Activities, Close Calls, and Acts of Patience

After joining the bicycle riding group online I happen to notice another bigger site that this group was a part of.  I saw that different groups do all kinds of activities.  These aren’t all singles groups (thank God) but just people with common interests that get together to do different activities such as hiking, dining, wine tastings, etc…  I skimmed through some of the events and passed by the Atheist Chili Cook-off.  Can you imagine?  Seeing I wear a small set of rosary beads around my neck I can’t imagine that I would be very welcome there!  LOL.  Anyway, I did join a dinner group and their next event is at a restaurant that does Chinese Hot Pot dinners.  I suppose it would be like fondue.  These dinners fill up fast so when the notification came in I immediately signed up.  No turning back now.  This will be my first excursion out into a group of folks I don’t know from a hole in the wall.  I have a feeling it will be fun.

An acquaintance on Facebook also belongs so I wrote to him to ask him how he liked the groups.  He wrote back that he was single and had met some people through some of the single mixers.  I am of course not interested in that right now.  About five minutes later my cell phone rang and it was him.  I wasn’t expecting that but all my info is listed on Facebook.  I don’t mind that it is.  Most folks I know well and my site is private to outsiders.  I really wasn’t ready for this though.  He asked me out for Happy Hour that night.  I thought, what the heck, I’ll go anyway.  After checking my appearance about 20 times in the mirror I left and met him at an upper-scale bar.  I made it clear that I was not ready to date.  It was a nice night but again, I felt terrified.  I sat across from him at one of those tall bar tables and I placed my coat and purse on the seat next to me as if to say, do not cross the invisible line, Mister.  It instantly reminded me of long car trips in my parent’s station wagon with my sisters.  We were always drawing invisible lines into the vinyl to keep the other out.  While he was nice and all, I told myself after that night that was it.  Its going to be a while.  Monsoon needs to figure out who Monsoon is again before I attempt that!

Friday night I left work frazzled.  First I headed to the post office and on the way home I had the surreal experience of striking a jaywalker as he cut through traffic.  Luckily he was not hurt.  I had just turned into the center lane (which in Arizona is aptly named the suicide lane) to make a left hand turn.  Out of traffic came a kid who couldn’t have been more than 20.  He was running, so basically slammed into my car, which bent the side view mirror inwards.  I immediately stopped, my heart having now been relocated to the neck area.  I glanced in horror behind me expecting to see blood and all kinds of other gore in the street.  The buddy of the kid I hit immediately pulled his friend up to a standing position and they both continued to run across the street as if nothing had happened.  Where they on drugs?  Drunk?  Man, that had to have hurt.  I rolled down my window and shouted, “Are you okay???”  He yelled back that he was fine and he was sorry.  I yelled back, “Why didn’t you use the cross walk?”  Seeing it was only 20 feet away from where they crossed, that would have been the more than logical thing to do.  He didn’t answer and kept running.  I pulled into a church parking lot after making the turn and sat for a while to calm down.  Then I got out and fixed the mirror.  After 30 minutes or so I headed home.  I immediately put on my pajamas, poured myself a rare drink (berry martini, heavy on the vodka) and got into bed.  I had the strange desire to try on the shoes I had treated myself to which would make Lady Gaga proud.  Not sure where the heck I’ll wear them but I put them on with my p.j.s, got back into bed and drank the rest of my martini.  What a sight I must’ve been. 

Saturday evening my phone rang and it was my guy friend going through the divorce.  I really expected to never hear from him as we had gotten into a stupid argument over text messaging.  I had told him last week that if he ever needed to talk then he would have to pick up the phone and call.  Things kept getting misconstrued over text messaging, which of course is only meant for a quick sentence or two, not a whole conversation.  He had asked me for advice regarding this stalker girl on his Facebook page.   I knew immediately who he was talking about and suggested he delete her.  Guess that was the wrong answer.  Anyway, he called and actually thanked me for being such a good friend to him.  I was quite surprised.  We talked for about 30 minutes or so and I guess he did end up deleting that one girl.  I highly suspect it would have just been a matter of time before she would have showed up at his door unannounced.  He has started dating so it was interesting to hear about his experiences.  He and his ex-wife have been separated since last July and only recently filed for divorce back in November.   I relayed to him my experience out with that one man and how terrifying it was.  I said I would live vicariously through him for now. 

Some days I feel kind of lost but I know this will pass and things will evolve into something else.  I need to be patient.  Patience has never been my strong point so here, I suppose, is my crash course.

10 thoughts on “Activities, Close Calls, and Acts of Patience

  1. Is it possible you can take yourself away on holiday? Maybe getting away from those people will make you feel more centred.

  2. I can understand how scare you were. Something similar happened to me long time ago. I was really angry at the pedestrian but he was Ok … I guess 🙂 Thank god! But the guilt was there. I’m glad that nothing serious happened!

    Omg Hi – 5 for you, Monsoon! You’re doing really well… Don’t let the sun catch you crying. Don’t worry and be happy.

  3. Thank goodness that kid wasn’t hurt. Or if he was, he just wasn’t feeling it yet!

  4. Margy Rydzynski

    What a day. Sounds like you need to take it one bit at a time. I’m crossing my fingers for you. I’m also eager to hear more of your progress through this odd journey.

  5. Wow. You are really doing well doing the social thing. I’m not going through a divorce, but I would have trouble being as spontaneous as you have been! Good job. I hope you enjoy the Hot Pot.

    Hang in there, and take care of yourself. Very glad that the person who ran into your car did not appear hurt….goodness!

    • Thanks MG. I haven’t really done all that much. I’ve been such a home body but I think in time I’ll venture out more. The dinner will be my first real excursion out into the world in about decade.

      Yes! I am so grateful that the accident wasn’t worse. That could have been so bad!

Leave a Reply

