Looking Forward. . .

Not being one to dwell too long on things, I decided to act on a desire I’ve had for a while and to purchase a Beach Cruiser bike (think Pee Wee Herman).  A client of mine was in yesterday and mentioned that in the Phoenix area there is a group that does scheduled rides on weekends.  Now, I have not ridden a bike in almost 20 years.  The next scheduled ride is during Arizona Bike Week.  Not so sure about that (think Pee Wee goes into the biker bar and almost gets beaten up).  Tequila!

Yesterday was tough.  I’ve been able to throw myself into work but yesterday afternoon a client called.  She is a sweetheart of a person but very chatty.  I know when she calls that I’ll be on the phone for 20 to 30 minutes.  January is our busy time of year and sometimes I am just way too nice to say I need to go.  So I sat on the phone with her and I could feel my anxiety rising.  Finally I got off the phone and back to work.  I sat and bawled at my desk after my boss left.  Then I called my Mother.  We talked for a while and then I went home.  She and my sisters are planning on coming out in March which is something to look forward to.  I texted my guy friend that is going through the divorce and at this point he is probably wishing I would just get a life.  I probably shouldn’t be treating him as one of my girlfriends.  It wasn’t too long ago I was getting the ‘my life is over’  2am texts from him but women just have it all over men when it comes to the listening department. 

This morning my Mom sent me an email and this is what it said:

“Hi Monsoon,

Just wanted to let you know that I’m thinking of you. . .hope you are feeling better.  Keep on top of that fever – call by Friday if you still feel as though you have it.  Well, it finally snowed here today – just kind of wet and slushy…kind of a mess getting in. . .

I’m looking forward to you being a happy girl again – you have a very good spirit and i just want you to be happy as you deserve to be!!

I love you,

Mom”

It was a nice thing to come into this morning.  I also told my boss about what was going on.  He said that I should consider he and his wife as friends and to let him know if I needed anything.  I thought that was incredibly kind.

At least there are some things to look forward to.  Athletica and I are in a race in a few weeks that is being held up in Sedona.  She is using some credit card points so we can stay at a really nice resort.  It should be fun.

I suppose change will always be scary.  I’ve spent the morning feeling like I could puke but there is definitely hope.  The song below is on my phone and I play it in the morning .  It makes me feel like I should be jumping up and down for joy.  🙂

11 thoughts on “Looking Forward. . .

  1. I love Florence and the machine – and she is right, your dog days are over. Best wishes.

    • Thanks so much! I think you were the one that actually introduced me to Florence & The Machine. You had posted the Drumming Song a few years back and I was hooked!

  2. Absolutely adorable bike!

    It’s been a while since I took my bike out. 🙂

  3. Oooo! Someone in my college town makes those kinds of bikes! They can be so beautiful! But I never really wanted one because I was worried it wouldn’t be very efficient for getting around like another bike might be.
    Keep at it! I’m sorry it is such a rough time for you right now. 😦 Being of little experience, but I understand about turning to someone who is going through a similar experience. I complain to guys. XD Including Jobby–but he takes it in stride.

    • That is so cool! There were some really neat ones in the shop that had all kinds of patterns painted on them. They were of course a lot more expensive. Seeing its been so long since I’ve ridden a bike I just placed a very basic model on lay away. Sometimes it helps talking to my guys friends. My female friends will analyze things but my guy friends will often tell it like it is. Are you and Jobby back together?

      • No, but we’re definitly not “just friends.” We’re kinda in between. Hard to explain. Perhaps Facebook message me and I can explain more. But with recent events in my life, he listens to me (through letters) and he helps a lot. I don’t really want to get back together until he’s home from his mission. I’m comfortable this way; I need a friend more than I need a boyfriend right now. 🙂 As for him, he’s just happy that I’m even talking to him. XD LOL!

  4. I can just see you on your new bike. You should get tassels for the handlebars!

Leave a Reply

