A Quick Review

Saturday I got up and drove down to Tucson to the Sonoran Desert Museum where I was meeting Maureen for a fun day of picture taking and conversation.  Unfortunately my only means of picture taking as of late has been through the use of my cell phone, and wouldn’t you know it that when I was out walking the dog earlier that morning, I dropped the phone and it has not functioned well since.

Irregardless of that, Maureen I know got some great shots.  It was a warm day without being too hot and we meandered through the different areas looking at different animals and plants indigenous to the desert.  Here are few of the shots I got.  I’m only going to post a few because Maureen’s will be amazing (also, my camera was not functioning very well).

This is a saguaro cactus.  I liked the fact that it has so many arms.  Sometimes they resemble people posing.

This little guy stationed himself up in a tree in the aviary.  His foot must be quite tasty!

It was so great meeting Maureen.  She is the first person I have ever met through blogging.  She is very knowledgeable on the different plants and animals and I learned so much.  I learned much about photography, too!  Before leaving for Tucson, it was discovered that we left the charger to the good digital camera back on a trip to Boston.  I definitely need to get a new one.  I’m missing out on way too much fun!

Maureen gave me a few notecards with pictures of her horse photography on them.  That was so incredibly kind!  One I recognize from her blog.  It is the close up of the horse’s face that has the blue eye.  Love it!  She also happen to have a spare printer that she needed to get rid of.  I was happy to take it off her hands because the food pantry I work at desperately needed one.  Thanks Maureen!

On Sunday I tried the Pumpkin Pie bites featured on Zoom’s blog.  They were absolutely delicious!  If you love pumpkin pie and cheesecake, this is a combination of both.  I have a picture of the finished product here.  The only thing I was supposed to do and didn’t was to cook only 12 at once, alternating muffin cups to prevent the crusts from sticking together.  This wasn’t too much of a problem though.

These were absolutely delicious.  Every Christmas I make an assortment of cookies and I think these will be added to my cookie making repertoire.  Thanks Zoom!

20 thoughts on “A Quick Review

  1. The Pumpkin pie bites sound tastey!

  2. You’re so lucky, Monsoon. Glad your first meeting went so well! 🙂 Oh my! You did great, the bites looks so delicious. Thanks for sharing. Lovely Pictures!

    • I am pretty lucky, aren’t I? 🙂 It was a lot of fun. The bites are absolutely delicious. I will be making more of these in the future. I’m sure my friends will like them too.

  3. Looking good!

  4. Sure enjoyed meeting and you have a photo buddy to take photos at the Desert Museum. Your pumpkin thingies look so good. I have company coming next week I think I need to bake.

    • Thanks Maureen. It was a pleasure meeting you as well! I’m looking forward to our next adventure. 🙂

      The pumpkin pies were really easy and really good. I have a link on my site to Zoom’s blog if you are interested in the recipe.

  5. Lovely desert. What a cute bird! Delicious foot…
    Why thank you! I’ll take the whole plate of those pumpkin bites. Oh…

    • I feel very lucky to live in a such a beautiful place. Isn’t he a cutie? He was quite the ham. Maureen has more pics of him on her blog.

      LOL. They are quite good. 😉

  6. elizabethfrank123

    Sounds like a fun day 🙂 apart from the camera mishap of course haha
    I’ve never actually tried pumpkin pie so I might have to experiment a little 🙂

    • Hi Bess,
      Yes, it was a great day. If you decide to make the pumpkin pie bits, let me know what you think. I’m amazed that there are any left at home. 😉 They are that good.

  7. Seems you have a great time 🙂

    give me maureen’s blog link so i can visit her blog and see her photos with you 😀

    I like the pie ( iam at work and feeling hungry 😉

  8. What fun, getting to meet Maureen. I know you had a wonderful time together. I am envious! I hope you got some pictures together!! Can’t wait to see her post the pictures.

    The pumpkin bites look delicious. Do they taste like pumpkin pie?

    • It was really nice to meet her. We completely forgot to get a picture of each other. I think seeing so much wild life that was just itching to be photographed was a bit distracting. 🙂

      The pumpkin pie bites were absolutely delicious. They do taste like pumpkin pie but the cream cheese in the recipe makes them taste a little bit like cheesecake too. I highly recommend them.

  9. I’m glad you had such a lovely outing even with the problems of the camera/cell phone etc. I would hate to have something happen to my little camera – my bag doesn’t feel right if it’s not in there!

Leave a comment