they could not reach the company by phone. Eventually they admitted they were wrong but said I had to drive hours and hours to pick up the money in person even though they used my debit card. I lost $149.

    • My thoughts exactly Emmy.

      That is really crazy about CVS making you go down there to get your money. I know there headquarters in in Rhode Island. Did you have to drive all the way down there?

      I did the couponing thing over the weekend and made it pretty well. I actually got some things for free which was cool. All stuff we use so no random junk for the simple fact it was free. I did the happy dance. 😉

Leave a Reply

